We have a large garden and composting operation, keep bees, and heat with wood in the winter.
Private room in quiet Maine home
Private room in quiet Maine home
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

We are located in the rural town of Owls Head, 5 minutes outside Rockland. The house is nestled in the woods, within walking distance of Crescent Beach. The room offered is the master bedroom, which has a king-size bed and ensuite, private bathroom. Some of our belongings will be evident in the room.

The space

Owls Head is just a few miles from Rockland. The Owls Head Lighthouse and Owls Head Transportation Museum are just a short bike ride away from our house. We grow a large organic garden and are happy to share the produce with our guests!

Guest access

WiFi , refrigerator and microwave.
Inquire regarding full use of kitchen.

Interaction with guests

We have enjoyed many instances of interacting with guests, including them in meals and conversations. Our published prices do not include meals or full kitchen use, but we sometimes choose to invite guests to join us in sharing a meal. We are also sensitive to guests' desire for privacy and doing things on their own.


Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet

House Rules
Check in time is 2PM - 6PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No smoking indoors.
We have been so fortunate with the guests who have stayed with us so far that we do not feel the need to dictate their behavior.


Cancellations

Availability
1 night minimum stay

37 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jennifer User ProfileJennifer is a superhost.
September 2017
We enjoyed a relaxed and quiet stay at Terry's home. Great to see the garden and share stories with Terry and Melissa. Very flexible, friendly hosts, with great suggestions for local hikes and hangouts. Highly recommend!

Melora User Profile
August 2017
Terry and his wife are very nice people. We arrived to a note explaining clearly where we should settle ourselves in and woke to coffee and cherries!

Tolan User Profile
August 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Terry and Melissa were very accommodating, responsive and thoughtful. The room that we stayed in was clean and spacious, we had our own bathroom downstairs as well and didn't have to share even though there was another airbnb couple there. All our needs and expectations for our stay were met.

Crystal User Profile
October 2016
Terry and Melissa's home is a nice cozy place. We arrived late but they were very accommodating. It was tomato harvesting time and we shared table space with various types of tomatoes. The homemade muffins and Terry's stovetop expresso was so good. It was a great experience.

Drew User Profile
September 2016
Terry and Melissa are both beautiful and wonderful people. Sometimes staying in someone else's home can be a bit uncomfortable, but they make you feel at home right from the start! Their house was perfectly located between Portland and Acadia. We were able to take day trips to both during our long weekend stay. The bed was soft, the shower hot, the late nights/early mornings quiet, the stars at night sparkled and the hosts smiles were always welcoming. Waking up to the smell of Melissa baking fresh blueberry muffins in the morning and a nightcap chat with Terry were the highlights of our stay. Highly recommended

Tyler User Profile
August 2016
The house and property are gorgeous, and the room is very comfortable. Terry and Melissa are wonderful hosts, and we were lucky enough to catch them in the morning for toast, coffee and conversation. Additionally - we were traveling up from NYC and hit crazy traffic on the way - not only was Terry flexible and helpful with our arrival, but he offered tips on how to have a smooth ride back. Thanks again!

James User Profile
August 2016
Very welcoming. Bed in room we were in (downstairs) was extremely comfortable. Very quiet location, convenient to Rockland

Owls Head, Maine, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Terry User Profile

I live on a small farm with my partner Melissa- composting and growing organic vegetables as well as keeping bees with a small orchard. I enjoy living near the ocean so I can sail frequently. I have, among other things, been a commercial fisherman and lobsterman for several years.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings