Ocean Vista Private Cabin w/ Deck

Entire home/flat

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This secluded screen-cabin is tucked into a pleasant opening in the jungle overlooking a 500-acre ranch, giving a panoramic view of the coastline. Enjoy trade wind breezes and amazing pink and red sunrises over a wide swath of ocean to the east.

The space


Our Most Romantic Getaway! Our newly built screen-cabin is tucked into a pleasant opening in the jungle, overlooking a 500 acre ranch, giving a panoramic view of the coastline.

Awesome! Enjoy amazing pink and red sunrises over a wide swath of ocean to the East, while basking in the gentle trade wind breezes coming through the trees.

This cabin is as open and airy as you can get; has a comfortable queen size bed; spacious lanai (deck) and it's own, almost like a treehouse, bathroom lanai about 30 feet (10M) away -- complete with flush toilet, a hot shower, and vanity sink -- all semi-enclosed, but still private, up in the branches of primitive looking Lauhala trees.

The shared kitchen and dining area is an easy 100 foot stroll along our level driveway.

Our spacious and open 11 acre property is surrounded by a buffer of jungle and features 150+ trees with 30 or so kinds of tropical fruit. You're welcome to enjoy the freshest fruit possible whenever they're ripe!

Swimming is half a mile away at Isaac Kepo'okalani Hale Park, one of the few safe places for swimming on this rugged, extremely scenic, coast.

A body-temperature warm-pond park is just a half mile further, as well as excellent snorkeling in the wave-protected Kapoho Tide Pools with dozens of corals, and thousands of brightly colored fish.

The nearly constant lava-flow area is just half an hour to the West of us, and perfect for a sunset, or sunrise, hike where you'll often see a cascade of red-hot lava plunging 50 or 60 feet into the ocean boiling below. Truly awesome! A peak experience for most of our guests.

Shopping, a natural foods market, and delicious restaurants are 10 minutes away in Pahoa town. Several large Farmer Markets operate on the weekends too.

We have a 1000 square foot Yoga Hale for small groups and events with a phenomenal view of the Pacific. We have a resident yoga teacher that hosts yoga classes for guests daily at 8 am for $12.

Our teak Meditation Pavilion was made in Bali and is, to us, a very holy and special place for prayer and reflection. We don't preach, or otherwise "reach out"...., it's simply there if you would like some peace and tranquility - which is, as most people tell us, is our main product. :-)

Check-in time is 3 pm or after, and we ask that you please arrive no later than 8 pm to ensure someone is awake and available to show you to your cabin. Late check-ins can be arranged, but you have to let us know ahead of time. Keep us informed in your route to us.

The cost contained herein is all inclusive covering the required Hawaii Hotel Room Tax and the Hawaii General Excise Tax (13.25%).

Check out our reviews on AirBNB! They speak for themselves. KMEC is the best value around for places under $100.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Len & the gang

Guest access

Guests have full access to all of the community spaces including: community kitchen with fridge and cooking space, dining gazebo and picnic tables, 3 full bathrooms on property, 1 half bathroom by yoga hale, meditation pavilion open 24 hours, yoga hale, and always welcome to walk throughout the 11 acre organic fruit orchard.

Interaction with guests

We will be happy to direct you to all of our local wonders and our community happenings. Guests are welcome to come to daily yoga classes for a drop-in fee. We hold free meditation sittings twice a week and upon request, so we are happy to share guided meditation and discussion with any guests that are interested.

Also, we offer airport pickup and drop off for $70 one-way, or $140 round-trip only for Hilo International Airport. This must be arranged ahead of time to ensure availability.

Other things to note

All of our cabins (unlike a hotel) are open to the elements. They are screened in to protect from pesky mosquitoes and bugs, however the Hawaiian jungle is full of geckos and screens don’t keep them out. They are harmless and just enjoy being around humans, and especially love eating sweet treats if you leave any food out. Please be aware that you may see a few during your stay, but there won’t be a large number of geckos. In case of gecko droppings we do put a painting drop cloth over the bed to maintain cleanliness of bedding and towels until your arrival. These are removed to be washed on a regular basis. This is typically placed under the bed during your stay, in case you choose to cover the bed while you are out during the day.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/flat


Cleaning Fee £11
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in is anytime after 3PM

First and foremost, our staff serve with Aloha--the loving spirit of the Hawaiian islands. Let us know if you need anything or have any questions before and during your stay with us. We are knowledgeable of all the great sightseeing, tours, beaches, etc. that the Big Island has to offer and are happy to share our recommendations with you. Below are some basic guidelines that we follow here at KMEC to honor Mother Nature and the sacred space we have created. Mahalo!

Check-in time is 3 pm or after, and we ask that you please arrive no later than 8 pm to ensure someone is awake and available to show you to your cabin. Late check-ins can be arranged, but you have to let us know ahead of time.

Check-out time is 12 pm. You are welcome to stick around and use the communal space, but we ask that you are out of your cabin by 12 pm so that housekeeping can clean and prepare it for the next guest.

There is a plastic bin in each cabin for food storage of dry goods. Our cabins are integrated with nature and food left out in the open can draw ants or other eco friendly bugs into the cabin, especially for longer stays. We have a large fridge in the community kitchen for guests to use, as well as labels to write your cabin name if you would prefer to leave your dry goods in the kitchen cabinets.

We have an amazing selection of tropical fruits in our orchard. Our staff regularly harvest from the trees and properly clean the fruit. You are welcome to enjoy the fruit that is in the fruit basket in the community kitchen. If there is no fruit left in the basket, please find one of our volunteers to pick and clean the fruit for you.

We comfortably exist on a large solar electric system, some propane, and mostly catchment rainwater. You don't have to scrimp, but we do ask that you be mindful of your use to conserve these kinds of "off grid" systems. The entire property is off grid but you will still experience the luxuries of “on grid" living including full flush toilets, instant hot water, hot showers, delicious filtered drinking water, and electricity in every cabin. We even have 2 high-efficiency washing machines onsite, and offer laundry service to guests for a fee of $8.

Because we are a completely off grid community, all of our showers, sinks, and laundry has an effect on our local environment. Therefore, we encourage the use of eco-friendly products. All soaps, cleaning supplies, laundry detergent, fabric softener, etc. on property are eco friendly and many are homemade by our volunteers with simple, healthy ingredients. As our guest it is certainly not mandatory to use eco friendly products, but if possible please use this as an opportunity to choose shampoo, shower gel, and soaps that are healthier for you and the environment. If interested, we are happy to provide feedback and guidance on good brands that have natural eco friendly ingredients.

KMEC is a strictly vegetarian facility. Meat eating and non-vegetarian guests are most welcome at KMEC. However, no meat, fish, fowl or eggs (both fertile and infertile) can be prepared in the kitchens on the property. If you are new to vegetarian cooking and you'd like to experience some beautiful vegetarian meals made with fresh local ingredients, we do have an onsite chef offering breakfast for $10 as well as dinner for $20. We will make every effort to accommodate you and provide you with the most enjoyable stay possible.

KMEC is a drug, alcohol, tobacco and intoxicants free center. Our focus is on meditation, spirituality, healing our body, giving peace to our soul and healthy living. The owners and our staff totally abstain from the use of drugs, alcohol, tobacco and intoxicants on the property (and for many this practice carries over to everyday life off the property too). We recognize that not all of our guests are similarly oriented and you will be welcome in any event. Feel free to advise our Director of your particular preferences, if any, with regard to these issues and we will make every effort to accommodate you.

KMEC is a place that promotes non-violence, truthfulness, humility, purity, selfless service, meditation and healthy living. KMEC does not discriminate based on age, race, religion or sexual preferences.

Privacy Policy

Our Mission
At KMEC, we are dedicated to protecting your privacy and safeguarding your personally identifiable information.

Information Collection
Our main purpose in collecting your personal information is to provide you with a streamlined experience in making reservations at KMEC. We only collect information about you that we consider necessary for achieving this. Personally identifiable information is only obtained when making a reservation.

We sometimes use data collection devices such as "cookies" on certain pages of the Site to measure effectiveness and safety. A "cookie" is a small file that gets placed on your harddrive that helps us provide our services. You are free to decline cookies if you choose too.

At KMEC, we take security seriously. When users make a reservation we use every precaution to safe guard it online and offline.

Your payment and personal information is always safe. Our Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) software is the industry standard and encrypts all of your personal information, including credit card number, name, and address, so that it cannot be read over the internet.

Policy Modifications
KMEC may amend this Privacy Statement from time to time in order to meet changes in the regulatory environment, business needs, or to satisfy the needs of our guests, properties, strategic marketing partners, and service providers.


1 night minimum stay

49 Reviews

Check In
Steven User Profile
May 2017
Good location and very friendly staff. The Ocean Vista was great for watching the sunrise and star gazing at night. We had no hot water the first day, but that was fixed by the next morning. It was noisy at night but ear plugs were provided. Staying here was a unique and worthwhile experience!
Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce User Profile
Response from Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce:
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the KMEC center and were warmly welcomed by our friendly staff and chatty coqui frogs. Whenever you plan your next Big Island adventure, always feel welcome here at our center and feel free to inform any of our staff at any time of issues such as cool water so that we can accommodate you right away! Mahalo for your stay!
May 2017

Nicole User Profile
March 2017
This place is pure magic. It feels like living in a rustic but comfortable treehouse in the jungle. We did yoga on the deck every morning and watched the sunrise over the jungle with the ocean in the distance. So peaceful. The sounds of the coqui frogs, birds, and various wildlife were simply enchanting. I really felt connected to nature here and was able to slow down. I also loved the outdoor shower and toilet. One note would be that the kitchen is often busy with the volunteers who live on the farm so while it is easy to store your food in the fridge, I felt that if I cooked a full meal, I might be a bit in the way. Everyone was good-vibed and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Hope to return.

Richard User Profile
March 2017
Overall, we did not enjoy our time at the Ocean View Cabin. We ended up leaving 2 days early and do not regret our decision. We should stress, however, that everyone we met that worked (volunteered?) there was more than friendly and welcoming. We found it very difficult to sleep in this cabin due to the combination of musty smell of the curtains, constant noises of pigs rutting underneath the cabin and cows having detailed conversations nearby, and large cockroaches that were scurrying around in our cabin. Also, the photos are misleading; when we arrived one of the sidetables was gone along with the table and chairs out on the patio. All of the photos on this listing are labeled as "Ocean Vista Private Cabin w/Deck" but many of the photos are not of the cabin you'll be staying in or amenities you'll be using. While some are obvious (the cabin clearly doesn't have a yoga room) others were misleading about what exactly we were getting into. At the time of writing, photos #3, 10, 11, 23, and 39 are NOT of the cabin, but you might think they were (like we did) before your arrival. Also, the onsite chef for the breakfast and dinner meals is the on-site volunteers, not a professional chef. The dinners were quite tasty, but I would not recommend paying $10 for breakfast unless you like dry cereal and some fruit. Also, we did not feel particularly safe or comfortable in the surrounding towns or beach access points. A week before we arrived there had been a string of car break-ins at a nearby beach access and there was still glass on the ground from those burglaries. Additionally, the nearby town of Pahoa will come as a shock to your senses if you're used to the nice atmosphere and fancy boutiques of Kona or Kohala (NOTE: This is clearly not the Meditation Center's fault, just something we wish we had known). Also, be aware that they are serious about their strict cancellation policy as they did not offer a partial refund when we had our issues and had to leave (We were not expecting a refund, just something to keep in mind). Again, we should stress that the people we met were more than nice and everyone seemed happy to be there. We are both vegans and typically live minimally, so we expected to love our time here. We hate to leave less than positive reviews, but we do feel that these are things we wished we knew before we arrived. Perhaps these things don't bother you (and they don't bother most people as the other stellar reviews attest!), but we sadly cannot recommend a stay at the Kirpal Meditation Center.
Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce User Profile
Response from Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce:
Aloha Richard, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our Off Grid Jungle Sanctuary. We do however greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide your experience for our future guests and hope that you ended up enjoying the rest of your Hawaiian Vacation :) We do have routine maintenance and cleaning schedules to battle the surrounding jungle but sometimes do miss a thing or two! Mahalo for pointing out the curtains, we have new ones hanging in there now! It sounds like you met some of the harmless creatures we share this beautiful Island with. Sorry if they kept you up at night!! We do have individually wrapped ear plugs readily available in all cabins. Im sorry if you did not feel comfortable using them. Some people, myself included, Enjoy the incredible songs of nature singing me to sleep each night!! I bet not seeing the end tables and artwork was confusing for you guys! Again, part of living so close to nature, and the Warm Pacific Ocean, things tend to have less of a life span. Plus, we are always looking to Upgrade and Beautify when possible. I think the best part of the Private Ocean Vista cabin is that incredible Sunrise View right at your feet!! And that walk across the bridge tangled in Fresh Organic Hawaiian Guava and Lilikoi vines is pretty cool too ;) Our breakfasts, prepared by volunteers, are continental style with Fresh tropical fruits, when in season, like Rollinia, soursop, Ulu, Papayas, Mangoes, Bananas, Cocnuts, etc. Right from the land! We do apologize if you were looking for more of an "omelette" type breakfast, we are a Vegan facility. We do agree that our dinners are very tasty, Mahalo! Pahoa is home to the Active lava flows and some of the least developed land in all of the world! It is Vibrating Heavily with Raw, Fresh, and Thriving Energy! It can be a bit overwhelming for those looking for a more Tranquil experience. If you are interested experiencing Hawaii in its original form, surrounded by Natural Beauty, KMEC is the place for you! If you are more interested in the 5 star Spa services, You'll Love to be in North Kona! Mahalo for at least giving us a try, and providing your experience for us to improve on! James
March 2017

Andrew User Profile
February 2017
Place was as I remembered. Kind hosts and peaceful place to get away to.

Alex User Profile
February 2017
Phenomenal location and amiable staff. This site is perfect for when you need the catharsis of sleeping in nature away from the hustle and bustle, but with the comfort of a clean bed and bathroom facilities. Thank you to the Kirpal staff. I plan on returning!

Mary Ann User Profile
February 2017
The Meditation Center is quite a well run operation. My husband and I were there to mostly explore the Pahoa area and do some biking so did not participate in the Center's activities. That was not a problem. Everyone was very friendly and gave us as much space as we wanted. Our little cabin was the 'Ocean View' and it was great because of the private bathroom and the seclusion from the activity of the retreat center. Pahoa is only a few miles up the road and has some fun places to eat. Tidal pools for snorkeling are just down the road. Great location and a very Hawaiian feel

Kylie User ProfileKylie is a superhost.
December 2016
This place was great! Best described as "glamping" as it's an open air structure with a private outdoor bathroom. We did the yoga class in the morning with Davida and I highly recommend that (even for beginners like ourselves). Regrettably we didn't have time to partake in any meals here as they smelled amazing and served in a nice family style setting. We would absolutely stay here again.
Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce User Profile
Response from Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce:
Aloha Kylie! Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, we're grateful for your kind words and recommendation! Mahalo for your feedback of the shower, changes are under way!You and your boyfriend were a pleasure to host and are welcomed back anytime. Hope to see you again! Mahalo Davida
December 2016

This host has 313 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Pāhoa, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in May 2012
Kirpal Meditation And Ecological Ce User Profile

Kirpal Meditation and Ecological Center is a half mile from the ocean on the eastern tip of the Big Island of Hawaii, approximately seven miles from the small village of Pahoa. The 10-acre ocean-view property is blessed with average daytime temperatures of 85° F year-round, and 65° F at night, with cool, fragrant trade winds, surrounding tropical flora, including old growth mangoes, nearby swimming, surfing and snorkeling.

This property was once a papaya farm and is now newly planted with bamboo, papaya, palms, banana and many other fruit trees. The octagonal Balinese meditation pavilion is set among shade-trees with an expansive view of the ocean. The island wildlife is all around us – a variety of birds by day and at night there's the pleasant chirping of Coqui frogs – and there are no snakes. Natural wonders include Volcanoes National Park, for lava and crater viewing, volcanically heated warm ponds and steam vents (as outdoor saunas) and other wonders of the lush tropics.

Kmec opened in the summer of 2008 for pre-arranged seasonal meditation retreats and private meditation-vacations on request. Additionally, we would like to extend our welcome to Big Island travelers offering cozy cottages and open air kitchen and bath. We offer daily free meditation instructions and practices at our beautiful Balinese meditation pavillion. Additionally, we offer Yoga and nature tours upon guest's request (donations accepted).

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings