Indonesian daybed in living room that makes a very roomy and comfortable second bed.view of the living room with the bed made up
Lovely bright top floor flat
Lovely bright top floor flat


3 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 bath


3 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Bright top floor renovated flat, period red brick mansion block, lovely Brook Green neighbourhood (West Kensington), near Holland Park, Notting Hill, Shepherds Bush, Hammersmith, sit-down kitchen, bedroom, daybed in living room, wood floors


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: £55

Description

The space

Dear Airbnb guest - Welcome to my home! I have a bright, spacious, one bedroom flat on a quiet street in London’s lovely Brooke Green neighbourhood.

The flat is a short walk from Shepherd's Bush tube, bus and train stations. It's on the top (3rd) floor of a Victorian conversion. I've renovated the entire flat and decorated it with mix of modern furniture, antiques and treasures I’ve collected around the world. When I’m not working overseas, I live here.

After you come through my front door, you climb a set of white oak stairs to a beautiful sitting room filled with light. There’s a lovely Indonesian daybed in this room for guests and and a beautiful Afghan carpet. The writing desk is my work station. If the inspiration strikes, I’m happy for you to use it.

You'll love having your meals in the kitchen. The big window and skylight fill it with light. It has a table for sit-down meals and is fully equipped for cooking, including a gas stove, toaster, kettle and dishwasher. I’ve left some basic condiments for your use, as well as tea, coffee and sugar.

The bedroom is a large peaceful sanctuary with a London-made king-size bed. I provide hotel quality linens for all my guests. There’s a wooden clothes rack with many hangers for your clothes and a platform for your suitcase. Suitcases can also be left on the cedar chest at the foot of the bed. The cupboard next to the clothes rack has been emptied for your use. The other two cupboards are sealed as they contain my clothes and other possessions.

The bright and sparkling clean bathroom is decorated with white subway tiles, a glass brick wall, and a skylight over the bathtub (that has a French-style hand shower). I provide white fluffy towels for my guests and shampoo and shower gel so you don't need to bring your own.

I hope the pictures and my description give you a good idea of what it’s like staying in my flat. If you have additional questions, please send me a message.

Guest access

The entire flat is available for my guests. Please note, however, that other than the clothes & luggage rack and cupboard mentioned above, the cupboards in the bedroom, hallway and at the bottom of the stairs are for my own use. The filing cabinet in the living room is also for my own use. I have left many books in the flat that you are welcome to read but I ask that they be treated with respect and not removed from the flat (except for the London travel books). Many have been given to me and are signed and I would hate to lose them.

Interaction with guests

You will be personally welcomed upon arrival and given a tour of the flat. You will also be given a phone number so you can contact me or a friend (if I am away) in case you have any problems. I am also available via the Airbnb messaging system.

The neighbourhood

Brooke Green - and the surrounding neighbourhoods of Shepherds Bush, Holland Park and Hammersmith – are safe and well connected parts of West London. It is a great neighbourhood for walking and cycling. There are several public bike stations close by.

Famous for the now defunct BBC studios and the newer Westfield Mall, this is a great base from which to explore London. You can easily walk to Notting Hill, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, or take the tube to Oxford Circus, Bond Street and St Paul’s Cathedral. You can also walk to a lovely, quiet part of the Thames River, behind Hammersmith tube station. One side of the river is lined with rowing schools, pubs and boardwalks, and the other side, a walking and cycling path. It is one of my favourite escapes in the city.

There are some lovely little restaurants and markets around the corner. One of my favourites is the Bird in Hand - a great Tuscan bistro with a neighbourhood feel and delicious thin crust pizzas. The nearby Havelock Arms is a gastro pub with a friendly atmosphere. There is a big Waitrose grocery store at the entrance to Westfield mall, very close to the Shepherds Bush tube station. It’s my main grocery store. Westfield Mall is reputedly the biggest mall in Europe and has all the high street and high fashion brands from Gucci to Zara. For quick shopping, I’d recommend Masbro Food and Wine and the Saturday market at the Addison Gardens Victorian school.

Getting around

Shepherds Bush is very well connected by trains and buses. The location is also very convenient if you’re flying into Heathrow airport. A taxi will get you home in 35 minutes.

The main tube station is an 8-10 minute walk. You can access the Central (Red) Line which will take you straight to Marble Arch (for Hyde Park), Bond Street, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Road, St-Paul's, Bank and Liverpool Street. You can also get to the big sights such as Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and the Parliament in 30 minutes.

Other things to note

I prefer that guests not wear shoes in the flat as there are white oak floors and beautiful rugs. I have placed a shoe rack outside my door where you can safely store your shoes. It also means people living below won't be bothered by noise! Generally the street is quiet but this is London and as in any other big city, you can sometimes hear some city buzz. However, there are new windows and the flat is generally very quiet. There are stairs in the building and no elevator.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

I have only a few simple house rules: I would appreciate if my guests look after my home as if it was their own, and alert me if there are any problems. Please do not invite additional guests to stay unless you have notified me beforehand. Also, very important: no parties, smoking, drugs, or pets.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 3 nights.

39 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anjali User Profile
April 2017
Excellent 3 week stay. Jane has a beautiful apartment, very well maintained. It is centrally located ,close to public transport and walking distance from holland park and notting hill areas. Well equipped kitchen, if you want to cook. Nice restaurants and taverns close by. The apartment has excellent light , spectacular sun set skies from the living room and kitchen.

Barbara User Profile
March 2017
Jane's apartment made my stay in London one of the best I've ever had. Convenient to my business appointments and an oasis at the end of the day. I chose the place online for its comfortable, light-filled, bookish tastefulness and the feel of the place exceeded expectations. Seemingly small things, like the color of the kitchen table and the light mint of a wall color, like the art on the wall and the curtains chosen for each window, provided a lot of pleasure. There is no standard shower, but a lovely deep soaking tub with shower hose, just fyi. The kitchen has all amenities for a weeks-long stay. In all, a peaceful, light-filled top floor apartment, within walking distance of the Olympia (convention center) and the shops on Holland Park Road shops as well as Shepherd's Bush underground and large upscale shopping mall.

Alexandra User Profile
December 2016
Jane's flat was absolutely great and I had an amazing time while there. The flat is as per pictures, clean and very confortable. Kitchen is well equipped and bathroom too. I felt like at home and you can tell that Jane has put a lot of love in her flat. I would stay there again!

Kevin User Profile
December 2016
Jane's apartment is a gem. I don't know how else to describe it. Jane herself is wonderful. Although we didn't get to meet, the communication was seamless and smooth. The neighbourhood is lovely and close to everything. We absolutely loved out stay! Thank you Jane!

Elaine User Profile
October 2016
The flat was very pretty, comfortable, and clean. I greatly enjoyed my stay. It's in a quiet neighborhood, but close to the tube, good restaurants and shops. The host, Jane, was very helpful and detailed, and I had no problems in checking in/out. I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Hana User Profile
October 2016
A person from little company where the host made contract welcomed me. She was kind even it was quite late in night. I've never lost whenever I went to the Jane's home. The location was really good. Quite and lovely atmosphere. It was easy to get to the Tube or bus station and closer to central. Very satisfied.

Kirsten User Profile
September 2016
Jane's home is absolutely exquisite! One of the best listings I have stayed in. The flat is quiet, really beautiful - Jane's taste in pictures, furnishings, kitchenware, books and small gorgeous juxtapositions is superb. The bed in the main bedroom is supremely comfortable with very soft linen. The bathroom is a quirky, light filled eyrie, and the kitchen is beautifully appointed and a real pleasure to prepare a meal in, tucked away from the world. The stairs up to the top floor are steep (perfectly safe) but not a good choice if you're likely to be traveling with heavy luggage. Travel into the centre of London is really easy and quick and there is a huge shopping centre at 10 mins' walk with absolutely everything from supermarket to haute couture. Jane is a delightful host - very helpful - she's thought of everything - well organized and in the very best AirBNB style. I thoroughly recommend and am hoping to be back!

London, United Kingdom · Joined in August 2013
Jane User ProfileJane is a superhost.

British-Canadian. Journalist.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.