16th century A frame beams in your bedroom
City centre historic townhouse

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

My comfortable home is in Norwich City Centre, in a quaint pedestrian lane. It is close to the cathedral, St Andrews Hall, the Law Courts and the theatres. The river with its attractive riverside walk is nearby and I'm only a short walk from the open air market and all the modern shopping opportunities that Norwich, offers as well as cinemas and parks.

It's close to Norwich University of the Arts and only a short drive or bus ride from UEA.

There is on street parking available, but also easy access to train, air and bus travel to take you near and far.

I have wifi internet and will provide you with the necessary password.

From here you have easy access to the picturesque Norfolk countryside and coast.

The neighbourhood is an interesting urban mix, close to shops and take aways.

Your bedroom is at the top of the house, graced with A frame Elizabethan oak beams. The bed is a sprung mattress on a futon base. Next door is the bathroom, virtually en suite and virtually for your sole use.

The house is old, decorated in plain modern style. You may enjoy my art collection of original pieces by local artists, friends and family and even one or two by myself. The kitchen is a dream with cupboards of blue painted wood, oak floor and granite surfaces. You are welcome to use its facilities considerately. During the week I can provide the makings of a simple breakfast for you to help yourself to and at weekends might even do you a "full English" on request.

Next to the kitchen is the small conservatory leading to the flower filled patio garden, with picnic table. If the weather is fine please feel free to be tempted out there to enjoy your morning coffee or just relax.

Additionally I have my own sitting room.

I usually have cup of tea and a chat with my guests on arrival, otherwise my aim is to be friendly and helpful but unintrusive during their stay.

Other things to note

My cat Dinah, fluffy and middle aged, has the run of the house, apart from your bedroom and bathroom area, but spends most of her time sleeping in the conservatory.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 15 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 5
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

I don't have many rules; it is definitely a no smoking household, including the outside patio. Guests are asked to treat my home with respect, use the kitchen considerately, not wear outdoor shoes in the house and generally make themselves at home!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

104 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Klaartje User Profile
August 2017
We only stayed one night, Miriam's home is close by a nice street with restaurants and many big secondhands shop. Miriam was very welcoming and gave us a map so we could find our way in the nice town of Norwich.

Charles User Profile
July 2017
A great historic city centre house with a comfortable room in the eves.

Mateusz User Profile
July 2017
The house is lovely, well situated and very clean. That's probably enough for a review, but I'll add this: Miriam is the nicest, most pleasant and well-travelled person you'll ever meet. I had a wonderful stay!

Jack User Profile
July 2017
This is a lovely home with a very accommodating host. It's tucked down a quiet alleyway and is extremely close to lots of restaurants and shops. The room itself had lots of character with exposed beams and skylight windows. Everything was clean and tidy and there was lots of information available on things to do and see in the area. Miriam was a great host and the welcome was lovely, she also laid out breakfast in the morning which was delicious.

Raphaël User ProfileRaphaël is a superhost.
July 2017
Exceptionally considerate host and a charming place. Garden a big advantage.

Claire User Profile
July 2017
Very pretty, quiet, gentle home, with lots of art, a clean tidy room and close to lots of restaurants.

Aristos User Profile
June 2017
Being AirBnB virgins we were a little apprehensive prior to our stay, but thanks to Miriam's efficient and polite communication throughout and very friendly and hospitable manner we immediately felt relaxed in her beautiful home with so much character. We will certainly be using AirBnB again!!

Norwich, United KingdomJoined in April 2012
Miriam User ProfileMiriam is a superhost.

I live in Norwich city centre, close to the cathedral. I am a retired lawyer, enjoying the freedom to travel or be at home with my cat. When I'm home I love welcoming airbnb guests and providing a relaxed and comfortable place to stay when they come to Norwich for business or leisure, visiting their kids at UEA or NUA, shopping etc.
I speak French and am learning Spanish for greater enjoyment of my travel (and hosting) experiences.. I like exchanging views on cinema and books and swapping travellers' tales and favourite recipes.

Languages: Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings