Looking northwards over the Wye from the landing in April.Front of house from the N.E
A quiet haven in a busy townlet!

Private room

5 guests

2 bedrooms

5 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The address is 28, North Road, LD2 3BU.

Do please read the "detailed description".

There is ALWAYS NO SPACE IN THE HOUSE for the Royal Welsh Show!

The space

PLEASE read all of these details, so you don't ask for what I haven't got!
Two rooms available in our spacious 1935 home on the edge of Builth Wells, opposite the Royal Welsh Showground. The guest room has 2 singles and the spare room bunks and a single. It's gentle, nice and full of books and character.
Builth has 2200 people, except during the Royal Welsh, when it has about 240,000 and becomes Abilene for a week.
It is a traditional home - quiet, unspoilt. Solid fuel Rayburn, solar panels [in case the sun should ever shine again...], open fires, 5 bedrooms . Who lives here? My 91 year old Mum, Pixie, who's partially-sighted and can't be left on her own for very long: my 24 year old son, Rob, and myself [62]. [Rob's room has a shower & washbasin]; the spare room a small wash basin. There's a family bathroom and 3 separate loos. Downstairs, each of us 'has a room' so I don't have to watch her soaps or his films. Mine's peaceful and you're welcome to share it. There are BIG gardens, which are mostly lawn. I do my best to make sure that there's colour in it: I try to grow the vegetables we like in the orchard's raised beds and polytunnel.
We're 5 mins' walk from the town and 10 mins' walk from events at the Showground - 15 from Penmaenau. The 4 days of the Royal Welsh is the only time when we're usually full to bursting a year in advance!
Glorious countryside. The Abergwesyn to Tregaron road is the most beautiful road in Wales. Two hours from Oxwich Bay on the Gower [heaven - one of the 10 Best Beaches in the World!] - everywhere is within striking distance. 1.5 hours to the west coast, 2 hours to Chester etc.
No traffic jams; friendly people who have time to talk.
The record [Royal Welsh week] was 15 adults. Insane! PLEASE NOTE - I NEVER have spare round Royal Welsh time; I have people who fill the place every year.
I've put £40, because it doesn't allow me to put what I want. It depends what time of year, who is already here, how many you are, whether you want a full cooked breakfast and so on. I usually say £40 for a single person; £60-80 for a twin with two people. Will discuss if you fancy staying.

I am a warm, friendly hostess, a character - the world and his wife drains prismatically through here. I am NOT the world's greatest cook and we have to live frugally, but can rustle up a decent breakfast. You're at home, see?! You're welcome to cook yourself. Or just munch toast and marmalade or jam and drink copious cups of something hot.
Loads of places to visit and places to eat etc - can always suggest where to go.
I sing tenor with the Village Quire [we're good!] and you're welcome to come and listen. Contact me for more details!

The house IS unique. It's not posh, but it has character.
Me too!

Guest access

I've got a big garden, in which you're welcome to potter or sit. Mostly grass and veg!

Interaction with guests

Use us as base camp - so much real life keeps happening that I can't promise to be at your beck and call. My mum has macular degeneration and her sight's getting very poor - I have little time for myself.

Other things to note

Quiet house!


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 single beds
Bedroom 2
1 single bed, 1 bunk bed

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 5
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premise

Prices
Extra people £35 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

NO smoking, NO pets. I don't like dogs and I'm allergic to cats. And no, don't bring the pet rabbit - there are polecats around. Lunch. Cars, motorbikes, cycles welcome and possibly even garaged if you want. Can manage a caravan or motor-home too.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Caitlin User Profile
August 2017
Ideal location with large storage garage and fantastic rooms, friendly host, would recommend

Netti User Profile
July 2017
Susie was lovely and welcoming and it was an informal and friendly place to stay. A comfortable stroll along the river bank to the eateries and a very quiet location.Large numbers of birds to watch on the feeders while we had breakfast. I will come again if funds allow!

Alex User Profile
June 2017
Great place to stay !!

Steve User Profile
May 2017
Susie is a lovely host and made us feel very welcome, garage space for the bikes and a nice quiet area of what can be a very busy town.

Yuxiao User Profile
May 2017
Excellent! Very lovely stay with this lovely house, beautiful garden and our great host Susie! Would recommend to friends

Sabine User Profile
April 2017
It was a great pleasure to stay with Susie. The whole acommondation is very nice and clean. We get an amazing breakfast every morning and the house is near by Builth Wells and also near by the showground. As we arrived Susie picked us up from the station. It's all highly recommended.

Alex User Profile
March 2017
We needed a place to stay after attending a wedding at the nearby Caer Beris Manor, and we couldn't have chosen a better place. Susie made us feel very welcome, and is a very kind and thoughtful host. A lovely house with lovely company in a beautiful area. Thanks Susie!

Builth Wells, United KingdomJoined in July 2012
Susie User Profile

Warm-hearted, whimsical, witty [!]; generous of soul; loving, honest. Positive, intelligent, strong character. Lover of peace and harmony.
Read voraciously; historian and well into local history. Like REAL people; no time for "keeping up with the Joneses".
A people person, me; have spent all my adult life working with people - folk clubs, schools....
Can't afford to travel but love meeting new people, so come and stay!
Love my sons, my Mum and brother, my friends, singing. Can't live without them; singing has been my lifelong love and, recently, my greatest support when the man I love walked.

I have millions of friends, some of whom I have met!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings