Living room seen from bedroomLiving area seen from dining table


Entire home/flat

4 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Newly renovated one bedroom apartment located within walking or easy public transport to Universities (Harvard, Tufts, Lesley, MIT, etc.) and Squares (Porter, Harvard, Davis, Union, Inman). Off-street parking included. Great for 1-4 people. New for Spring 17: Central air conditioning with units/controls in each room.

The space

Visiting one of the Universities or exploring one of the many squares in Cambridge or Somerville? Look no further! This private oasis is conveniently located in Spring Hill, West Somerville within easy reach of universities and squares.

Our modern one bedroom garden level apartment is perfect for couples, professionals, young families or groups up to 4 people.

The apartment has it's own private entrance directly from the garden, so you will feel comfortable coming and going as you want.

There are an outside table and chairs for your morning coffee or evening drink.

The whole house was gut renovated by an award winning architect and is green certified. This walk-out to garden apartment features large triple class windows and over 8-foot ceilings. While technically in the basement the slope of the backyard and the ceiling height makes it feel like a true apartment.

Guest access

The bedroom features a king-sized bed and plenty of closet space.
The living room space features a sleeper sofa(sleeps 1-2 people), Cable/Apple TV and seating for 2-4. Air mattresses available upon request.
The full kitchen includes a microwave and small dishwasher and a coffee maker. There is comfortable seating for four people. There is even a high-efficiency washer/dryer opposite the bathroom.

The apartment has a private front door opening directly to the garden.

Interaction with guests

We respect your privacy but are available to help answer questions, give suggestions or interact as wanted.

We live upstairs in the house and sometimes in the early evenings spent in the garden with our kids (6 and 3) and two very well behaved white german shepherds. We do have our separate private deck on the 3rd floor where we tend to retreats around dinner time, so you will often have the garden by yourself.

Other things to note

Single parking spot included in the price. Please use the left driveway spot (furthest from the house). We use the right spot to charge our electric car.

We're child-friendly! Child/Baby chairs, cribs, stroller, book & toys available upon request.

There is no need to check-in with us when you arrive! We will send you a digital code to your door the day before your arrival. So when you come go through the garden gate to the right of the house; walk down the side of the house (towards the shed), and your door is in the back of the house. There are newly installed LED lights to show the way! The house guide (available once booked) shows pictures.

We do our best to accommodate early arrivals and late departures, but our place is popular so most time someone else is staying in there before and after you. If that is the case, then you can at least store your belongings in our shed. Note! While shed is very private and in our yard, it is not locked, and we do not take responsibility for lost items.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bed: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 55
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM

No smoking (including in the garden).
Socialized dogs allowed - We have two white German Shepherds living on the property.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

162 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Wouter User Profile
July 2017
Great place. It was very clean. We loved the airco.

Debbie User Profile
July 2017
This was our first AirBnB experience and it was great! I was hesitant to book at first but the pictures were so nice and the reviews were wonderful. The other guests' reviews held true. We thought the area was nice and very walkable. The accommodations were perfect for our family of 4 with two teenage boys. I would definitely recommend Chantal's place to others.

Had a great stay at Chantel's over the 4th of July. She and Robert could not have been any more welcoming and really went the extra mile to provide us with an assortment of toys for our two-year-old. The apartment was extremely comfortable and well furnished. This will certainly be the first place we try to book if we come back to Boston!

David User Profile
July 2017
If you're new to AirBnB like we are, Robert and Chantal's cozy home will set the bar pretty high for your first venture! We're worried that it's all downhill from here :-) The communication with them through AirBnB was timely, their house manual was organized and clear, and all instructions we needed was right at our fingertips? The house was exactly as it is pictured and provided everything we needed for our stay. We would absolutely recommend this location to other travelers and would not hesitate to book it again of we get back to the East Coast. Thank you again!

Marit User Profile
June 2017
This is a great airbnb and everything was perfect for our 5 night stay. The unit had everything we needed and having the washer and dryer was really helpful.

Nancy User Profile
June 2017
Chantal and Robert's place was over the top perfect!! My top priorities are a comfortable bed, good water pressure with lots of hot water in the shower, and location. These were a slam dunk. Check-in was easy with a door code, the apartment is private with a separate entrance through a side gate. The interior was pristine, nicely furnished with lots of natural light. There's even a washer/dryer. The ductless A/C units kept us very cool and comfy which was a must for the summer humidity. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and staples like coffee and sugar were provided. The location is great for exploring the Boston area with or without a car since they have a free parking space in their driveway. We mostly used public transit. The area is in a pretty residential neighborhood within close walking distance to restaurants and grocery stores. It's about a mile from Porter Square, Harvard Square, and Davis Square where you pick up the MBTA lines and have many restaurants and shop options. We walked all over the place! Robert was really accommodating and responsive to my requests and questions, but gave us complete privacy. Highly recommend and we would come back in a heart beat.

Michele User Profile
June 2017
The bed was very comfortable and appreciated there being lots of towels and coffee! We were a family of four with two teenagers and the boys seemed to have plenty of room to sleep on the sofa and air mattress. It was a 20 minute walk to the subway, which we took three days in a row into Boston. Nice quiet neighborhood.

This host has 36 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Somerville, Massachusetts, United StatesJoined in October 2013
Chantal User ProfileChantal is a superhost.

We are a small family with two kids: Harry(3) and Josephine(6), two Dogs and one cat. We live in Somerville, MA, USA. We rent out our great in-law apartment in Somerville, MA, USA as well as out ski cabin in Crans-Montana, Switzerland. We also use AirBnB when we go on family vacations.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Français, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Chantal’s place.
Chantal
Robert helps host.
Robert
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings