Skip to content
Downing Mountain Lodge- JulyThe Downing Mountain Lodge- January
Entire chalet

Bitterroot Mountain Chalet

John User Profile

Bitterroot Mountain Chalet

14 guests
3 bedrooms
10 beds
2 baths
14 guests
3 bedrooms
10 beds
2 baths

Located 2,000' above the Bitterroot Valley, the Downing Mountain Lodge is a log chalet built in the round on a single level. With one hundred mile views and end of the road privacy, the lodge hosts skiers in the winter and retreat seekers in summer.


Indoor Fireplace
Laptop friendly workspace

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 king bed, 1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed, 4 single beds
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules

Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM


8 Reviews

Elizabeth User Profile
June 2018
Amazing view! This is a place you go where you want to get away with a beautiful view and a group of people. I would recommend this place to anyone, and I would stay there again!
Lauren User Profile
August 2017
Amazing place atop a hill with a wonderful view! Absolutely perfect for our crew
Nicholas User Profile
August 2017
Really cool place, need to come back in the winter! Thanks John!
Brad User Profile
July 2017
Great place in the Bitteroots with exceptional views of the valey, cant wait to go back
Hailey User Profile
December 2016
The location is amazing, we were not able to make it in (4wd low with sport diamond chains), since we decided to go in mid December and that had just received two storms nearly in a row. John was great, he made every effort to warn us of the possible difficulty ahead of time and …
Jon User Profile
July 2016
John did a great job in welcoming us to the property. His instructions were very specific and not hard to follow. The Chalet has an amazing panoramic view of the Bitter root Valley and is so beautiful throughout the day. I really enjoyed this place and how close it was to the Bi…
John User Profile
Response from John:
Thanks Jon it was great to host your group of 12. It's always great to see folks enjoying the lodge.
July 2016
Rustyann User Profile
August 2015
Wonderful view. Lodge has a great space but did not live up to my expectations. First visit my daughter and family stayed and had no complaints thus the good review last time. Lots of upkeep needs to be done. Sticky notes throughout the place with notes of what not to do. No hair…
John User Profile
Response from John:
I'm sorry you were disappointed. While the carpet is old, it's not a liability. We note in the listing that there is no washer and dryer. It is a rustic mountain retreat center. Thanks for the iron and board; however most of our guests are here to hike, bike, fish, ski and spend time in the Montana outdoors. Hauling garbage for guests is a wintertime chore, I'm sorry you did not notice this detail. I'll make it more obvious to other guests. Having folks follow the checklist for leaving keeps the cleaning fee more reasonable. The lodge is a one of a kind space in a remote location. I think maybe you would have been better served staying closer to town. From the sounds of it your family had a great time the first trip, and you forgot to mention how accommodating I was with your change of plans in your itinerary and allowing you to come for a free night based on our policies.
August 2015

Hosted by John

Hamilton, Montana, United StatesJoined in June 2012
John User Profile
11 Reviews
skiing and hiking
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings