The front of the house, a mid-terrace propertyThe sitting room is light and sunny in the morning
Comfy 3BD house, Durham (4 miles to city centre)


Entire home/flat

4 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Traditional terrace house in former mining village, 4 miles from historic Durham city (and World Heritage Site cathedral). Has 1 double room, 2 single rooms. Extra mattress, cot and high chair available on application. Interior is painted white, is clean, warm, well-equipped and comfortably furnished. House is on main road through village. Rural views to rear and pleasant country walks close by. 10 mins car/bus into city; easy access to A1; 40 mins to coast. Free wi=fi. Breakfast provided.

The space

This is a three-bedroom, red-brick, mid-terrace property in a typical, former mining village in County Durham. There is a pavement in front of the house and then the street, which offers (free) on-street parking. The house has rural views to the rear and almost on the doorstep, there is a network of well-maintained footpaths (converted from the former railway network) which are used by walkers and cyclists. The house is a mere four miles from the centre of historic Durham City with a regular bus service: the number 48 from the stop a few steps from the front door and the number 43 from the crossroads in the village, five minutes walk from the house. Breakfast is provided.

This house is really warm and cosy, which can be an advantage in the North-East of England! It is centrally-heated and well insulated. Hot water is available instantly (gas combi-boiler).

The house sleeps four (or five, on request - see 'Other Things to Note' below): there is a bedroom to the rear of the house, with a view over fields and trees, which has a standard double bed; there is also a good-sized room to the front of the house with a large (6'6" long) single bed and a smaller room to the front, also with a large single bed. All beds have non-allergenic duvets and pillows. There is a home-made quilt on each bed and in addition there are spare blankets in the wardrobes in each room. You won't be chilly!

We are happy to welcome small visitors: there is a travel cot and bedding and a high chair available for their use.

There is a family bathroom on the first floor with bath and walk-in shower. A bath-towel is provided for each guest. Hand-towels and liquid soap are provided in the kitchen and bathroom, where you will also find shampoo and a hair-dryer for guests to use.

There is a full-length mirror on the landing and additional mirrors in all the bedrooms and in the bathroom - useful if you are with us for a special occasion. There is an iron and an ironing board in the house. We have a washing machine and airing rack if you need them.

Downstairs, leading off the hall, there is a sitting room with very comfortable seating (including a rocking chair and a reclining chair as well as a two-seater sofa). Television and DVD player are provided; there DVDs on the bookshelf.

Also leading off the hall, is a dining room with good-sized table and four chairs. (There are additional chairs in the bedrooms.) The table can also be used as a working space for a lap-top as there are sockets close by and there is free wi-fi in the house. There is a small CD player/radio in this room. This room also has a two-seater sofa and large upholstered footstool, so it can be used as an additional sitting room. In the dresser you will find board games to play and even a jigsaw or two.

There is a door from the dining room to the kitchen which is modern and well supplied with utensils and equipment, including for example baking trays, weighing scales, casserole dishes and a cafetiere (we give you real coffee so you can make a cup when you arrive). There is an electric oven, hob and a microwave, a Candy washing machine and a Bosch fridge/freezer.

Outside is a small yard. We can offer a lockable shed, if required, for example for cyclists wishing to store their bikes securely.

The house is painted white throughout. It is sunny at the front of the house in the morning and at the back in the afternoon. Several guests have commented on the 'nice atmosphere' in the house. The house has been arranged for you to make the most of your stay. We provide a basket full of tourist information about Durham, Newcastle/Gateshead, Bishop Auckland, the coast and the countryside and are happy to offer information, suggestions and advice, to help make your stay enjoyable.

Guest access

Guests have the whole house to themselves. This is a mid-terraced property. There is free on-street parking. It is usually possible to park directly in front of the house.

Interaction with guests

We live in the same street, just over the road, and are available to offer any help or assistance required. We speak French, German and Spanish: On parle francais. Wir sprechen Deutsch. Hablamos Espanol.

Other things to note

It is possible, on request, to accommodate a fifth person in the house, as we have an additional single mattress and bedding available. There is a £5 per night fee for this. Please send an ENQUIRY to the host via the website, before your arrival, and a 'special offer' notification will be sent to you for the additional guest. Cot and high chair are available free of charge.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Check In: 4PM - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM

As the house is in a terrace, we ask guests to be mindful of the neighbours on either side.
This is a non-smoking house, but it is possible to smoke in the back yard.
Sorry, but we cannot accept pets.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

107 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sarah User Profile
November 2016
We stayed for one night after a very cold trip to Beamish Musuem. The house was lovely and warm and it was so helpful to have milk, butter, jam, bread and eggs waiting for us. Also very easy to keep in touch with the owner to let them know when we'd need to pick up the keys.

Gemma User Profile
November 2016
Amanda was a great host. She was very quick to respond to messages before the stay and was very welcoming when we arrived. The house was nice and everything was as described. Lovely touch to have breakfast too. Will stay here again.

Alex User Profile
November 2016
Stayed in the Amanda and Mark's place for only one night, but the reception and the effort they made to feel us welcomed was obvious. Thank you! At the arrival we were greeted by Mark who explained all the standard details about the house and the village we wanted to know. There were some fresh eggs, milk and jam in the fridge, which were highly appreciated in the morning :-) . Everything worked, the house was clean and tidy, the communication was extremely helpful and the hosts were very nice!!! Very happy with our stay and would recommend to anyone!

Karen User Profile
November 2016
Warm house in a quiet area. Excellent host.

Catherine User Profile
October 2016
We had stayed the previous 3 nights and like that the house was as described and suited our needs perfectly. We very much appreciated our host's flexibility so we could stay another night.

Catherine User Profile
October 2016
This places ticked all the boxes - it was convenient for our needs and the description was completely accurate. Our host was very welcoming and helpful.

Michael User Profile
October 2016
Amanda's house was very good, perfect for our needs. Everything was very comfortable. Amanda is the best host we have come across after using quite a few airbnb places. She is very welcoming and available for any needs you have. She had breakfast food in the fridge, including eggs and bread and butter and milk etc. She also has salt and pepper and cooking oil etc in the cupboard. You only have to shop for your meals. Many thanks Amanda

Ushaw Moor, United KingdomJoined in February 2015
Amanda User ProfileAmanda is a superhost.

I am a self-employed textile designer and quilt-maker. My company name is 'Amanda Jane Textiles'. You will find some of my quilts on the beds in the house. I work from a studio in my home which is just across the road from the AirBnB house.
We've lived in Durham since 2008 and I can recommend good walks and great places to visit in historic Durham city, in the countryside round about, on the coast, or in other locations in the wonderful North-East of England, including, for example, Newcastle/Gateshead, Bishop Auckland, Hexham and Corbridge.
My aim as a host is to make the house as comfortable and easy to use as possible, however long you stay. I love to travel myself and I speak French, Spanish and German (and a little Italian), so I am very pleased to welcome guests from abroad, as well as travellers from the UK.

Languages: Deutsch, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings