A single large open plan living area contains the lounge, dinning room and kitchenLounge
Entire home/flat
10 Guests
1 Bedroom
3 Beds
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
10 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
1034 travellers saved this place

About this listing

Please only look to book now if you want to share the property with me, if you would like more than 5 or 6 people staying then you really need the entire house and I need to find alternative accommodation. The price for this depends on the size of the party.

This is a great communal space that larger groups of people who want to spend their time together. It has a great kitchen and is also a great space to cook and entertain. There are only 3 bedrooms but many other sleeping options.


The space
Accommodates: 10
Bathrooms: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Property type: Other
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £50 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £25
Security Deposit: £400
Weekly Discount: 14%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

This methodist Chapel near the heart of York has recently been converted from a commercial premises to a residential building.

It has three double bedrooms each with its own bathroom and can sleep more on sofas. The price shown is for one person for one night.

Guests interested in staying should contact me as I am prepared to be flexible and rent out either, or both guest rooms, the master bedroom or even the entire house. The price will be individually negotiated if you want the entire house or the master bedroom.

It is a 10 minute walk from York racecourse, one of the citys biggest tourist attractions and a beautiful 20 minute river walk from the city centre.

Due to its size and location it is perfect for a party of race-goers to enjoy before and after the actual races. If you are interested in using the chapel as a venue for this or any other event I would be interested to hear and flexible where possible.

It is on a quiet street with ample and free street parking. There is free wi-fi and Netflix available to all guests.

The main chapel building is open plan with two additional buildings that are also part of the conversion. The main building also has a mezzanine floor and access to a large south facing roof terrace.

Within a 5 minute walk there is a corner shop, a pub, a butchers, a bakers and a indian restaurant. There is also Rountree Park which has a childs playground, 6 tennis courts and a skate park to name a few things.

Within a 10 minute walk there is the Bishy road collective of shops from a grocers to a late night Sainburys, a deli, a hardware store, a couple of excellent eaterys and a chippy!

Guest access

If you are sharing the house with me the only restricted areas are my bedroom and the workshop (only in the sense that if I am working on a project I don't want the components handled without my permission)

Interaction with guests

If you are sharing the house with me I will likely be in and about the house, come find me anytime if you have questions about the house or York itself. I've even helped people fix some of their stuff in my workshop!

The neighbourhood

I live in a really great area. I have great neighbours and we all lookout for ourselves. There are 3 newsagents within a few minutes walk, a butchers, hairdressers, a bakery and three take aways. It is a ten minute walk from the racecourse, a ten minute walk from a great kid friendly park and a twenty minute walk to the centre of town.

Getting around

There is plenty of parking around my house. Cars can park on both sides and there is always space available. Even during the races parking does not seem to be a problem.


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

I have recently finished a three year renovation of this 1900 built methodist Reading room. I have tried to keep as much of the original building as possible and am extremely happy with the results.

It was used as a glasiers for the last 40 years and has also been used by Rowntrees as a 'jam' store (for wine gums) as well as a sunday school.

While trying to be as sympathetic to the original building as possible, I am trying to be as green as possible, this includes a rain water harvesting system and solar thermal panels and a herb and veg garden.

This building is finished to a very high standard but there is still work to do, most of it is done but I live here and generally potter around at week nights and weekends doing odd jobs.

So that expectations are equal for both parties, I thought I would outline what to expect and what is included in your stay, if you have any questions please ask:

Clean bedding, one towel per guest, toilet paper, free wi-fi, the use of the TV, the use of the main house, use of the fridge for storage of food that you want to keep, use of the kitchen and utensils for cooking (includes the use of salt, pepper, oil and other condiments for cooking), use of the roof terrace. I do have an ironing board, an iron and a hair dryer.

Storage of bikes and other large items is possible but please contact me beforehand with regard to this. NO MEALS are included in the price of the room/house. There maybe some food available and if there is spare veg in the garden you are welcome to use that.

There are no special rules other than please treat it as your own and enjoy it as I do, you are welcome to use all the house facilities including the fridge and kitchen. There is a 60" TV that has Apple TV and if you have an iphone or mac can display your snaps of York and tourist favourites like the Minster and the Shambles.

Having been closely involved in every aspect of this project I will quickly notice if anything is out of place. I do not mind what hour of the night you come in as long as you lock the door when you go out and are reasonably tidy.

York is a beautiful city and this is a great location from which to strike out on your own and explore the city. I am sure you will love staying here!


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

116 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host


WilliamWilliam is a superhost.

William

York, United Kingdom · Joined in May 2012

I am an engineer and work at the family business. I also like to make things that may or may not end up being feasible as a commercial product. My house has many such parts to it that I have designed and made, the concrete worktops, the stairs and the audio plinth to name a few.

Having lived in the states, New Zealand and Malaysia I enjoy meeting people from different countries and cultures. I enjoy cooking and don't be surprised if we hit it off and enjoy a home cooked meal together.

I do not have any kids but they are more than welcome, I would not say that the house is particularly 'kid friendly' but kids do love the place, I would just ask that you keep an eye on them!

I am currently working to finish the house (nearly there!) and to make my old VW crew cab truck work as a daily driver and be a greener vehicle! I like to be green wherever possible and compost and recycle.

I hope this gives you a flavour of your host, I would say I am pretty relaxed and open minded and won't be offended if you want to keep yourself to yourself or come in, say hello and enjoy a drink or two!

I look forward to meeting you.

Ben

Response rate: 89%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a day

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet