Twin room - chambre à deux lits
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

My characterful stone house is in a small hamlet. The guest suite upstairs has 3 bedrooms (double, triple, twin), shower-room, and a sitting-room with books. The cats and I live downstairs. There's a big music-room for rehearsals, sessions or gigs.

The space

Guest area upstairs: 3 bedrooms for up to 6 people, sharing a shower-room and a sitting-room. Downstairs is a shared lounge, a music/activity room, and a kitchen-diner. Big veranda with built-in bbq; large garden. Parking, internet, wifi.

Two cats (not allowed upstairs).

Guest access

The kitchen-diner and lounge are shared. If there are other guests, the shower-room and upstairs sitting room are shared with them. Guests are welcome to use the bbq if they clean it themselves.

Interaction with guests

I live in the house; can chat, or disappear into my own apartment.
If there's any live music I'll happily take part.

Other things to note

Coffee and tea provided, but breakfast is extra. A French-style breakfast can be booked (one day's notice needed) for €6 per person. There is a kettle upstairs for guests.
I use a wheelchair; guests willing to help in the house or garden will get a discount!


The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 1PM
Check Out: 1PM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £11 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £14
Security Deposit: £453
Weekly Discount: 25%
Weekend Price: £23 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 1PM

No smoking in the house.
No dogs because the cats won't allow it. Horses can be tethered in the garden.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

9 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Samantha User Profile
November 2016
This was David's second stay at Elizabeth's house and it was just as good as the previous time. Liz went out of her way to make him feel at home and was always on hand for a friendly chat and a cup of tea! We'd highly recommend a stay with Liz if you are looking for somewhere in the St Dizant area - great host and lovely part of France!

Samantha User Profile
November 2015
Elizabeth's house was spacious, warm and friendly with plenty of hot water and all of the facilities described in the listing. It was ideal for my partner as he wanted somewhere he could use as a crash pad whilst working on his property nearby. He said that Elizabeth left him to come and go as he pleased but was always around as and when he needed anything or just fancied a chat! The location is lovely and in a peaceful, scenic part of France. We'll definitely stay again!

Ambra User Profile
June 2015
Elisabeth went to welcome us at the station as we didn't had a car to join her place. She is very kind and careful. Her house is big, quiet and clean. We had a very nice staying!

Tom User Profile
August 2014
Elisabeth made us feel at home immediately despite our late booking and arrival. The house and neighbourhood were very quiet. In the morning, we had breakfast with lovely tea and homemade jam. When we left, we even got some nectarines fresh out of the garden to take with us.

Valerie Giraud User Profile
August 2016
Il est dommage que les photos ne soient pas actualisées puisque nous avions décidé d'arriver de bonne heure afin de passer un moment agréable sur la terrasse mais celle ci n'existe plus.
Elisabeth User Profile
Response from Elisabeth:
Mais la terrasse existe toujours! On n'a qu'ouvrir les portes-fenetres. Je l'aurais fait si on avait demandé. Quelle dommage.
August 2016

Laetitia User Profile
August 2016
Séjour d'une nuit dans la magnifique maison d'Elisabeth, les chambres sont très spacieuses, tout était très propre et ce malgré le handicap de l'hôte. Elisabeth est une personne très généreuse et extrêmement gentille. Si j'avais pu rester plus longtemps auprès d'elle ça aurait été avec plaisir. Son accent anglais fait également son charme. Personne à rencontrer absolument !! La maison est à environ 20/25 mn des plages dans un coin très calme. Les personnes ayant besoin de se ressourcer prendront plaisir à aller dans ce coin.
Elisabeth User Profile
Response from Elisabeth:
Merci, Laetitia! J'espère de vous revoir.
August 2016

Alexander User Profile
August 2015
Das Haus steht zwar sehr ländlich und ein wenig Abseits, dafür aber hat es eine sehr nette und freundliche Besitzerin. Elisabeth werden wir als eine sehr warmherzige, witzige und gebildete Gastgeberin, die unseren Aufenthalt in Charente- Maritime durch ihr Region Wissen extrem erleichtet hat, in Erinnerung behalten. Sie hat uns sehr gute und praktische Tipps vor Ort gegeben, ohne die wir nicht so viel erlebt hätten. Das Haus ist sauber und sehr ruhig. Die Wohnung hat alles was man braucht.

Poitou-Charentes, France · Joined in June 2012
Elisabeth User Profile

Singer, tech writer, internet junkie; interested in social improvements and environmental concerns.

Two cats live with me.

I'm happy to welcome artists of any kind, and musicians can earn some money while they are here. My musical tastes range from medieval European to world music, via Renaissance, Baroque, jazz, and traditional folk. I like electro-acoustic and experimental music but have no idea what's in the pop charts.

I read a lot, mainly speculative fiction, but rarely see films.

I adore rural village life here on the Gironde estuary, and love showing people the markets, old buildings, and restaurants - and the wildlife and spectacular night sky.

I love travelling, but renovating my old stone farmhouse is taking all my money so I usually visit friends and family in various countries. I use a wheelchair, so have to be choosy about where to stay. I drive all over Europe and have been to Australia, USA, Thailand, Venezuela, and Singapore. I'd love to visit almost any part of Africa.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.