Inner bedroom with a full size bed (comfortable for two) and large empty dresserInner bedroom with a full size bed (comfortable for two) and a large empty closet
A warm family welcome
A warm family welcome
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

We offer a very private "mother-in-law suite" of bedroom, sitting room (or second bedroom, but the two rooms are interconnected) and private bathroom. You can also enjoy your own kitchenette in an additional space which is not as private. Although our guests basically have one level of the house to themselves (1/2 flight of stairs down), the entrance foyer and stairway are shared with the rest of the house; it is not a stand alone apartment. Surcharge on more than 4 guests. Pets are negotiable.

The space

There is a comfortable full size bed (sleeps two), dresser and a large closet in the inner bedroom. The outer room of the suite has a desk, chair, plenty of shelves and a futon couch that can be set up as a second full size bed for two more guests. A small private bathroom is immediately adjacent. The whole suite is in the lower part of the house which makes it secluded from the rest of the house, but the entrance foyer and the stairway are shared. There is a small refrigerator and cooking area in the lower part of the house for the guests convenience. In the summer you can take advantage of our patio and outdoor eating area facing into a quiet backyard.

Guest access

Other then the"mother-in-law" suite, the whole lower level of the house is freely accessible together with the kitchenette and patio on the same level and laundry in the basement. The upper bedrooms are private unless you make arrangements with me directly for a larger party.

Interaction with guests

We are both working long hours so we are available only in the evenings or on weekends for face to face interactions which we enjoy whenever possible. Even if I am not around, I will be happy to help via text or email at any time during the day. Check in and check out could be self help depending on the time.

Other things to note

We are empty nesters with an academic and international background and we welcome visiting scholars or medical students on rotations. We can make additional rooms available short term for large parties on special occasions, please inquire directly with me.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Essentials
Indoor Fireplace

Prices
Cleaning Fee £16
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 6PM - 10PM

-Please take your shoes off in the entrance foyer.
-Absolutely no smoking anywhere in the house; outside is ok.
-Please keep quiet after 10pm.
-People other than those in guest party are not permitted to stay overnight in the property without prior notification.
-There is no daily housekeeping service (sheets and towels are provided for the whole stay).
-If you stay more than a week, you are responsible for your own laundering of sheets and towels at any frequency you wish (two sets of towels and sheets are provided).
-The owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries or illness that occurs while on the premises.
-We are not responsible for the loss of personal belongings or valuables of the guest(s), though we will make every effort to reunite you with forgotten items if we find them.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

27 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jin User Profile
September 2017
Wonderful host. Very accommodating and great place for price and location for traveling medical students to stay when rotating either at OSU or Riverside hospital. No issues whatsoever and highly recommended.

Ahmed User Profile
August 2017
A great nice very comfortable house with very nice people

Marketa was a gracious host during a time that was both exciting and emotional for our small family. She went above and beyond to meet our unique and specific needs on an uncertain timeline. The space in the in law quarters was perfect, and access to areas within the rest of the house was an added bonus. Marketa's communication was timely and positive. She didn't just open her home to us; she opened her heart. We will definitely be back!

M User Profile
July 2017
Great place, plenty of parking. The space is large with enough space to feel at home. Marketa is great too and gives a great directions to the surrounding stores.

Nathan User Profile
July 2017
Marketa is a wonderful hostess, and the space is roomy and homey. Felt completely comfortable here with my three kids for a longer-term stay.

Heidi User Profile
June 2017
What a great little place! Marketa is a lovely hostess and the space was like going to a relative's house in all the best ways. The living area/kitchenette is open to the rest of the house, but the sitting room and bedroom are separate. All in all a wonderful two nights.

Saeed User Profile
May 2017
Marketa and Dean are AWESOME! their house is in the best part of town. They have a ton of board games in the bedroom which was a plus for us! I wish our time was not that busy so that we could get to know this awesome, well-educated, well-traveled family

Columbus, Ohio, United StatesJoined in March 2015
Marketa User ProfileMarketa is a superhost.

I am originally from Prague, Czech Republic but the winds of life landed me in Ohio. I love to explore new places, people and food. I work as a student science labs manager at Ohio State University where my husband is a professor of economics. Our two sons are students at the same university.
I usually travel with my husband Dean and sometime with our adult sons as well. We tend to travel by car and stay with friends whenever we can. We hope Airbnb will help us make friends in places where we do not have any yet.
We love using Airbnb as travelers and so we also became hosts. As empty nesters, we hate to see the space in our house idle. We have always welcomed friends from around the world, but Columbus does not seem to be a hot spot tourist destination (imagine that!). Airbnb gives us an opportunity to host more often.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Čeština, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings