Street view in winterQueen Bed (entrance to bathroom is to the right)
Entire Second Floor Close to Campus
Entire Second Floor Close to Campus
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 private bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

One queen (in the common area) and two twin beds (each in their own room with doors) with private bath on second floor of a quiet home close to the U of M campus and close to downtown Minneapolis. Great base while attending a conference or a graduation or just touring! Continental breakfast is included.

The space

There is lots of space on my second floor for you to spread out. This would be a great space for a couple and two children. I have a Pak'n'Play, if your little one needs to sleep in a bed with sides.

Another grouping might be friends who each desire their own bed and room. The twin beds are each in a room with a door, the queen is in an open area and includes access to the bathroom. There is a dorm refrigerator and new TV with Netflix (but not cable) in the queen room.

One of the twin bedrooms has a good sized desk.

There are two full sized dressers, and two closets for hanging things.

Guest access

Guests can do some simple cooking in the kitchen. Coffee, breads and fruit are put out each morning for a continental breakfast. The kitchen table allows for fun birdwatching.

In warmer months, both the front porch and the back deck are lovely places to enjoy an evening drink or a morning cup of coffee.

Interaction with guests

I live on the first floor - we will share an entrance. I come and go and am accustomed to sharing my living space with a variety of people. I am happy to share maps, tourist literature, and anything else that will help you get oriented. For listings of local restaurants and other attractions, see my airbnb Guidebook, as well as a printed copy that I keep here. There's lots to see and do around here!

Allergy alert! Mickey, the cat, lives here, too. He will keep his distance, but enjoys the occasional pat.

Other things to note

You will park on the street. There is a TV and wifi in the house, although no cable.


Amenities
Internet
Essentials

Prices
Extra people £12 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £8
Weekly Discount: 8%
Weekend Price £46 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

No smoking or use of illegal drugs or excessive alcohol consumption. If you are coming in after midnight, please move quietly. This is a home, not a hotel, so if you treat it like it was your favorite relative's house, we'll get along fine!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Feb 1 - 5, 2018 the minimum stay is 5 nights.

106 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Julie User Profile
September 2017
Kris is a wonderful host and very hospitable. The house is lovely, clean and comfortable. We were given free use of the kitchen and everything in it. There is a lovely porch and an adorable cat. The house is well located and is close to transit to everywhere. We would definitely return!!

Ian User Profile
July 2017
Better than any hotel I've stayed in. Made me feel welcome & comfortable from the outset, kris has also though of everything that someone travelling would need. Absolutely amazing, also the coffee is great! :-)

Diana User Profile
June 2017
Most comfortable! Kris was kind and helpful. Lovely old house. Great place for us travellers. Heartily recommend!

Peter User Profile
November 2015
I can't recommend Kris's place enough. It is well located - a 10 minute walk to Dinkytown, a 15 minute walk to the U and a 40 minute walk to Downtown - buses service all these places too but I found walking around very enjoyable as the neighbourhood was so nice. You have all upstairs to yourself so there is heaps of room. Breakfast is provided (although I was tempted with Al's on the last day). Kris picked me up from the airport on my arrival - a lovely perk. Chatting to Kris over a coffee in the morning was a really lovely experience too. I'll certainly use Kris's place again when I come back to Minneapolis. Highly recommended!!!

Chris User Profile
October 2017
Kris' house in SE Mpls is a comfy cheery place where my sisters and I were able to find space for some privacy but also enjoy breakfast and conversation with the host, who made us feel very welcome. The house is on a lovely tree-lined street near the University and also a short distance to the river's Stone Arch bridge and good restaurants and shops. Quiet at night. The highlight is the host herself whom guests will enjoy getting to know if they have time.

Dimitris User Profile
October 2017
Kris was a caring, organized and overall fantastic host. The house was perfect for the three of us and we enjoyed our stay finding the proximity to campus very convenient

Ken User Profile
October 2017
Kris is an outstanding host.

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United StatesJoined in September 2011
Kris User ProfileKris is a superhost.

I am semi retired from being an elementary school teacher in the Minneapolis Public Schools. I work as a tax preparer during tax season. The rest of the year I travel and tent camp and host airbnb guests!

I have lived in Minneapolis near the U of M for about 35 years. I have used airbnb to stay in a variety of US and Mexican homes and enjoy the opportunities to get to know local people and get a little insight into what it is like to live in the area.

I have traveled on just about every continent, and am accustomed to sharing my living space with others. My life can get busy, but hopefully I will have time to sit and chat for a bit sometime during your visit.

My Spanish could use some improvement, but it is sufficient for basic communication - I know how hard it can be to not be able to make even my most basic needs known!

Dan is my adult son, who also lives in Minneapolis. If I am out of town, he might be the one who initially responds to your question or reservation, since I often am off line when on vacation. Rest assured that I will be in touch as soon as I return, and that I will be the person you meet when you stay here.

I look forward to providing a safe and comfortable home base for you in the Twin Cities.

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Kris’s place.
Kris
Daniel helps host.
Daniel

The neighbourhood

Similar listings