Upper East Side charm: exposed brick, high ceilings, immaculate hardwood floors. View of living room from middle of apartment. Bedrooms down hall.View from the living room. Kitchen is on the far left, bathroom straight ahead.
Cozy, quiet room near Central Park


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Located in the vibrant and charming Upper East Side of Manhattan, this apartment in a historic pre-war walkup building is a quick stroll to hip restaurants, cafes, museums, and Central Park.


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £40
Security Deposit: £402
Weekly Discount: 7%

Description

The space

This is a 2 bedroom apartment with 1 bathroom, kitchen, and living room with high ceilings throughout. I live in one of the bedrooms. Your room is a wonderfully quiet sanctuary in a lively neighborhood. You'll enjoy close proximity to transit, dining, and New York's many attractions. Your space is perfect for 1 person or a couple.

Guest access

All the basic necessities are included: linens, some toiletries (shampoo, body wash, hair dryer), wifi, use of the kitchen. Your room is equipped with an air conditioning unit for use in the warmer months and an extra space heater in the winter for added warmth.

Interaction with guests

I am happy to provide you with recommendations and any advice you may need about the city, but otherwise I will leave you alone so you can enjoy a nice, peaceful stay. While I work from home, my office is contained within my room and I am frequently out for meeting, events, and travel.

The neighbourhood

Yorkville is an elegant neighborhood on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City. It includes Central Park, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Gracie Mansion (NYC Mayoral residence.) Its southern boundary is East 79th Street, its northern East 96th Street, its western Third Avenue, and its eastern the East River.

Yorkville was once filled with German immigrants but this demographic has gradually shifted as many young professionals began to move into the area in the 1980s.

Movies are always being filmed in this area, and celebrity sightings are frequent. I've recently spotted Bjork and Madonna (who lives down the street).

A laundry and dry cleaning service is across the street, a nail salon is downstairs, and a 24 hour pharmacy is 2 blocks away.

There's an excellent, large grocery store - Whole Foods - on 2nd Ave between 87th & 88th St. They offer fresh produce, dry goods, and toiletries.

Getting around

Subway/Metro transportation (4, 5, 6 Green Lines ) is conveniently located at East 86th Street & Lexington Avenue. You can also catch the M15 bus running along Second Avenue downtown or the M101, M102, or M103 running downtown along Lexington Avenue. For crossing from east side to west side through Central Park, you may take the M86 bus all along East 86th Street.

And of course, taxis and Ubers are plentiful.

Other things to note

I look forward to having you here!


House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Absolutely no shoes, partying, smoking, extra guests, pets or loud noises. New Yorkers value their limited personal space & as such, it is important to respect the neighbors. Please make yourself at home, but leave everything as you found it.

I take pride in keeping my home exceptionally clean and expect you will treat it similarly! While I will do straightening up on an ongoing basis during your stay, my work & travel schedule simply doesn't allow for me to do extensive cleaning up after others. So please do take out your own trash + recycling and clean up after yourself in the kitchen, bathroom, and living room.

Note that I will NOT do any cleaning in your bedroom while you are here - that's entirely your domain. :) Should you require additional cleaning or laundering services beyond the clean linens provided upon your arrival, the deep cleaning prior to your check-in, and my basic upkeep, I am happy to make arrangements for you to hire a professional maid or washing service. Just let me know!


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

54 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tom User Profile
April 2017
Melisa was fantastic. The place was well and above what we were expecting (even came with a small welcome basket!). Great location near the metro, great bars and restaurants.

Jorge User Profile
March 2017
We stayed for a week (My Wife and Me) in the apartment and all i can say it was perfect, great location, just a few blocks from the subway, a lot of food options around the apartment and the communication with Melissa it was always fast, she gave us a lot of recomendations and the best way for transportaion from airport to Manhattan. I recomend a lot and we will come back for sure!

Jose User Profile
December 2016
Very nice apartment located in a great neighborhood, Melissa was very kind and willing to help with my questions at any time during my stay in NYC, so I just can recommend this place to everyone. Hasta la próxima!

Margaret User Profile
December 2016
Melissa was very welcoming and accomodating. Only negative to this room was that it was very warm.

Hannah User Profile
November 2016
Melissa's apartment is absolutely perfect. We stayed for six nights and were able to get to all over Manhattan and Brooklyn incredibly easily and quickly. The room is lovely and quiet with plenty of space to hang clothes and store suitcases. Melissa is a lovely host and made us feel incredibly welcome. I highly recommend staying here.

Nicola User Profile
October 2016
Perfect stay! Real NYC flat, close to subway (just 10 mins walk), central park, museums and restaurants. Cozy room, clean flat and kind guest (really accomodating with the early check-in). The neighborhood is very safe and quiet (some very fashion dogs with shoes

Matthew User Profile
September 2016
Great place and Melissa was very welcoming! Would recommend to anyone!

New York, New York, United States · Joined in January 2013
Melissa User Profile

I am a 30-something self-employed professional who works in the arts/entertainment industry. My family lives in San Francisco (where I grew up), Atlanta, and S. Korea.

I am a healthy, clean, quiet, hardworking and responsible person who loves travel, food, music and the arts. My love of these things means I have my fingers on the pulse of so many exciting and delicious happenings in New York City, and I am happy to share my insights with you!

I am conversant in French and German, and also speak a little Spanish.

Response rate: 60%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a day

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.