Common Room with a fully stocked kitchen for you to cook and store meals.  Common kitchen, breakfast is stocked and available for guests to help themselves.
The Monet Room @ The Annex

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

6 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The Notso Hostel Annex offers modern, clean, simple accommodations one block from King Street. The Monet Room has a queen bed and is one of six private rooms. There are two shared bathrooms, a communal kitchen, washer/dryer and parking.

The space

The price reflected includes tax. Private Rooms at the recently renovated Notso Hostel Annex are modern, clean, simple accommodations. The six bedrooms have bamboo flooring, large windows and new furniture. There are two full bathrooms upstairs with multicolored slate tiling and new fixtures. The bedrooms has a queen bed and is ideal for one to two people. This room is located downstairs and has large beautiful windows facing the porch. All private rooms share a communal kitchen and living room area. The Annex is located just one block from King Street. It is a quiet, clean house and one of the loveliest accommodations for the price in downtown Charleston. We look forward to hosting you!

Guest access

Private parking is available. Free washer/dryer, free oatmeal for breakfast, and free wi-fi.

Interaction with guests

We will be around when you need us! I am on-call/on-site, so you can contact me if you need anything at all. Otherwise, you are likely to see me in and out and around during your stay.

Other things to note

Please send us your email via message so we can send you a check in email the day before you arrive with important information about parking, wifi, etc.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 6
Check In: 2PM - 2AM (next day)
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Wireless Internet

Cleaning Fee £8
Weekend Price £80 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is 2PM - 2AM (next day)

Quiet hours are from 10PM to 8AM. Please use common sense, be courteous and clean up after yourself. Please rinse your dishes before you put them in the dishwasher, put your linens in the laundry basket, have a wonderful time and don't forget to write us when you get back home! We love postcards!


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

1 night minimum stay

290 Reviews

Check In
Rachel User Profile
September 2017
The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The room got very hot during the day, possibly from poorly sealed windows. One window even leaked heavily throughout the night when it rained. The house was very dusty and old. I would not recommend this stay for someone with allergies or asthma. The bathrooms are also upstairs which is inconvenient when you have to go to the restroom in the middle of the night. The room was extremely small and not worth the price. It was in a very noisy area but the noise machine helped.
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you for your review and feedback Rachel. I will have the window looked at right away as I did not know it was leaking. That room is usually very cool since we have two separate AC systems for the upstairs and downstairs, in the future you can let staff know and we'd be happy to adjust the thermostat. We will look into replacing the bed and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Would love another chance to host you on your next trip to Charleston, we have other rooms that may be a better fit.
September 2017

Kasia User Profile
August 2017
The Monet room was very cosy and nice. Everything was prepared before my check in. I didn't have any problems, because earlier I received an email with all important pieces of info. The hostel has very good localisation. You can go by foot anywhere. It's also in a good neighbourhood so you don't have to worry, when you come back late at night. In the annex you can find everything that you may need, including coffee, washing machine, maps and atraction info. It's really the best place to stay in and contact was on the highest level
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Kasia for your wonderful review. So happy to have hosted you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.
August 2017

Martha User Profile
August 2017
Good value. Other guests were very courteous. Great location.
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Martha! We'd love to host you again. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
August 2017

Chris User Profile
August 2017
I had a great stay at notsohostel in the annex. The location was perfect for walking around town and I loved the convenience of check-in. I would definitely consider a stay there again!
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Chris! We'd love to host you again, we appreciate your review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
August 2017

Phil & Beth User Profile
August 2017
Great location near King Street. We stayed in the Monet Room which is on first floor. The bed was comfortable and we slept well despite it being a bit noisy due to people coming and going through front door and using kitchen. I would recommend Notso to travelers on a budget.
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Phil and Beth! Happy to have hosted you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.
August 2017

Shawn User Profile
August 2017
This is a great place to stay! The customer service is excellent, and there is a delightful restaurant with wifi and delicious selections mere steps away. Plus, Notso saved my life with a last-minute stay extension. Be aware that if you are staying here for work and dependent on wifi (or other aspects of the hostel), you may not be able to reach Notso outside of office hours. Staying in Charleston for fun? I'd highly recommend staying here!
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Shawn! So happy you had a great stay and we were happy to accommodate you for an extra night. Hope you will come visit us again soon!
August 2017

Jeff User Profile
August 2017
This room is in a a really great location with a lot of stuff around it. Both the room and hostel itself are pretty nice. The description and reviews give you a good idea of what to expect, so I don't really have any complaints, per se. That being said, I don't think that the cost of the room is in line with the quality of it. Maybe I'm just not used to the Charleston hotel/airbnb economy, but I feel like Notso is asking a bit much for what they're offering. While I would recommend this place, I would be reticent to say it's a good value.
Notso User Profile
Response from Notso:
Thank you Jeff, we appreciate your review and feedback and glad you had a good stay.
August 2017

This host has 949 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Charleston, South Carolina, United StatesJoined in September 2010
Notso User Profile

The staff at the Notso Hostel are some of the lovelies locals around. Our favorite things to do are eat breakfast with our guests, daydream about traveling and keeping the hostel clean with having as little negative impact on the environment as possible. The hostel is a great place to meet people who enjoy traveling as much as you do.

Languages: English, Español, Ελληνικά
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings