1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Large private room with hardwood floors and built in bench seat with views of the West hills, very centrally located, near the street car and buses. There is easy parking available,
Shared bathroom with a shower.

The space

We bought the house from the original family that built it in 1907. Your room is spacious with views of the West hills, hardwood floor, built-in love seat, but a small closet. The bathroom is down the the hallway and may be shared occasionally with one of our German long term renters.
I have rented this space for many years to long-term renters, but will also rent on air bnb occasionally. The short term rental permit has been approved with case n(phone number hidden)-HO

Guest access

The guests come in through the main entrance on the first floor where there is a full kitchen with a deck and a gas bbq. There is a washer and dryer in the basement.

Interaction with guests

I have had very positive experiences with hosting for almost 30 yrs now. I have been active as a host on (website hidden), as a host to German students working at Daimler.
I know the area well and am often available to give advice about the area.
I also sing and perform with choirs all throughout the year.
There is no smoking in the house.
Breakfast is an additional $10 per person, but a kitchen is available to share

Other things to note

The house is smoke free. Preference is given to completed member information and references from known airbnb members (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)-HO

License or registration number

15-109580-HO
Learn about this field

Amenities

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules

We typically are in bed by 11 pm, so if you are coming in later, it would be appreciated if you were quiet as there are other people living on the 2nd floor.
There is no smoking in the house.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Helene User Profile
October 2016
Gorgeous old house in an lovely neighborhood; close to the streetcar, cafés, and shops of Nob Hill. Joel and Kelly were very welcoming; we had some pleasant chats and a recommendation for an incredible concert.

Behnaz User Profile
September 2016
Joel and Kelly's house is located in a very central location of Portland. My husband and I loved our stay in their beautiful home. I didn't have the pleasure of meeting Joel, but had the absolute pleasure of meeting Kelly. He was gracious and kind, and very helpful in answering all our questions. It was raining in Portland the weekend we arrived and Kelly was kind enough to supply us with Umbrellas (which was really useful!). The room was quite comfortable and nice. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here!

Margie User Profile
October 2015
From the moment Joel answered the front door, I knew I liked him. He was warm, friendly, and very helpful.

Andreas User Profile
October 2015
Joel and spous were very friendly. The room was nice and clean as were the bathroom and showers. The neighborhood was really nice with lots of restaurants and places to grab a beer.

Luke User Profile
October 2015
Joel was an excellent host. This was my first time using Airbnb and after my experience I definitely will again. The home was just as described in a very cool neighborhood. Its located next to many shops and restaurants. Thanks for the stay Joel! Hopefully I can make it back out again.

John User Profile
October 2015
Beautiful neighborhood, lovely house and such nice hosts! Joel & Kelly did a wonderful job at making me feel welcome.

Hui User Profile
October 2015
Staying at Joel's house just for 2 days is the peak of my one month USA journey. He is so kind and nice. I can't imagine at such price I can have the wonderful room like Joel's. Wooden house, walking at night could affect others in the house, please make sure you can be very quiet and early sleeper.

This host has 62 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Portland, Oregon, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Joel User Profile

I am a retired physician who has been active in hosting and an experienced landlord. I have rented out parts of my house for 30 years, which has been a very positive experience. I get very energized by meeting new people and in maintaining connection with community.
I am partnered with Kelly for the last 20 yrs. He works for the airlines so I get to fly a lot using his benefit. It also means that he occasionally has very early mornings, so we tend to go to bed between 10 and 11 and get up early. The 3rd floor is right above us, so we appreciate people being quiet after that time.
The 3rd floor also has very dramatic windows but with unusually low window sills and I am very uncomfortable having younger kids up there. We love having kids in the house otherwise.
I have lived in Europe for a number of years, mainly in Sweden. I am passionate about choral music and sing in a number of really good choirs.
Our house is smoke free. We prefer more than a one night stay.
I do give preference to people with a more complete profile and to those with more references.

Languages: English, Svenska
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings