Skip to content

Mallory apartment, Keswick

Gail User Profile

Mallory apartment, Keswick

4 guests2 bedrooms3 beds2.5 bathrooms
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2.5 bathrooms
Entire home
You’ll have the apartment to yourself.

The space

Situated in an idyllic hamlet in the Northern Lake District, on the slopes of England's third highest mountain, the apartment sleeps four in two en-suite bedrooms. Keswick is 1.5 miles away.

The apartment is on two floors: both bedrooms have views over the mature gardens and their own TV, radio and hairdryer. Downstairs, there is a spacious lounge, a fully equipped kitchen (fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, gas hob and electric oven) and a small toilet room. The apartment has its own private entrance and private parking spaces. You are also welcome to use our wifi.

The apartment is situated within a Victorian Lakeland Country House, set in over two acres of mature gardens, with its own putting course, which provides entertainment for young and old. There are also resident red squirrels and Philip the Pheasant, who enjoy their daily meal of nuts and seed!

In terms of location, we are based in Applethwaite, a small village which is five minutes by car from Keswick, or a 25 minute walk down a beautiful country lane (with magnificent views). It is also very conveniently situated for getting to all areas of the Lake District - e.g. Buttermere is 25 minutes, Grasmere is 20 minutes, Penrith is 20 minutes, and Windermere is 45 minutes away (by car).

Keswick has a wealth of pubs, cafes and restaurants, a cinema and The Theatre by the Lake. It also has lots of shops, including numerous walking shops, should you need to get kitted up. There is also a small bistro less than 5 minutes by foot up the lane.

As the apartment is on the slopes of Skiddaw, the elevated position of the house offers magnificent views over Keswick, Derwentwater, Borrowdale and many famous peaks such as Catbells. Once there it feels as though you're a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

We live onsite and will be there to welcome you and share our local knowledge with you, to help you make the most of your stay here - be that local cafes, art galleries, walking routes, local beer etc! We can help with bike storage and drying facilities if needed.

Many people like to visit this area for a week or more, and we would be happy to discuss a weekly rate. Whilst we've set the minimum stay as 3 nights, if bookings allow we would be happy to consider one or two nights - if this interests you, please get in touch and we'd be happy to discuss.

We absolutely love the corner of the world in which we live, and look forward to welcoming you!


Free parking on premises
Unavailable: Smoke detector
Unavailable: Carbon monoxide detector
The host hasn't reported smoke or carbon monoxide detectors on the property.



131 reviews
Rebecca User Profile
March 2019
What a stunning apartment and what an incredible location. Gail was generous in the extreme and must be one of the most knowledgeable people in the Lake District when it comes to suggesting walks and things to do. The apartment was spacious and quiet, with everything we could…
A B User Profile
October 2018
A spacious well furnished apartment with parking in a quiet hamlet close to lovely Keswick. Gail was very helpful before and during our stay.
Zoe User Profile
October 2018
A beautiful place to stay set in magnificent countryside. Great hosts and comfortable, spacious accommodation. Hope to return again.
Marek User Profile
October 2018
excellent location and a spectacular house.
Jonathan User Profile
September 2018
Only gave five stars as there is no space for six. This is a beautiful, grand old house split up into several self-contained units. It's really well equipped for a holiday let, including proper cooking facilities should you so desire, washing machine and more. Huge bedrooms…
Alan User Profile
August 2018
This truly is a stunning place to stay. Spotlessly clean, fantastically equipped, comfortable and cosy with amazing garden and views. We all loved it and will definitely be back.
Ruth User Profile
August 2018
Comfortable, spacious, well-equipped, and in a fantastic location - we had a great holiday here with our 10 year old grandson.

Hosted by Gail

Applethwaite, United KingdomJoined in July 2012
Gail User Profile
189 Reviews
I am an energetic and outgoing person and love being in the outdoors, preferably up the side of a mountain! I love cycling, swimming, fell-walking, the theatre, spending time with my family - and reading at the end of a busy day. I've lived in the Lake District for 25 years…
Languages: English, Français, Italiano, Español
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Things to keep in mind

Check-in: After 3PM
Checkout: 10AM
After 3PM

House Rules

  • No smoking
  • No pets
  • No parties or events


Things to do near this home