SULTAN HOUSE(THE UNIQUE OF DIANI !!!)CLEAR WATER!
sultan saka house
Hosted by Sam
Sam is the host.Sam is a superhost.
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet
This blissful compound envelopes you in peace and privacy in one of the most remarkable coastal areas of Kenya.The decorative architectural design, the radiant and dreamy minimalism and the sense of ease and harmony let you enter in another world.
translated by Google

This blissful compound envelopes you in peace and privacy in one of the most remarkable coastal areas of Kenya.The decorative architectural design, the radiant and dreamy minimalism and the sense of ease and harmony let you enter in another world.

The space

This blissful compound envelopes you in peace and privacy in one of the most remarkable coastal areas of Kenya. We love the decorative architectural design, the radiant and dreamy minimalism and the sense of ease and harmony here. Situated along the famed eastern coast of Kenya an hour outside of Mombasa, this villa is within a short stroll to the stunning Diani Beach and town. Tucked within a gated compound and embedded in nature, you are close enough to feel and experience the culture and natural environment and just far away enough from everything to enjoy peace and quiet. Designed by a German-Kenyan couple, the villa is a laid back but chic oasis where guests feel like they’re at home with friends in an authentic African villa. The traditional structural characteristics are decorative but simple with a streamlined design based on the African values of natural light and wide open spaces. The spacious open plan rooms radiate with light through large banks of windows that reflect the whitewashed walls giving the space a cool an peaceful atmosphere and an indoor/outdoor flow. In the center of the house is a large living space with an open kitchen and dining area that seats up to twelve and is catered by your in house chef. Decorated in a minimal mix of European and African styles the effect is uncomplicated and relaxing with the rustic wooden furniture in lovely contrast to the smooth architectural design. With two extra large en suite bedrooms the villa can sleep up to six with plenty of comfort and privacy. There’s a rooftop terrace with beautiful views overlooking the gardens and pool in perfect harmony with the landscape and the nearby sea. A unique retreat in an amazing location, this is a place of complete relaxation, perfect for slowing your pace, immersing yourself in the culture and escaping body and soul. ADDITIONAL FEATURES Fully staffed with concierge and tour services, two housekeepers, private chef, two security guards and groundskeepers. Optional car service and driver available. Optional spa and massage services avaialable. Laundry facilities and linens. Wifi throughout, TV with DVD player, stereo audio system. AROUND The Kenyan coast is a tropical paradise with palm fringed white sand beaches, protected coral reefs and the calm turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Stretching over twenty five kilometers from the mouth of the Mwachema River to the remote Gazi Bay, the former fishing village of Diani Beach is quickly becoming a chic destination to rival Nairobi for cultural highlights. Be sure to visit the large crafts market in front of Bahari Plaza along with the main strip that features interesting shops and great dining. Head south to the Jadini Forest and don’t miss the Shimba Hills National Park just a twenty minute drive away. Smaller and more compact than many of Kenya’s famous neighboring nature parks, it offers amazing and exotic wildlife safaris. Mombasa is just an hour’s drive and a short ferry ride away and is East Africa’s largest port. A little rough around the edges, it’s nonetheless a fascinating cultural blend of Portuguese, Moorish and British history full of diversity and tradition and teeming with life. LOCATION Diani Beach, Kenya, Africa. Nearest Airport: Mombasa Airport (35 km)
translated by Google

This blissful compound envelopes you in peace and privacy in one of the most remarkable coastal areas of Kenya. We love the decorative architectural design, the radiant and dreamy minimalism and the sense of ease and harmony here.
Situated along the famed eastern coast of Kenya an hour outside of Mombasa, this villa is within a short stroll to the stunning Diani Beach and town. Tucked within a gated compound and embedded in nature, you are close enough to feel and experience the culture and natural environment and just far away enough from everything to enjoy peace and quiet.

Designed by a German-Kenyan couple, the villa is a laid back but chic oasis where guests feel like they’re at home with friends in an authentic African villa. The traditional structural characteristics are decorative but simple with a streamlined design based on the African values of natural light and wide open spaces. The spacious open plan rooms radiate with light through large banks of windows that reflect the whitewashed walls giving the space a cool an peaceful atmosphere and an indoor/outdoor flow. In the center of the house is a large living space with an open kitchen and dining area that seats up to twelve and is catered by your in house chef.

Decorated in a minimal mix of European and African styles the effect is uncomplicated and relaxing with the rustic wooden furniture in lovely contrast to the smooth architectural design.

With two extra large en suite bedrooms the villa can sleep up to six with plenty of comfort and privacy. There’s a rooftop terrace with beautiful views overlooking the gardens and pool in perfect harmony with the landscape and the nearby sea.

A unique retreat in an amazing location, this is a place of complete relaxation, perfect for slowing your pace, immersing yourself in the culture and escaping body and soul.

ADDITIONAL FEATURES
Fully staffed with concierge and tour services, two housekeepers, private chef, two security guards and groundskeepers. Optional car service and driver available. Optional spa and massage services avaialable. Laundry facilities and linens. Wifi throughout, TV with DVD player, stereo audio system.

AROUND
The Kenyan coast is a tropical paradise with palm fringed white sand beaches, protected coral reefs and the calm turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Stretching over twenty five kilometers from the mouth of the Mwachema River to the remote Gazi Bay, the former fishing village of Diani Beach is quickly becoming a chic destination to rival Nairobi for cultural highlights. Be sure to visit the large crafts market in front of Bahari Plaza along with the main strip that features interesting shops and great dining. Head south to the Jadini Forest and don’t miss the Shimba Hills National Park just a twenty minute drive away. Smaller and more compact than many of Kenya’s famous neighboring nature parks, it offers amazing and exotic wildlife safaris. Mombasa is just an hour’s drive and a short ferry ride away and is East Africa’s largest port. A little rough around the edges, it’s nonetheless a fascinating cultural blend of Portuguese, Moorish and British history full of diversity and tradition and teeming with life.

LOCATION
Diani Beach, Kenya, Africa. Nearest Airport: Mombasa Airport (35 km)

Guest access

Bedrooms - 2 Bedrooms Bed Type - 2 King Kitchen - Fully equipped with private chef Bathrooms - 2.5 Bathrooms Accommodate - up to 6 Guests Pool - private Pool Internet - Wifi throughout No pets allowed Rates - € 50-€ 70 per night /per person depending on season Deposit up from 200€, according to the period of stay - electricity costs will be deducted from the deposit Separate charges apply for electricity and food/drinks A copy of each guests passport is required
translated by Google

Bedrooms - 2 Bedrooms
Bed Type - 2 King
Kitchen - Fully equipped with private chef
Bathrooms - 2.5 Bathrooms
Accommodate - up to 6 Guests
Pool - private Pool
Internet - Wifi throughout
No pets allowed
Rates - € 50-€ 70 per night /per person depending on season

Deposit up from 200€, according to the period of stay - electricity costs will be deducted from the deposit

Separate charges apply for electricity and food/drinks

A copy of each guests passport is required


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people £65 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit £185
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 king bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 8AM - 7PM.
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Haustiere nicht erwünscht, Rauchen ist außer in den Schlaf- und Baderäumen erlaubt!NOTICE: Drinks,Food and electricity is NOT in price included.Guests Must Recharge During there period of stay.THE ELECTRICITY MUST BE RECHARGED FROM THE FIRST DAY OF ARRIVAL,PLEASE ASK HOW BY THE HOUSE MAID,,I PRESERVE THE INTERNET FOR A NORMAL COMMUNICATION BUT NOT AS AN HOME WORKING OFFICE FOR 10-15 HOURS A DAY(IF IT SHOULD BE THE CASE PLEASE LET ME KNOW),,Thank you for understanding and now i wish you all a pleasant stay plus feel free to stay in your HOME,PLEASE KNOW THAT THE PRICE GIVEN IS PER PERSON A NIGHT, FOR ANY CHANGES OR WISHES PLEASE CONTACT ME,,,KARIBU SANA!!!


Cancellations

Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ben User Profile
June 2017
A beautiful, palatial space. Rose and Moses were excellent hosts.

Will User Profile
January 2017
Sam went out of his way to make sure we felt welcome in his beautiful spacious home. The pictures cannot do this place justice- in reality, it really is incredible. The rooms, the living areas, the pool- all were spectacular and the small details made the whole place really unique. Our favourite Air Bnb in Kenya!
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.
Response from Sam:
Will,,Thanks Alot for the very positive Review,Please feel very welcome at any time plus be sure i want to and will make it much Better in the Future,,cant wait to welcome you back Home Again,,,SAM
January 2017

Zainab User Profile
November 2016
Overall the experience was great. Sam really tried his best to make us comfortable, even though he was not in the country. One thing to note is that food is not included, which is completely normal, but all the prices we were given by the chef seemed to be a huge over-estimate. It seemed so unbelievable as I had lived in Kenya that I had to go with him and found items were less than half of what he had estimated every time. We were overcharged for all of our taxi rides which the housekeeper had organised, in which she stated it was completely normal. The hot water was turned off and I was not told. The wifi was put on incrementally in what seemed to be a cost effective manner. It really felt we were slightly taken advantage of but to no fault of Sam's. I would recommend the property but the staff made it a bit stressful rather than relaxing
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.
Response from Sam:
Thank you very much for the infos,Am glad that you were so true and open to me,as you have given me a chance to make it better with the staff in the future,,(MY APPOLOGIZE!!),,My IDEA is as from today,that all the guests should do the shopping of there needs on there own,,the Chef should only do the Shopping list,in this case is easy to Avoid all the price matters,,,About the Taxi,i did Arranged as wished for the picking at arrival and that was ok and price was accepted,,Now i don,t know the Taxis which were organized during the period of stay(Which i have to go through the ALL Matters as that should never Happen to anyone Again as per i don,t like it myself),,,,Very sorry Sam
November 2016

Azatour User Profile
August 2016
I'm speechless. Thank you Sam, Rose and Jay❤️you've gave me memories I will never forget . Everything was perfect. A beautiful flawless mansion , the staff are far more than helpful and more of family. You will always feel safe,loved and happy in this place. I never wanted to leave and I promised myself to come back! Asanti Sana,
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.
Response from Sam:
Thanks so much for your very nice words,,you know that you are always welcome back home at any time,,Sam,katha,Rose,Jay and all staffs.
August 2016

Silvia User Profile
October 2017
The house is so so beautiful ! As a photography lover it was a true paradise. And the staff are ever so kind and willing to help. I loved the pool, the fresh juices and yummy pilau cooked by the chef.

Ingmar User Profile
September 2017
What should I say, than just the place, the staff and Sam are awesome. I think that Sam's place is one of the most breathaking houses in the Diani region. The quality - price ratio is ridiculous. I am sure that Sam could let this house for the double price. But he told me that he doesnt want to since he want to make it accessible to everyone. I guess that says everything! Thanks again Sam!
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.
Response from Sam:
THANKS ALOT FOR EVERYTHING,IT WAS MY BIG PLEASURE MAKING YOUR DREAM COME TRUE,,AND THANKS AGAIN FOR BEING SO TRUE! HAPPY TO WELCOME YOU BACK AGAIN IN THE FUTURE;;;THIS IS AN INFOS TO ALL HOSTS ALL OVER THE WORLD(INGMAR IS VERY EASY GOING AND A VERY TRUE PERSON,HIS COMUNICATIONS ARE MORE THAN PERFECT AND HE HAS A FEBALE OF ALL BEAUTIFUL AND UNIQUE THINGS,,I VERY HIGH RECOMEND HIM TO ALL THE HOSTS OUT THERE)....THANKS SAM!!
September 2017

Bola User Profile
August 2017
This place was so big and unexpected when we arrived. Then a day and half later, we all had diarrhea, even 2 year old. We spoke to house manager Rosie who quietly said yes the chef isn't clean. He doesn't wash his hands after the loo or touching trash and she has spoken to him but no change. She also said Sam the owner knew and has spoken to him. I couldn't believe this so we arranged to have our nanny come from nairobi to help keep an eye out on the chef/kitchen and settle the kids. Especially since we don't speak swahili and we know she is super gentle. We told Sam about nanny coming and made arrangements with Rosie to help navigate her there. Hubby even spoke to Sam to explain and they settled that nanny would provide written account of all she saw. From hours of her being there, she arrived in evening after traveling all day, she noted The kitchen was filthy. Chef and housekeepers leave early and just wipe down after prepping and cooking fresh fish and seafood? Needs a thorough clean up and proper maintenance. Bugs and flies were everywhere, every minute all day. That's a bad sign. My kids AND the pool guy got bitten with swollen legs and arms. No disinfectant or bleach in the whole house? How do you clean? Chef uses same cutting board for vegetable AND seafood prepping without washing( he just rinses). Sponge is always kept in sink and wet. Fruits and food not covered in fridge. Chef uses hands and fingers to "taste" food and not a spoon. Her list goes on! With videos and pictures as we couldn't believe it. By third day, we paid for the family to spend a whole day at another resort so we didn't have eat at the house. We also explained to the house staff to thoroughly clean and we bought soap, bug spray etc. Sam's only response was many must pay. No word about lack of hot water and dirty practices. In any case, thanks to airbnb for helping us get through to Sam, after they saw evidence we sent, as he was unresponsive and was stuck on nanny paying for spending the night. I gladly paid for nanny as long as my family could get outta there ASAP which airbnb helped. Never again! Sam also then increased nightly price for nanny by 20%!!! We still paid just for get outta there! I suspect that's why the family before us also cut their month-long stay quite short and not because of "business" reasons. Next traveler, beware and ask lots of questions. Get everything Sam says in detailed writing.
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.
Response from Sam:
HI BOLA,THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR VERY NEGATIVE REVIEW,,I WISH I WOULD HAVE MADE YOUR STAY AS SMOOTHLY AND RELAXED FOR YOUR FAMILY,,AM VERY SORRY THAT THE STAFF HAVEN,T MADE IT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU:..OUR COMUNICATION WITH YOU WAS MORE THAN PERFECT,,STARTING FROM THE EARLY BEGIN(hope you knowand Remember That)OUR COMICATION STARTED ON THE 6th AUGUST( Do you remember when we Both were Fighting so that you may Book the House???) IF YOU GO THROUGH OUR EMAILS AND (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) COMUINICATIONS YOU MIGHT MAY BE REMEMBER ON HOW MUCH WE DID THAT,,I AS WELL REMEMBER A CALL PLUS A MESSAGE FROM YOU ASKING ME TO CALL YOU PER AS YOU HAD AN ISSUE,,AND AM VERY SURE TO HAVE CALLED YOU BACK;UNLUCKLY I COULD TALK TO YOU PERSONALY; INSTEAD YOU PASSED STRAIGHT THE PHONE WITH THE WORDS(Please talk to my Husband),,YOUR HUSBAND WAS ONLY TALKING ABOUT THAT THE KIDS WERE SICK AND THERE FOR;HE WANTED TO LET COME YOUR PRIVATE NANNY FROM NAIROBI,,I WONDER WHEN I TALKED PERSONALLY WITH THE NANNY;;THERE WAS AN INFO AS SHE KNEW IT BEFORE THAT SHE WILL JOIN YOU IN THE HOUSE;;FOR TAKING CARE OF THE KIDS,,FOR YOU TO HAVE A BIT OF A FREE TIME AS YOU ARE PREGNAT,,WHEN I ASKED HER ON WHICH HYGIEN PROCCES ABOUT THE HOUSE SHOULD BE TAKEN,,SHE MENTIONED ABOUT THAT BEFORE THE CHEF IS PUTING ANY VEGIES IN THE FRIDGE THAT HE HAS TO WASH THEM BEFORE(This is even for me Very Clear And i will plus want to change that as i don,t like that myself),,,AM VERY SORRY BUT I CAN,T REMEMBER A COMUNICATION CONCERNING THE HOT WATER PLUS NO ONE KNEW THAT YOU ARE CHECKING OUT,I GOT THE INFOS FROM AIRBNB;;AND AM VRY SURE TO HAVE CALLED MY STAFFS EVERY DAY WHILKE YOU WERE THERE,,ASKING HOW YOU ARE PLUS WHAT IS YOUR NANNY DOING,,THE ANSWER WAS SHE WAS COOKING THE FOOD FOR THE KIDS AND WASHING THERE CLOTHES AND THEY WERE PLAYING IN THE POOL(don,t understand when they were sick,,I have some pics with the kids Playin in the pool;while same time was meant that they were sick Upon that if the kids were sick Why Not calling a Doctor???? Instead of the Nanny??),,I HAVE ALL MESSAGES THROUGH WHATAPP AND AIRBNB MAILS,,,SOME THING IS NOT REALLY CORRECT HERE BUT ABOUT THE HOUSE ISSUE WILL BE VERY SURE TO CHANGE ALL THINGS YOU LISTED;;THANKS ALOT!!!
August 2017

Göttingen, GermanyJoined in March 2015
Sam User ProfileSam is a superhost.

BE OPTIMISTIC FOR THE WORLD

Languages: Deutsch, English
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings