Dining Room
Mount Hobson Rimu Apartment

Entire home/flat

5 guests

2 bedrooms

5 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Self contained accommodation (170m2). Outside seating. Full Kitchen. Lounge. 2 Bedrooms. Location, views, beautiful landscaped garden setting
Extensive use of NZ native rimu wood. 1960's / 1970's "Retro" style.
Unlimited WiFi. Undercover parking.

The space

Self contained top floor level with stunning views, close to AKL CBD and public transport, close to motorway exit,private access through gardens to Mount Hobson Reserve. Owners live at adjacent property.
Self contained Cedar Apartment / Suite also available for additional guests - please refer our other listings.

Guest access

Guests are encouraged to enjoy our 3000 m2 of landscaped gardens.
Mount Hobson Reserve is next to our gardens.

Usually 5 minutes drive to CBD. On Market Road close to the Market Road exit from motorway.

Interaction with guests

Owners Mali and John live within a few minutes walk.

Other things to note

Mount Hobson is one of Auckland's most well-preserved volcanic cones. Formed some 25,000 years ago, Mt Hobson is 43 m high and the expansive, panoramic view of Auckland from the summit is well worth the walk.

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 5
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Free parking on premise

Extra people £17 / night after 2 guests
Security Deposit £111
Weekly Discount: 7%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 floor mattress
Bedroom 2
1 double bed, 1 sofa bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Our earliest arrival time is normally 2.00pm. Our latest arrival time is normally 8.00pm. Please enquire before making a booking if your arrival time is after 8.00pm.
Our latest departure time is 10.00am.
Guests are expected to clean up on departure or a fee of NZ$30 per hour applies (excludes laundry which is included in the cost of stay).

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 2nd floor level with panoramic views. The building follows the slope contour of Mount Hobson therefore the Apt patio at the back is at ground level -
Amenity limitations - Low city water pressure due to location on Mount Hobson - exceeds the usual minimum for shower.


Safety features
Smoke detector

4 nights minimum stay

7 Reviews

Check In
Colm User Profile
August 2016
We stayed here for 8 days in the Rimu Apartment with our young children. Location was fantastic, near the train and on a volcano. Amazing views. Beautiful gardens. Choice of restaurants and take-aways 5 minutes walk away. Kitchen, bedrooms, bathroom and living space suited our family comfortably. Washing facilities, with drying line outside also good. John and Mali were wonderful hosts and were very helpful with all our queries.

Derrek User Profile
August 2016
I was traveling for business to New Zealand with two co workers and found this place to stay. From the start John was extremely helpful and making us feel right at home. He told us about places to eat and see through out the city. Anytime we had a problem he was quick to respond and help us out. Would stay here again.

Derrek User Profile
July 2016
We stayed for 3 weeks and loved it!! The view every morning was the high light of my day. The apartment was clean and John was very helpful and informative when we checked in. It was comfortable and felt like home. Traveling for work out of country is hard but John and the apartment made it that much easier.

Michelle User Profile
October 2015
I was deemed an at risk tenant. This was due to my apparent breaking of house rules. My sister arrived a day after we arrived in nz to cook dinner for me and my family as we were dealing with the care of my terminally ill mother Inlaw. She was refused entry to the property. John assumed she was staying at the property. She was not. His reason for refusing her entry was it would exceed the maximum number of guests permitted on site however we were not on site at the time. John on 2 occasions gained entry to the property by using his spare key. This made me uncomfortable as it breached our privacy. John claims we broke an additional rule of no smoking however his listing and welcome pack indicated smoking outside was ok. John claims we broke another rule by having visitors. Again we did not exceed numbers of persons on site at one time as at the time myself and my 4 children were not home. This freed up 5 people to visit in my absence. Only 4 people arrived and they were my immediate family. Mali completed and sign off on the departure inspection and cleaning. We arrived home to Australia to discover he has now claimed $210 for replacement linen he claims we damaged. He did not complete an entry inspection with me and has no evidence to prove this linen was damaged before we arrived. We did not even use the linen in question. He complained about us taking up 2 car spaces. We rented the 2 bed apartment and an additional single room. The property has insufficient parking spaces for the number of rentals on site. The property is old and in need of maintenance. John boasts executive accommodation it is simply not. The pots and pans are all burnt on the bottom, the frying pans are worse. The bbq is inadequate - an electric model that only has grill bars and can only fit food for 2 at one time. I had 7 people to cater for. We arrived on a Sunday morning at 2.30am due to flight and rental car delays but paid from Saturday to cover this. We charged an additional guest fee of $80 on arrival as my initial enquiry was for 6 guests. The additional guest was my 5 month old baby, John is the only person in Auckland that deemed a baby an additional guest. I checked with other hosts and they all confirmed they would not charge a baby as a guest. John claims this is due to allowed numbers for insurance purposes however the Mt Hobson House which we rented boasts up to 8 guests. I feel John made negative assumptions about my family and I and no matter what we did he was convinced we were trouble. A negative experience on both parts and I'm sure John will add his perspective. However, would I have received this treatment if I was not...
John User Profile
Response from John:
SABENA........ Such A Bad (hosting) Experience Never Again. But then we decided i'ts best to "dust off our feet" and get over it and trust in people again. This was our worst hosting experience in 8 years. House rules ignored by guests: - No Smoking. Ignored by guests. - Parking for two cars in allocated spaces. Ignored by guests. (Note left on car). - Maximum number of persons on the premises 7. (A requirement of our insurance company). Ignored by guests. (Reminder e-mail). Somebody wandering around the gardens searching for "left key" on day 1 - not one of the guests......security risk. House not to be used as a "Party House" or for gatherings exceeding the specified number of persons on the premises. Ignored by guests. - Avoid excessive noise, especially after 10.00pm. Ignored by guests. Two noise complaints. I had to intervene at late at night to ask Michelle to reduce the noise level. Guest gave what turned out to be false credit card details to cover the cost of damages and breakages. Duvet set destroyed by spots of glue $250 to replace. etc etc. Enough empty booze bottles to start a glass recycling business. Please AIrbnb help protect us (and potential other BNB hosts) from negative feedback...........and abusive and rude guests.
October 2015

Jodi User Profile
October 2015
John and Mali's place is great. Loved the walk up to the mount with awesome views - don't pay for Sky Tower! Spacious accommodation and we enjoyed the view by day and night. We were happy to do some cleaning at the end of the stay so that additional cleaning fee wasn't charged - because it is a big place it could get expensive at the going rate. Enjoyed the gardens, the apartment is an easy walk to train, high street shops and so close to the city. Easy communication - especially with the shortest of notice about our intended stay.
John User Profile
Response from John:
Hi Jodi Thank you for your feedback. It was a delight to host your "last minute" short stay. You managed to "short circuit" our normal "meet and greet" processes (by arriving early) so we did not get the chance to more fully explain the full bedding options for your family. Thank you for choosing to stay on Mount Hobson. We would be very pleased to host you again at any of our Mount Hobson properties for a return visit. Hope your garden thrived whilst you were in NZ. Regards John and Mali.
October 2015

Henrik User Profile
February 2015
John's place is nice, neat and clean, and was a wonderful place to stay for our long weekend. I requested a late departure, and John was happy to accommodate these as long as I would leave the place clean like I found it, so he could have the place ready in time for the following guests.

克武 User Profile
August 2017
John User Profile
Response from John:
Great well behaved guests visiting from China who stayed for a few days at our Mount Hobson Rimu Apartment. (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) Translator can give some amusing close but (mis)translations. :)-
August 2017

This host has 84 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Auckland, New ZealandJoined in January 2015
John User Profile

Your hosts are John and Mali Morton. Originally from the UK and Sri Lanka, after enjoying 20 yrs + in New Zealand, we now consider ourselves to be real “Kiwis” and enjoy sharing our local knowledge and wonderful environment with guests from NZ and around the world.

We have six self contained accommodation options to suit 1 to 12 guests across our adjacent properties on Market Road in Remuera close to Auckland CBD.

We strive to provide our guests with "a stay less ordinary".

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings