Living roomKitchen
Tranquil house near park in Brixton, London
Tranquil house near park in Brixton, London
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A great quiet and light house next to one of London's finest parks near one of the city's most vibrant areas. Great transport - 30 mins to central London - and I'll do my best to accommodate your needs. The house has been used by couples, small families and single people. Discounts can be negotiated for longer stays. The house is ideal for the those who need peace and quiet as well as the buzz of a big city. Brixton is as cosmopolitain as London gets and very well connected to the city


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee £30
Security Deposit £400
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

There is a proper double bed in the bedroom and an inflatable double bed that can be used in the living room.

• We can discuss house rules after booking but here they are anyway...

The most important thing is to respect the fact that you'll be staying in my house and to leave the place as you find it.

• Open the shed door next to the front door and you’ll see a little alarm control hanging on your right (there’s a light switch on your left if it’s too dark). Press the disarm button on the top until you hear two beeps (the top being as it is hanging in front of you). When you leave the house, don’t forget to press arm on the alarm at the bottom – it will beep once.
•The key with one tooth is for the front door – two teeth for the back.
•The keys you have are the spare set. Extra keys for the back gate are kept in the glass bowl on the dining table. If you want to open the bedroom window, the key is on the sill.
•It’s really important to keep the blinds down at the front (twist them open – don’t pull them up) when you’re in and close them tight when you’re out. The blinds at the back can be pulled up but drop them back down when out.
•I’ve never used the dishwasher but I think it works.
•The washing machine is fine but the door needs pressing in when you turn it on to get it started.
•Sheets and towels are in the cupboard next to the bathroom.
•A drying rack is in the storage cupboard – along with a mop and hoover.
•The hot water comes on when you turn the tap on and if you need heating then turn it on – it’s in the shed with the boiler in it.
•The long light by the desk is on a timer – I just leave it on. As are the blue lights in the kitchen.
•I have wireless broadband and all landline calls are free – mobiles from the landline cost money though. Passwords are on the router behind the phone by the record player.
•The neighbours know you’ll be staying here.
•I compost organic waste in the red bin behind the kitchen bin. When it gets full, I transfer it to the compost bin in the far corner of the garden or out the front in the orange box.
•Please water the plants if it doesn’t rain – watering can on the patio.
•The nearest food shop is 2 mins down the hill – much better is the market in Brixton.
•Catch numb bus to Brixton and then the tube to wherever or you can walk across the park to Herne Hill Station.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ben User Profile
August 2016
Mark was very communicative frequently asking if everything was OK. The house was clean and nice, but a bit far from the metro (it is necessary to take a bus and it isn't in the nicest area in the world. The house is very well priced and very nice. There is a large living room, nice bedroom and a nice bathroom. The neighbors are sometimes loud and party often on the weekends and are loud in the mornings as well. Upon leaving the house Mark repeatedly claimed that I had taken his Iphone charger and when I told him that I used a samsung phone and I don't have it or a reason to take it he kept repeating himself. He also uploaded a picture of a tiny scratch in a strainer and a stain in a towel. I am pretty sure I didn't damage these items but he requested a total of 52 USD for me to replace these which I paid. Mark was great while I was there and I would have rated him 5 stars if it were not for these problems after the fact. I also stayed there for over a month and sent him over 2000 USD for this. These items seem trivial and normal wear and tear of a house to me.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
So as to clarify for Ben and future guests... My house is less than 10 mins away on a bus from the metro. It's right next to a huge park with acres of grass and trees. If gritty urban and a busy city atmosphere is preferred then this isn't it. The neighbours are normally quiet in my experience but I will speak with them. I'm sorry that bothered you. Regarding the missing and damaged items. I've only had something damaged once and the guests left cash to replace it and told me about it. I found this courteous as they understood this to be my home and not a hotel. I also request in the house notes that you leave the house as you find it. I'm sorry that we had to settle a dispute over such banalities as a badly stained towel in this forum but thankyou for compensating me after I raised the issue. I hope this situation doesn't arise for either of us again and I wish you well.
August 2016

Matthias User Profile
November 2015
The apartment was in good shape. We stayed there for a bit more than a week with two little children. It is small, but cosy and exactly as described. For us it was the perfect hub for our vacation. The neighbourhood is great, in particular Brockwell park. Communication with Mark was excellent and he was very supportive. We can clearly recommend the place.

Jillian User Profile
August 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at Mark's. We're from London originally so didn't need any advice on getting around, but the location was really great; 10 minute bus ride to Brixton, great walking routes with Brockwell Park right next door and Dulwich/Crystal Palace down the road. The size of the place was perfect for us - we did quite a bit of cooking. There's no TV (which was fine for us) but there's so much to do that you won't miss it. The flat is beautifully decorated and really cozy. We met Mark ahead of time to show us around, directions we're very thorough so we felt like we knew our way around the place really well. Great experience. Loved every minute.

Lisa User Profile
January 2015
Mark is a great guy, very friendly, and left us with a nice bottle of prosecco to celebrate new years. His flat is small, but nice and would be good for 1 person or a couple. Unfortunately, we had planned to use the air mattress, which we couldn't get blown up so that wasn't so cool. We couldn't seem to get the oven to work either - so if you want to use it do ask ahead! There was a TV there, but no channels. In addition, there was a lot of outdoor noise at night - including animals, a friend yelling at the door, and plenty of sirens. Altogether, the place wasn't great value for money and I wouldn't pay that much for this little space in the future. That being said, the neighborhood is pretty cool and the park behind the house is perfect if you are travelling with children.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
That's a pretty rough review. You had ample possibility to contact me in lieu of problems. People have used the oven (no idea why this was a problem) and the bed before without mishap but all you had to do was text me and I could have come round as I offered when we met. That being said, I'm sorry you had such a bad time. I could have been a better host if you'd obliged me. I also wonder about your comments on noise - it must have been unusually noisy when you were here as it's quiet otherwise. I don't watch TV, as I told you and the place is as big as it says in the photos. I think you might stay in a bigger place next time with different specs and stay in touch with your host if you have problems! I've never had complaints before but they can always be sorted.
January 2015

Philippa User Profile
June 2014
See our overall response as those questions have been answered

Marek User Profile
March 2014
Nice place and a great music collection! I would try to rent once more in the near future.

Jorge User Profile
January 2014
Mark was very friendly, kind and helpful to my family. Thanks. All the best!!

London, United KingdomJoined in July 2012
Mark User Profile

I'm a film maker and teacher. I'm often away making documentaries so need to keep my place warm while I'm away.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings