A cosy livingroom with no TV but a plethora of books and a roaring log fire on cool nights.
Cosy Sunny Cottage, Unlimited Wifi
Hosted by Miriam
Miriam is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Spacious double room with large bay window in character cottage, 10 min walk to City Centre, Merivale cafes, Hagley Park, 2 min Edgeware shops, Baileys pub, Abberley Park. Fully fenced private garden. Unlimited Wifi, fridge in room.
Sorry, no guests under 18 years of age.

The space

Unlimited WiFi plan means you can use the internet whenever you wish, from your room or anywhere in the house.
Please be aware this is a busy Airbnb house, especially in summer. 5-8 people from different countries are all sharing 1 bathroom and 1 kitchen. It works fine for most people, the house is clean and peaceful!
Sorry, no guests under 18 years of age.

Guest access

You will have access to a shared bathroom with shower, basin, toilet and washing machine. Bring your own toiletries, also washing powder for the machine. Soap, hand-towels and bathmats are always available.
There is a stack of wood ready chopped in case you would like to make a fire in the living room, and many guests have enjoyed chatting or eating together round the hearth. There is always a guitar nearby if the mood takes you!
Outside, a barbecue, outdoor chairs and tables are available to make the most of fine weather.
We have a couple of bicycles too – please ask before borrowing!

Interaction with guests

I will be around at least part of every day, and happy to help with any requests for information. If any issues arise, text me!

Other things to note

There is a little shop just opposite, next to the bus stop. It is open from 7am to 9pm, seven days a week. You can buy basics like bread, milk, and all kinds of snacks and junk food here!
The supermarket is 7 minutes walk away.


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Indoor Fireplace

Prices
Extra people £6 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £7
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Quiet enjoyment is the theme of the house. Please relax and make use of the bathroom and kitchen as your own home - don't forget to dry and put away your dishes after each meal, always leave the bathroom "in a better condition than you found it" and we will all be very happy!
:-)
Help with heavy items is warmly appreciated, e.g. bringing in the logs for the fire, moving furniture (comes up more often than you might think!)
No pets, no smoking. Sorry, no guests under 18 years of age.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
365 nights minimum stay

18 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Chase User Profile
April 2017
We enjoyed two lovely nights in Christchurch with our kind host Miriam. The accommodation was very cozy and we felt very at home. I definitely recommend this accommodation and would stay with Miriam again.

Anaïs User Profile
April 2017
We didn't see a lot Miriam but she is really welcoming. Chocolate on our bed When we arrived. We were like in our home. The house is clean and calm. Thank you Miriam

Susan User Profile
March 2017
Lovely room with awesome sleigh bed: funky, homey environment. Well set up for a longer stay, tho we only stayed 2 nights. Great kitchen set up

John User Profile
March 2017
Very nice house and host. Perfect place for us! Thank you

Liz User Profile
December 2016
Had a great time, Miriam could not have been more thoughtful. Supermarket was handy, fridge in the room and good cooking facilities. Great value for money. He paarekareka took noho i kona, he nui taana aawhina mai a Miriama ki ahau. He tata te toa hokomaha, he paakatio kei roo toku ruuma, he taputapu tao kai kei te kiihini. He nui te uara.

Meik User Profile
August 2016
I stayed in Miriam's house for 1 month and enjoyed the time. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The room contained a fridge in which I could keep my own food. The kitchen had everything necessary for cooking like an oven, microwave, pans, pots, and dishes. The washing machine was easy to use and outside in the garden there were plenty of clotheslines for drying the clothes. A few hundred meters down the road there was a supermarket, an ATM, bus stops and fish and chips shops as well as a pizza restaurant. Once per week my room was cleaned and new bed sheets and towels were provided. I arrived in the middle of winter in the coldest week. My room contained a heat pump heating system that provided a reasonable temperature in the room. In addition, Miriam offered me an electric radiator and a hot-water bottle that I used in cold nights. In the evenings all tenants enjoyed the fireplace in the living room. Miriam was a very good and funny host. On one evening she invited all tenants for a joined dinner where everyone contributed some food and we played a game. One other evening we joined Miriam visiting a jazz bar with excellent live music. The only drawback of the accommodation is that the house is not insulated (like many other New Zealand houses) and there is no heating system in the kitchen. The heater in the bathroom was a little bit small and needed some time to heat-up the bathroom. Since I usually was the first in the morning using the bathroom, it was sometimes a real challenge. But I think that these drawbacks only apply for very cold winter days and in the rest of the year the house is a pleasant place to stay (in summer there is even the option to make a barbecue in the garden). Thank you Miriam!

I'm happy about this. She's so kind.

Christchurch, New ZealandJoined in March 2015
Miriam User Profile

Love travels in Europe, classical music and singing (choral and folk), learning languages like French and Chinese, philosophy, tai chi (taijiquan) and all my work roles in publishing, translation, interpreting and admin.
I love Dorothy Dunnett, Georgette Heyer, and read around 10 books a week. I mostly cook Mediterranean vegetarian (I do eat eggs and dairy) but other people in the house eat whatever they like. There are usually a few working holiday-makers and language students from every nationality around, as I enjoy their dynamism and openness to new experiences.
I want to make the most of Life, and for me that means enjoying the challenges and evolution.

Languages: English, Français, 中文
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings