Huge outdoor area sets this apartment apart from other units!Light, bright bedroom with sunrise views
Sunrise Views on Kangaroo

Entire home/flat

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Homely and comfortable one bedroom apartment on this popular and quiet street with views of Manly ocean. Quiet yet only 6 minutes walk to the bustle and atmosphere of Manly!

The space

The outdoor areas, views to Manly beach and quiet, elevated location...

Interaction with guests

We live in Avalon but swim at Manly every day so can always pop in or drop things off.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Bed: 1
Room type: Entire home/flat


Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

7 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Charles User Profile
August 2016
The photos show a spotless property with new appliances. The reality is less desirable. Everything is tattered and extremely worn. The neighbors are very noisy, and woke us up every single morning at 6:30am. Not the quiet beach cottage described. One neighbor liked to burp extremely loud when we dined on the patio. Who does that? There was a significant ant problem in the kitchen/living room. The floors, kitchen countertops and bathroom were fairly grimy. It seems evident the property is not professionally cleaned between tenants. Everything in the apartment was worn out and poorly maintained. The linens and drapes were in tatters. The BBQ caught fire when we attempted to use it, as it had not been cleaned in some time. Lack of wi-fi and the absence of a dryer are large draw-backs. The wi-fi situation was made worse by the fact the owner did nothing to help us secure a broadband internet plan for our long-term stay. They simply strung us along for 12 days, then grudgingly gave us approval to make arrangements on our own. We felt this was unacceptable. It seemed evident that Elaine does little more than manage the Airbnb account, yet her husband Ted is the one actually maintaining the property. There was a disconnect in this respect, as it often took a good amount of time for messages to get passed to Ted and vice versa. Additionally, we felt Elaine's overall tone and attitude were disrespectful. She seemed to take very little accountability when things went wrong, and was overly defensive and not easy to deal with. For an extra 10% cost, you can book another Airbnb in the area that is better maintained and has basic amenities such as wi-fi and a dryer. In the end, the biggest shortcomings revolved around the hosts. They had very poor communication and did not manage our expectations at all. Their overall demeanor and attitude was aggressive, overly defensive and unwelcoming. All said, the property was not worth the money we paid. We strongly recommend looking elsewhere.
Elaine User Profile
Response from Elaine:
Charles's review is untrue, inaccurate, offensive and misleading. All our guests love the apartment and we have great reviews on other sites as we get booked up well in advance. It is cleaned thoroughly and isn't as he describes. To say linen and drapes are 'in tatters' is a blatant lie. He was annoyed over the lack of internet, which we never claim to provide and expected us to install it for him. Other guests report it to be quiet and have never complained about neighbours. He sent so many messages about the internet and dishwasher and I responded quickly but felt him to be incredibly demanding, arrogant and rude. His inaccurate review justifies my feelings and I urge people to read our other reviews. We are never aggressive but are unused to being talked to so rudely by people renting out our apartment.
August 2016

This host has 53 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Avalon, AustraliaJoined in March 2011
Elaine User Profile

Since emigrating from England 25 years ago with my Dutch husband Ted, we feel incredibly lucky to be living on Sydney's Northern beaches. We feel it must be one of the best places to live in the world! Life is more of a holiday here. Even if you work you can always get up early, run along the beach or have a swim in the ocean, see the sunrise and start the day in great way!
I love sharing this part of the world so love being in the holiday letting business! I also do casual Primary School teaching and am lucky to have a good life/work balance. My husband Ted is a retired plumber and helps out with our 3 properties.
We have two children who are now 21 and 17 and a gorgeous Tibetan Spaniel called Freddie!

Languages: English, Français, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings