Balcony.Tropical Gardens.

Private room

5 guests

1 bedroom

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A unique jungle Eco Lodge and park on the edge of the rainforest. 8 miles of trails, waterfalls, swimming pool and an amazing variety of plants and fruit trees.

The space

Room 5 is a separate cabin and has a king bed, a queen bed and a single bed with a large en-suite and covered seating area outside.
This room is next to the car parking area next to the main house and has wheelchair access.

Guest access

We offer local authentic family style food by prior arrangement. We can organize transport, laundry and a range of interesting tours and activities, better discussed here as there are many other options than what you see on the internet.

Interaction with guests

The common areas, including the kitchen are shared when other guests are on the premises.

Other things to note

It is advisable to bring a torch for navigating the paths after dark and a map of the local area for navigation.

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

There are no rules as such, however, if guests have not chosen a food option during their stay, the kitchen may be unoccupied and it is the responsibility of the guests who use the kitchen to do their best to keep it clean and make their own coffee etc. There are filters and coffee around the coffee makers, if there is no coffee or tea, please kindly inform one of the staff.
The fridge is for shared use and we request the same observation as the rest of the kitchen in order to maintain cleanliness.



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

Safety features
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

105 Reviews

Check In
Ronni User Profile
August 2017
Very unique eco-lodge off the beaten path from La Fortuna central. I would recommend a 4-wheel drive so you can clear the rocky road up the mountain to the lodge. I would not come here if you don't have your own car. Make sure everyone in your party understands you are staying literally in the jungle. It's not glamping, but a unique tropical forest experience. Wilmar and Maritza are awesome hosts. I recommend eating breakfast and lunch or dinner so you can experience how good the local food and fruits are. The estate tour is awesome.

Carla User Profile
July 2017
Beautiful!! Unique and family friendly. We truly enjoy our visit to la fortuna:) Thank you Jonathan, William and staff. Blessings!!

Helene User Profile
July 2017
It was a pure delight to start our trip with the Ecolodge Princesa!! The staff was more than welcoming, super carefull to any details we may need to start gently our Costa rica adventure. Maritza cooked us great banana pancakes and nice sauted pork, caramelized plantain, flavored salad, fresh blended fruitjuice at every meal, great breakfast as well. The guided visit down the jungle "garden" they have is an absolute Must! Wilma, great guy to rely on, was super carefull with the kids (8, 13 and 15)and a living botanic bible, showing every piece of the jungle, tiny red frogs, birds, fruits, plants, trees...we saw a "paresseux - the super slow monkey"..great cascades, natural pool with nature and green every where..take water sandals or hiking water shoes and enjoy the ride! You'll walk a bit inside the river, its great fun! Our "cabina" (n.5) was big enough for the 5 of us, rustic basic decoration, beds were correct, nice direct windows to the garden, fans to cool down the place, easy parking aside, good wifi in the room. Sun rises at 5 in the morning, so don.t forget your sleepy mask if you need total dark! You do need a 4x4 wheels to drive up to the lodge - short 7 minutes drive, you.ll get quickly use to it! William assists us in all possible ways to make us feel perfectly cosy (he answered super quickly my few questions before arrival by (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN)), we started by Baldy warm thermal pools (with a nice voucher from him) to relax and get used to the jetlag, then Mistico park and hanging bridges, rio caliente to relax in a wild natural hot river, the big cascade of La fortuna (500 good safe steps to climb) and we swim down there...many good values options within 20 km from our lodge. We slept 3 nights at the lodge. you have so much to do in the area, its really the minimum stay! Their jungle garden is a wild beauty and their "pool" down there is paradisiac with a ray if sun. We'd love to come back there!!!
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Thanks for your Review ...we appreciate it ... Its a privilege to see a Perrizosa.. there are a few in and around Princesa...especially in the jungle they can be very difficult to see ... We had one walk onto the main Balcony once .... I would say its not absolutely necessary to have a 4x4 but obviously much easier especially that just recently a lot of rain ... but normal cars come and go all the time .. We are used to this .. Best wishes Jonathan
July 2017

Kelly User Profile
July 2017
Everyone staying there raved about the place. We had an off experience. After a long and exhausting day, the kids wanted to jump in the pool but it's a long muddy hike down the mountain and then when they saw the pool they didn't think they'd want to go in. I didn't. The bigger problem was that the two resident dogs followed us the whole way and would stop to fight and roll around. They were constantly snarling. My daughter was in tears. Most of the place smells like wet dog. Then our amazing dinner was ruined when swarms of termites arrived and literally ended up in our meal. We took it into our room but the attack continued - there was a hole in the screen somewhere. We went running out when a five inch moth got in. Thankfully we were given a new room and everyone checked on us quite often to make sure we were okay. But it was too much for the kids to want to stay another day as planned. We've been in Costa Rica for two weeks and stayed at multiple places - never had an issue like this. Disappointed.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Im sorry you were disappointed...Difficult to know what we should have (URL HIDDEN) seems you were unlucky with the weather ,rain makes everything wet and the smell of the jungle is all around and is not quite the same as when the weather is good .... The dogs are mother and daughter they mean no malice or danger theyre just (URL HIDDEN) for the termites very occasionally this happens but they were easy to get rid of, but we can not control nature and as for the moth flying into the room thats bad luck, but these things are harmless no reason to be stressed , things happen we are in the jungle and as you say we were trying to look after you and checked you were ok..I think you were a bit sensitive as we did our utmost to try to make you happy, even moving rooms ..We have checked the mesh on the window and there is fine...We have two swimming pools both natural spring fed and the main pool recetly renovated is wonderful as in a Review posted by guests who stayed at the same time as yourselves ...Yes the pools are in the valley and noone has suggested otherwise...The path may have been a bit muddy in places but the steps are good and we maintain the access and keep as clear as possible a burden many hotels do not have .. We are a Big Tropical Park on the edge of the Rainforest you have to make some allowances especially when it rains
July 2017

Bev &  Rod User ProfileBev &  Rod is a superhost.
June 2017
What a great experience, a true Costa Rican adventure. Great jost, wonderful breakfast, remote and incredibly beautiful. Will took us on an incredible hike through the jungle to a secluded waterfall. H I s knowledge of plant and animal life made it a learning experience.

Mary User Profile
June 2017
We loved our visit to your rain forest hide-a-way. We wish we could have stayed longer and relaxed more. This is an ideal setting for a family gathering, or gathering of families. There are plenty of activities about the area - as daring or relaxing as you wish. La Fortuna just a few miles away is flush with dining options, safe and comfortable to explore. Be forewarned that finding it is tricky, especially after sunset (which is really early in Costa Rica). Once located, no problem coming and going.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Thanks for the Review ..Glad you enjoyed it ... I would say its important to follow the instructions how to get here ... once you get the correct turning off the 702 approx 3.9km south of La Fortuna then its easy to get here...and its a straight run .. no turns to navigate...People are surprised at the location remote ,private yet near La Fortuna ..Peace and nature
June 2017

Leah User Profile
June 2017
Absolutely loved this place! It is tucked into the forest and is a beautiful property. Staff was amazing and the food was delicious. The property has tons of hammocks and seating area to relax and enjoy the view of the volcano. We will definitely return if we make it back to Costa Rica.

This host has 450 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Escazu, Costa RicaJoined in May 2014
Jonathan User Profile

I left England when was 18 and hitch-hiked through Europe,Africa to India overland which was a life forming experience,. I left with about $100 and returned 2 yrs later ..I had little money I stayed with local people ,or hostels or slept rough whatever I needed to do. Later as a professional investment consultant I have lived in Hotels throughout Latin America for nearly 20 years. I can tell you the best way to travel is not always in Hotels ...experience living and sharing with the local way of life ,with real people it is a far richer more rewarding experience. I believe in the concept of integrated tourism this is what we offer it is a much better way to travel ...

Hosted 1 guest from United Kingdom
Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings