We are on a corner block. Kurt -"The neighbourhood was very quite and quaint."
Jean- "Spotlessly clean and bright and comfortable. I cannot think of anything negative and l would give this airbnb 5 stars for everything."
Comfortable~Quiet~Spacious~A/C~Pool**4km to City
Comfortable~Quiet~Spacious~A/C~Pool**4km to City


6 guests

4 rooms

4 beds

1 bath


6 guests

4 rooms

4 beds

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Relax & enjoy our spacious, A/C, 4 bedroom home
SUPERFAST WIFI
Brightly decorated
Beautifully polished timber floors
Brand new kitchen
All modern appliances
Sparkling pool surrounded by colorful tropical gardens
Ideal for families & groups
Heaps of parking
Quiet residential neighborhood
4km or 2.5miles to the city center & popular tourist spots
Walking distance to one of the best coffee shops in Cairns
Read my FULL listing description to see how you can fully enjoy our house
BOOK NOW


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £9 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: £36
Security Deposit: £119

Description

The space

Come and stay in our beautifully renovated, large, spacious, Queenslander home.
Conveniently located in one of Westcourt's most sought after character precinct streets.
Our highly spacious home offers amazing features for you, having the whole of the upstairs house (only 10 stairs) with your own private entrance.
I will endeavour to personally greet you, show you around and answer any questions you may have.

We suggest you hire a car for flexibility & independence.

OUR HOUSE FEATURES:
• Brand new air conditioners in the bedrooms, kitchen and living area to keep the whole of the house cool.
• Recently renovated kitchen
• A traditional Queenslander house, so it's weatherboard and around 60 yrs old.
• Backyard features a large pool to have fun in all year round and is also great for doing laps. It's set in a lush tropical garden, perfect for those hot summer days.
• Two areas to sit and relax while enjoying the pool and the tropical Cairns days and warm balmy nights.
• Pool/beach towels provided.
• Polished timber floors and high ceilings.
• Large open plan living & meals area leading into the fully equipped, brand new kitchen with gas stove.
• Shower and bath are combined. Please note, the bath is slightly higher than most baths, however, a step is provided if required. Handrails are also in place.
• Our dog Sasha will probably greet you at the gate.

KITCHEN INCLUDES:
• Microwave
• Toaster
• Sandwich maker
• Teapot with a good selection of teas
• Coffee plunger
• Ground coffee and instant coffee
• Cooking oil, vinegar, small selection of herbs and spices, sugar, salt and pepper
• Separate Filtered Water Tap
• Crockery
• Non-breakable wine glasses and tumblers for the pool area.
• Cutlery
• Knife Block
• Pots and Pans
• Gas Cooker and Oven
• Picnic Cooler Bag

BEDROOMS:
• All are air conditioned with bedside tables, lamps, USB power points and connections.

BATHROOM:
• Bath Towels, face washers, hand towels
• Bath mat
• Hairdryer
• Bath gel, shampoo and conditioner
• Tissues
• Makeup cleansing pads
• Cotton buds

WE ALSO PROVIDE:
• Discount voucher book for local tours, restaurants, coffee shops and other local amenities.
• High quality cotton linen.
• Selection of pillows.
• Pool/Beach Towels.
• Pool noodles and goggles.
• Umbrellas for the wet season and hot sun.
• Iron and ironing board.
• Flat screen HD TV with built in DVD player.
• Selection of DVD's.
• Monopoly, Trivial Pursuit and packs of cards.
• Washing machine.
• We don't provide a dryer, but we do have an undercover area where you can hang your clothes on the provided clothes airer under the fan.
• Plenty of free parking.
• Keyless Digital Entry.
• Superfast NBN unlimited WIFI.

TO ENJOY THE BEST EXPERIENCE:
Please tell us a bit about yourself and exactly who and how many will be traveling with you BEFORE you request a booking.
This way we can tailor make everything to ensure you have a wonderful holiday.
We can also recommend tours and activities that would personally suit you and your party.

Guest access

You have access to all areas including the swimming pool, except our apartment downstairs.
Your entire living space is separate from us and you even have a private entrance with a digital keyless lock, so no chance of losing keys.

Interaction with guests

We live downstairs.
You have complete privacy and we won't bother you unless you have any concerns, however, you are always welcome to come downstairs for a chat and find out more about the Cairns area.
If you need anything, please let us know. We're only too happy to help.
We want your stay to be as comfortable as possible.
We're helpful without being intrusive.

The neighbourhood

We live in a quiet residential neighbourhood.
• Convenient to the city centre, Cairns Lagoon and Reef Fleet Terminal. Only 4km (2.5m) away, 5 min. drive or 30 min. walk.
• Airport 7km (4.4m) or 9 min. drive away.
• Bus stop is at the end of our street (290 meters or 3 min. walk) and all buses take you into the city terminal.
• 5min. walk to one of the best coffee shops in Cairns. Their cakes are so good, they wholesale them to many coffee shops and restaurants in Cairns.
• Close to Direct Factory Outlets (DFO) and Coles supermarket. 2km away.
• The Esplanade is a lovely stretch of grassy parkland that is 4km long.
It has:
* Two separate paths. One for walking and the other for bike riding.
* Exercise stations along the way.
* Skate ramp, beach volleyball courts, bbq areas and Muddy's playground and cafe.
* Free fitness activities every day of the week except Sunday. See the photos for exercise times.
* Entertainment and markets on Saturdays and other select days and of course the lagoon swimming pool.

Getting around

• UBER fare is $11-$15 to/from Airport. $6-$9 to Reef Fleet Terminal.
• Taxi fare is approx. $25-$30 to/from Airport or 50% more if you need a maxi taxi.
WE RECOMMEND HIRING A CAR TO GET AROUND CAIRNS.
• East Coast Car Rentals have a great range of cars available at very reasonable prices.
• We have a dedicated bike track across the road that takes you into the city and Esplanade. You can hire bikes from Cairns Scooter and Bicycle Hire in Shields St.
• We live on a corner block and the side of the house has a big grassy verge with shady trees where you can park your car.
• 10 minutes by bus into city bus terminal. We provide bus schedules.
• DFO with Coles Supermarket and 24 hr gym only 1km away. 2 min. drive or 12 min. walk. UBER fare $6-$8.
• Caltex Service Station 600metres or 5 min. walk. You can pick up basic food items and snacks here.

Other things to note

• Our superfast NBN broadband is the fastest internet in Australia
• Sasha, our 15 yr old dog may welcome you at the front gate.
• Number of guests cannot exceed six (6).
• Save our property to your wish list or book our home today, we look forward to hosting you in Cairns!


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM
Self check-in with smartlock

WE WANT YOU TO ENJOY YOUR STAY, however, we do have some basic rules:
• Please respect that this is a NON-SMOKING HOUSE.
• Please turn off air conditioners when leaving the house.
• Please don't leave any food lying around so as to attract uninvited pests.
• Please leave our house in a similar state to its condition on arrival.
• No partying as this is a quiet house. We live in a quiet residential neighbourhood so please consider our neighbours.
• Please understand we live downstairs, so have fun, but no running inside the house or jumping on the furniture. Our house is not a playground.
• Visitors are welcome but no overnighters.
• We're sorry our house is not suitable for infants.
• All guests are subject to the extra person fee, regardless of age.
• Number of guests cannot exceed six (6).
MOST OF ALL, HAVE FUN WHILE YOU STAY HERE WITH US!

CHECK IN
Check is from 2pm on arrival day. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate early check ins.
CHECK OUT
Strictly 10am. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate late check outs. A late checkout fee will be charged if not pre-arranged as we pay a house cleaner from that time.
BONUS:
You can leave your luggage here before check in or after check out and enjoy Cairns.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

109 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Josh User Profile
April 2017
Stay here! It's great so close to everything.
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thanks, Josh, for your review. We would be happy to host you all again in the future.
April 2017

Kelli User Profile
April 2017
Beautiful place and so willing to help when we needed it. We would recommend to anyone!
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thanks for your lovely review Kelli. We would be happy to host you again in the future.
April 2017

Sarah User Profile
April 2017
The most comfortable beds we have slept in except our own, lovely spaces and was definitely a home from home. Positioned brilliantly in Cairns to get around, highly recommended to all
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thanks, Sarah for your lovely review. I'm so happy you found the beds comfortable. It was a pleasure hosting you and would love to have you stay again when you return to Cairns.
April 2017

Hannah User Profile
April 2017
Fiona and David were great hosts! Very accommodating and friendly, and provided all the amenities and extras needed for a relaxing and stress free holiday. They really go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and make your trip special. The property itself is in a quiet area but not far from the town centre atall, a 10 minute drive if that! The garden area is lovely, with lots of sun and shaded areas too. We would definitely stay again if returning to Cairns!
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thank you, Hannah, for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and would love to have you stay again so you can enjoy all that Cairns offers.
April 2017

Breanna User Profile
April 2017
I will start with the positives - the home was absolutely lovely, large with everything we could need, and very clean. Fiona was also very lovely. Unfortunately we didn’t have a good experience with David and had a few other issues. First off, we didn't have access to all 4 bedrooms, even though it was listed as 4 bedrooms. When we requested the double room that was locked, Fiona went ahead and locked the single room. I understand there is no need to do extra laundry, but I would state in the description that you might not have access to all bedrooms so this is known upfront. Not a big issue though. We also immediately noticed it was hard to cool the place down. The AC controls were all locked down. The main bedroom blew out luke warm air and the kitchen AC wasn't working. The house rules stated to turn the ACs off upon leaving, but we ended up leaving some of them on since we had kids and it took too long for the place to cool down upon our return. The toilet, bathroom and kitchen were already miserably hot but we couldn’t have the kids bedrooms at an unbearable temperature when we came home for naptime. On our second day everyone went out for coffee except myself and our infant (who was still sleeping). As soon as they left, all the ACs immediately turned off. We figured out that they were controlling our ACs from downstairs. Upon going downstairs to ask if they could be turned back on, David said that he saw everyone leave so he had turned them off. After I told him I was still upstairs with the baby he proceeded to interrogate me as to who had left the house and if we had extra guests. It was upsetting. First off that he didn’t believe me and second off that we were being monitored that closely. We had a discussion about the AC and he did end up trying to resolve the problem (and also fixing the kitchen AC) but the rest of our time spent at the house was ruined. It was super uncomfortable knowing we were being watched every time we came and went from the house and it was hard to relax. The whole vibe was very much about saving money and strictly abiding the rules. David even advised they had removed all blankets from the house so that people wouldn’t be able to sleep with the AC on. We are well traveled and are always respectful of other people’s rules and property, plus as environmentalists, we completely understand the need to be energy efficient, but this seemed over the top. The house is very old with very energy inefficient windows, which obviously isn’t the fault of the guests, who shouldn’t be made to feel uncomfortable during their stay. We are not guests to keep the AC running...
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thankyou for your feedback. I'm very sorry you had a bad experience about the air conditioning. We try our best to allow everyone to have a comfortable stay, hence the reason why we installed air conditioners in all the rooms, including the kitchen. Traditionally, you would not find an air conditioner in kitchens of most homes in Cairns, however, we realise that Cairns can be very hot and humid and most people who aren't used to tropical weather, can find it uncomfortable. The reason why I closed the fourth room off was because I knew you only wanted to use 3 of them, as the baby was sleeping in a cot I provided for you. If I was to leave the fourth unused room open, then it would take even longer for the house to cool down for you.
April 2017

Helen User Profile
April 2017
Great accommodation in a convenient location. A 5 minute drive to CBD and lagoon, etc. Very clean and well equipped. Lovely pool and outside setting. Highly recommended.
Fiona User Profile
Response from Fiona:
Thanks for your great review Helen. We would love to have you back again in the future.
April 2017

Laurent User Profile
March 2017
First, I had very good communication with Fiona upfront via AirBnB email. I asked a lot of questions which have been answered very quickly. We were very well welcomed! The house is very comfortable, well equipped and the swimming pool very pleasant with the hot weather we had! The house is not located in the center of Cairns, but 5' by car. Cairns is a beautiful city and I recommend the great reef barrier which is magnifique!