First floor bedroom with large lounge area and deskFirst floor bedroom with large lounge area and desk
House with wifi 30 mins from Rome
House with wifi 30 mins from Rome


Entire home/flat

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Cute and characterful old house in the heart of old Capena. Generously sized, well-equipped space in peaceful alleyway with Italian village life unfolding outside your door. Few minutes' walk to essential shops and restaurants

The space

Feel part of the local community in a well-restored, characterful and comfortable little house with open beams upstairs in friendly, laid-back medieval town centre 45 minutes from central Rome.

Casa Marconi is naturally cool in summer and centrally heated in winter, with wifi and free parking nearby.
It has lots of great reviews and is ranked excellent (5 stars) on TripAdvisor.

The open-plan kitchen/dining room has a fitted kitchen area with hob, fridge freezer and dining table. There is also a sofa bed.

The roomy upstairs space has a double bed plus double sofa-bed, flat screen TV, desk, wardrobe and chest or drawers.

The separate bathroom has toilet, bidet, sink and shower.

Capena has plenty of eating places and all the essential shops a short walk away (5 minutes).

You can easily reach Rome by public transport in 45 minutes. If you have a car, you can visit the nearby Sabine Hills, Orvieto and a host of other places. Even Florence is only 2 hours away.

Capena is unique in allowing you a peaceful, friendly retreat after a hard day's sightseeing or simply an opportunity to hang around being a local.

Guest access

You will have access to the whole house

Interaction with guests

You will find the house clean when you arrive and we clean the house when you leave. If your stay is one week or less, a small fee of €50 is added to cover this. This fee may be waived discretionally if your stay is longer than one week. Conversely, we may ask an extra fee for cleaning if there are more than two guests.
If you would like to arrange extra cleaning and/or laundry during your stay, there are three options:
1. you can arrange to have this done by the regular cleaner and pay her in cash. She charges €8/hour for cleaning and ironing. She charges €12 per 8kg washing machine load and €8 per 5 kg washing machine load.
2. you can use one of the tintorias in the village who will wash and dry
3. you can use the washing machine provided

Troverete la casa pulita al arrivo e ci pensiamo noi per pulire la casa alla vostra partenza. Se il soggiorno è di una settimana o meno, viene aggiunta una piccola tassa di € 50 per coprire questa pulizia. Questa tassa può essere derogata discrezionalmente se il soggiorno è più lungo di una settimana. Al contrario, una tassa supplementare per pulizia potrebbe essere applicata se ci sono più di due ospiti.
Se volete organizzare pulizia e / o biancheria extra durante il vostro soggiorno, ci sono tre opzioni:
1. possiamo organizzare una pulizia addizionale pagato in contanti sul luogo. I costo e' € 8 / ora per la pulizia e la stiratura. Il costo di un carico di lavatrice da 8 kg e' € 12 e € 8 per un carico di 5 kg.
2. è possibile utilizzare una delle tintorie nel paese per lavare/stirare la biancheria
3. è possibile utilizzare la lavatrice e stendini in dotazione alla casa


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £34
Weekend Price: £45 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 4PM

Check in time is after 4 pm and checkout is 10 am Italian time. No early check in or late checkout except by arrangement

This is a NON SMOKING property

SECURITY/RESERVATION DEPOSIT
A security deposit of EUR 50 is required. This is included in the rental payment but fully refundable within (14) days of departure, provided the following provisions are met.
No damage is done to the property or its contents beyond normal wear and tear
No charges are incurred due to illegal activity or pets.
All rubbish is recycled and left out on the appropriate days for collection. Any remaining rubbish should be taken to the bins in the square 2 minutes away before you leave. Dirty dishes should be cleaned
All keys should be left on the kitchen table and the house should be left locked
All charges accrued during the stay should be paid prior to departure
No sheets or towels must be lost or damaged

Please also:
1)Switch off the lights and central heating when you don’t need them
2)Turn off appliances when not in use
3)Leave the kitchen and cooker in a reasonable condition
4)Use chopping boards for cutting, not the kitchen work-top
5)Do not allow children to play with the TV, DVD etc. and draw on the floor or walls
6)Report any breakages, damage, spills, leaks etc.
7)Be considerate to the neighbours and do not make excessive noise outside the house after 11 pm or during siesta time
8)Important: we provide you with one set of sheets and towels per person on arrival, please do not take out extra bedding/towels etc. without asking. If you need to do any laundry during your stay, you can use the washing machine provided.
Last but not least, please water the plants from time to time :)


Cancellations

This host has a Strict Cancellation Policy

Cancel up to 30 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 30 days of the trip and get a 50% refund of the nightly rate, as well as a full refund of fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
7 nights minimum stay

4 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Juliet is a wonderful host. Extremely communicative and fast to respond. Her apartment is charming, very spacious and comfortable. It is 5 minutes walking distance from the center of Capena and has everything one would need for a short or long stay (including a fast Wi-Fi connection!). Rome is 30 minutes by car and 45 minutes by public transportation. We enjoyed our stay and recommend Juliet's apartment as a great place to see Rome but still have the opportunity to enjoy a small, traditional town!

Gustav User Profile
July 2016
This is the perfect way to enjoy rome. A beautiful and friendly village to spend the downtime and to experience the Italian traditions up close, with rich oppertunity to take a trip into rome. All this combined with a fantastic host that are more than willing to help and show you the village and the lovely house of Casa Marconi, just makes this a trip we wouldn't have missed for anything. 5/5 stars - I would highly recomend it to others and I'm sure to return at another time.

Fran User Profile
October 2014
The home was just as it is listed. Beautiful little town, Capena, Italy. Unfortunately the day we arrived our train was two hours late, then we got off at the wrong bus stop, and it was evening already when we got there. Stephinea was our contact when we arrived, and she was very nice and got us into the house and more or less settled. The wifi was excellent. All the necessary things you need to cook meals were available in the kitchen. The bed is a king size and very comfortable. Hot water was more then adequate whether using in the kitchen, or for showers. The town is everything you would expect a small Italian town/city to be - friendly, helpful and where everyone knows everyone. Met some very lovely people. There are good restaurants. Fran and Tom OConnor
Juliet User Profile
Response from Juliet:
Thanks for your kind words! I was sorry not to meet you but spoke to Hugh and Moira who enjoyed meeting you at Big Ali over a pizza and Stefania was delighted with her cyclamen. We will update the info about the bus, as I didn't realise it no longer terminates at Capena but goes on to Morlupo. Juliet and Stefania
October 2014

Juliet è un host molto attento e ospitale! la casa è deliziosa e accogliente! Siamo pronti per un prossimo soggiorno! Grazie!

This host has 25 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Cardiff, United Kingdom · Joined in July 2012
Juliet User Profile

I am a freelance Italian-Spanish/English translator and live in Cardiff, but try to spend as much time as possible in my house in Capena, near Rome in Italy. I'm very lucky because my job does not tie me to any particular place.

I first went to Capena when teaching English in Rome in the early 1980s, captivated by its charm and friendliness. People still used donkeys and did all their washing at the communal washing place.

Everyone made wine and you could not pass an open cantina door without being beckoned in to share a cool glass. Weekend visits evolved into permanent residence for about two years, when I enjoyed the yearly rhythm of village life and all the festivals - while still within easy reach of Rome for work.

About 12 or so years ago, I went back to Capena with my two small boys. We were welcomed with open arms and within hours a trestle table had been spread in the piazza for an impromptu party. Later, a local builder friend found and restored my incredible house - and the rest is history.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.