Skip to content
Old villeta in Solcio village
Old villeta in Solcio village
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Restored villeta (built aprox 1690) in quiet old centre courtyard, 60 metres aprox to lake side marina bedroom has mezanine for extra sleeping, 4 in total. 1st floor has balcony from bedroom. Good restaurants and bars within close walking distance. Village supermarket 40 mtrs. Sat tv. Well equipped kitchen.

The space

The villeta is in a quiet courtyard only 60 metres from the lake and has good restaurants, bars and supermarkets within walking distance

Guest access

Easy access to the lake, restaurants and bars.

Interaction with guests

Whenever needed for advice or assistance we are here but we always give our guests privacy as required


Amenities
Pets Allowed
Family/Kid Friendly
Kitchen
Smoking Allowed

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

House Rules
No parties or events

minimum stay of three nights


Cancellations

Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jonas User Profile
August 2016
The viletta is in a very good condition and cozy. It just takes a few footsteps to the lakeside. The hosts, Gary and Jenny, are absolutely lovely and had a lot of brilliant tips to visit and eat. We could recommend the viletta for two people absolutely.

Esther User Profile
August 2016
We had just a wonderful time in the house in Solcio. Nice old little house. Close to the lake. Gary and Jenny are such lovely people and great hosts. It is a perfect place to go to and also you can do al lot of trips in the surrouding arena.

Valeria User Profile
August 2016
Filthy floor and kitchen worktop, Ant-infested rug, Cobwebs everywhere round the house, Sink dripping in the garbage bin stored under it. cutlery plates pots and pans were also dirty, as was the drawer they were stored in. Very few cups, glasses and kitchen utensils available. Only 2 stools to sit on at the table. Revolting sofa and armchair covers, which were originally white, but now beige/grey and full of stains. No wifi, no air conditioning and no proper blackout curtains. Mind you, you wouldn't sleep anyway as the place is very noisy in the mornings as early as 6am, when all the shops next to it open their rolling shutters, take deliveries and empty their trash. Trains, as well as bikes and cars speeding past the house add to the noise. The owner is responsive, however he and his wife clearly prefer someone who doesn't spend any time at the house and doesn't create any problems. We all want a relaxing holiday and would rather have no issues, but sometimes differences/problems arise and they must be dealt with. These hosts do not want or can't deal with any of that.
Gary User Profile
Response from Gary:
It is always unfortunate when there is a disagreement with a guest, it is stressful and bad for business. fortunately it is an extremely rare occurrence for us. This review tells you more about the character of the writer than it does about our villetta. The review is grossly inaccurate to the point of malicious. Our maid spent 3 hours the previous day of arrival cleaning the whole house. The house is in a quiet courtyard. This guest created deep floor scratches by dragged heavy furniture across the polished wood floors to make a kindergarten play area for her children and was using the extra inflatable mattress we had thoughtfully provided as a bouncy castle! She was demanding in extreme, despite the kitchen being adequately equipped for past happy guests, This guest wanted oven gloves provided. There is not an oven! However I cheerfully went out and bought some. There are some sad and bitter people out there whose only solace is to create misery for others and this guest falls into that category. Our only consolation is that we will not have to tolerate her again. Please read the following review made by the the very next guests at the villeta in lakeside Solcio village to get a truthful appraisal.
August 2016

Ferdinand User Profile
August 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Gary`s beautiful home! It`s very clean, comfortable and close to the lake. Plus, Gary let us feel at home and pointed out some good restaurants and places nearby. Thank you very much!

Thomas User Profile
August 2015
We spent 5 nights at Garys and Jennys Villetta. Although we have booked on very short notice, they were really flexible and answered very quick. The handover of keys and apartment was very easy and well organized. Gary and Jenny are very easy going and friendly people who give perfect advises and suggestions for places to eat, to visit and shop. The apartment was very nice and clean and is located only a few steps from the lake and nice beaches. Also it is a good spot to travel around, which made it easy to visit the EXPO 2015 or the City of Milano. All in all a very nice vacation. Thanks a lot to Gary and Jenny, we recommend your place to everyone who wants to spend a good time at Lago Maggiore !! Best Regards from Germany, Thomas Family

Nynke User Profile
July 2015
Me and my friends had a great time at the appartment of Gary and Jenn. In the first place, Gary responded very quickly to our requist to stay at the appartment. When we arrived Gary showt us the appartment and gave us some tips to go to the beach and for dinner. The appartement was very nice and clean! We called Gary later that week to ask if it was possible to stay a night longer, that was no problem! Very flexibel. We also were invited at Gary and jenn's bed and breakfast for a drink. We enjoyed that night and had a lot of fun! Thank you for your hospitality and we hope to return soon!

Pia User Profile
July 2015
We had a very good time in Solcio on our honeymoon. The city is rather small with very friendly people. We really don't speak any Italian but we always managed to communicate. The house is charming with its two floors, brand new bathroom and the balcony. Gary and Jenny are wonderful hosts that made sure that we felt good friends. If you like small villages but also want to do day trips to bigger cities such as Milano or Como- Solcio, Gary&Jenny are perfect for you!

England, United KingdomJoined in July 2014
Gary User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings