the new king sized bed
Frisky Mermaid Studio w Breakfast our best room
Frisky Mermaid Studio w Breakfast our best room

Entire home/flat

4 guests

Studio

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

THIS SUNNY , MANY WINDOWs
UNIT HAS A NICE OCEAN VIEW
This Quiet restful place in Kona seems like you are in a remote part of the island , JUST roll out of bed , to hear the birds, go for a swim or go to local activities and foodie places

The space

The quiet area and the view at about 1000 feet over looking the ocean
Tax not included in the Airbnb feeWHALES SPOTTED..... FRESH FRUIT BIG KING BE(URL HIDDEN)BIG LAND & OCEAN VIEW
It is a great time to reserve your spot
the place is going to go up in price
the price it is at now is just an introductory promotional price

Compare what we offer
no other place in our price range compares even at the coming
rack rate126
more towels, 400-800 tread count sheets, cooking gear, table gear, light breakfast , free fresh fruit, ap enable tribite wifi and ethernet, free parking , in town of kona, ocean view, and more, tucked away but still in town , quiet place less than 5 minutes to Restarants/ Beaches , and Shopping


Checkin time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only

With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place and expected early check-in is not always available, advance request helps

Compare Available Studios
All Studios are lockable and have Private sleeping and Bath areas and have the same rack rate

The place;
Lono Lanai With Host GIO Chef, Kona Historian, Exotic Tropical Fruit explorer and …..

Lots of Towel(URL HIDDEN) Cooking Set u(URL HIDDEN)
high thread count sheets

Deck with ocean and sunset views.
Private room with Tropically This house does have STAIRS, so must be comfortable walking up and down them.

We are at an 800ft elevation overlooking the ocean, about 5 minutes by car to the beach or less, and 5 minutes by car from the center of town as well as waterfront restaurants and stores.

Good snorkeling
At Kahalu'u beach, about 3-5 minutes west of us by car, with easy ocean access for beginners. You can rent snorkel equipment at the beach.

Our home is located on a quiet cul-de-sac 5 minutes from Kailua-Kona village by car, lanai with OCEAN, land & SUNSET VEIWS.

Private Studio with
Tropically decorated twin-sized Futon bed, studio apt., nice bathroom with shower, all not shared
Shared; Full size refrigerator, cooking areas. Sun warmed hot water. Hot pool for a nominal fee

FRESH FRUIT
Welcome Hawaiian FRUIT
Usually with fruit we have grown on site fruit

Fruit
Seasonal availability
Passion fruit or, papaya, or dragon fruit or Banana - ice cream / honey - or lady finger kind
Local Macnuts
an more / varies

Enjoy micro tropical garden
Mini tropical fruit trees, papas, veggies, herbs and cherry trees.

Shared another lanai, Car parking, WIFI, Shared cooking oven, gas stove, microwave


Pricing
Is approx. $126 day plus local and state taxes for daily rental
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)

Airport
Pick up or drop is $ 43 includes tax (for 2 and kids max)
Prepaid only / Guaranteed Reservations Only

Check-in time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only

With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place

We cannot always accommodate early check-in. Some solutions to deal with early arrival; A Guest could reserve the day before or go get a bite to eat , even go for a swim year round and then check-in after. Thanks for your consideration

Services
Some additional Costs
There is an extra cost associated with massage, Spa Area, rental bikes or cars, requested pick up or drop off, island tours or other special requests. Requesting a service booking a time, accepting a charge for a service is associated with special requests,
We do not offer commercial credit or charge accounts

Guest room materials
Room items are included for use in the rental and not as take home items. They can be purchased separately in advance through airbnb only
Items; Towels, robes, blankets bedding, utensils, cooking ware, baskets , gas canisters, plates, cups, books, paintings, batiks, or anything else that is reusable by the property from the property.

Some Freebies
The great tropical fruit when available (not the baskets or plates themselves)

Directions, ideas on places to go and see, limited rides to town (sometimes I drive to the store or town and it’s great to give you a lift then - no charge), and special VIP/ insider event experiences when offered(URL HIDDEN)The Host
John or Gio- short for Giovanni is an inspiring and aspiring, Kona Historian, Chef, Massage Therapist, Pilot, Entertainer, exotic tropical fruit explorer, micro scale farmer and aspiring world traveler. He likes to let you know about some of the secrets; of Kona, Hawaii, tropical fruit, healthy living, massage, and Tai Chi. He is available for various sessions
Massage, bodywork, structural integration, tarot, eternal being readings, and interpersonal exploration
Above all he is interested in meeting many good people from around the world and helping you explore Hawaii’s Island Paradise
Also appearances by Carolynn and Leona the play and food exploration crew
some of the differences are
the dolphin
has a dolphin theme, hard wood floors, outdoor dish sink 2 closets and a tube, a view of the ocean
the whale
has carpet, WIFI TV, no cable tv , large dish sink in the bathroom, more windows, it can be a more noiser as it has many windows and is near the parking area and above another unit, better view
Wild Fairy Garden
A Microcosuim or micro-ecosystem / garden has hard wood floors, has a more private deck, cooking area and dining area, but does not have the shared frig and deck close by, like the other two/ can use the shared frig and cooking area over looking the ocean. It has more of a over grown garden atmoshere, and less of a ocean view

Whale/Dolphin Tour
( with one of the most longest running and expereinced captains on the island)
with the tour you save even more

Actual price
As Tax is not included the actual price for the room differs
the real the price is 13.25 more with tax
tax is used to make the bathrooms clean at parks, roads to beaches and many more services
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)

The Rack rate
126 per day before taxes

Pricing
Is approx. $126 day plus local and state taxes for daily rental
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)
Airport
Pick up or drop is $ 43 includes tax (for 2 and kids max)
Prepaid only / Guaranteed Reservations Only
Check-in time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only
With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place
We cannot always accommodate early check-in. Some solutions to deal with early arrival; A Guest could reserve the day before or go get a bite to eat , even go for a swim year round and then check-in after. Thanks for your consideration

Services
Some additional Costs
There is an extra cost associated with massage, Spa area, requested pick up or drop off, island tours or other special requests. Requesting a service booking a time, accepting a charge for a service is associated with special requests,
We do not offer commercial credit or charge accounts

Guest room materials
Room items are included for use in the rental and not as take home items. They can be purchased separately in advance through airbnb only
Items; Towels, robes, blankets bedding, utensils, cooking ware, baskets , gas canisters, plates, cups, books, paintings, batiks, or anything else that is reusable by the property from the property.


Directions, ideas on places to go and see, limited rides to town (sometimes I drive to the store or town and it’s great to give you a lift then - no charge), 5 minute chair massage sampler, and special VIP/ insider event experiences when offered(URL HIDDEN)The Host
John or Gio- short for Giovanni is an inspiring and aspiring, Kona Historian, Chef, Massage Therapist, Pilot, Entertainer, exotic tropical fruit explorer, micro scale farmer and aspiring world traveler. He likes to let you know about some of the secrets; of Kona, Hawaii, tropical fruit, healthy living, massage, and Tai Chi. He is available for various sessions
Massage, bodywork, structural integration, tarot, eternal being readings, and interpersonal exploration
Above all he is interested in meeting many good people from around the world and helping you explore Hawaii’s Island Paradise
Also appearances by Carolynn and Leona the play and food exploration crew

THE PLACE- Da INSIDE SCOOP
Not a Commercail Hotel, Condo,or apartment building and does not have a regular pool, toxic good looking landscape or ocean front or down town oreintation. This place is not the noisy party pad place that those other places offer
IT IS A
A RUSTIC HOUSE with a great view and separate Private lockable studios, and 3b unit( lockable rooms) that share bath/kitchen and living room and some shared areas , WITH RARE CHANCE TO FIND OUT ABOUT EXOTIC FRUIT, EATABLE LANDSCAPING AND HISTORY OF THE ISLAND

Cancelation
For a full refund, cancellation must be made 30 full days 50% UP TO 1 WEEK PRIOR
ABSOLUTELY, NO REFUNDS AFTER THAT STRICT WE RECOMMEND TRAVEL INSURANCE IN CASE YOU NEED FLEXABILITY, WE HAVE TO PROTECT OTHERS 7-14 PER SPOT AND THE HOST WHO GUARENTEES YOUR SPOT AND YOU IN TURN PAY FOR THAT SPOT DURING THAT TIME
Wild Hawaii
With it being hawaii we are blessed and we have a great amount of dust from the volcano
Wild life from Beatles to ants to praying mantas
With high winds and tides and rain and sun our places need more maintenance as things come up to address ganging conditions
We have high humidity that can cause towels to mold in a short time
There are unexplored ordinance around the island and earth quakes and tsunamis waves even flash flooding
If you let us know we can address concerns caused by theses island conditions and make your stay better and some of these conditions are a part of island living
Gio
Taxpayer ID: W(phone number hidden)

Guest access

tax not included in Airbnb fee
easy parking

Interaction with guests

Close, but tucked away. Peaceful Hawaiian home VERY Close to Beaches, Galleries, Aloha live theater, many restaraunts, DownTown & Chocalate/Coffee farms.

Checkin or Arrival Time by Oppointment Only
By advance
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only


Checkin or arriving on weekends or Holidays not available without advanced specail request, terms, non refundability and additional fees

Compliementary wifi, breakfast supplies , internet tv, fruit, hot pool , cold tub, restaraunt passes, massages, classes , tours are subject to availability, available sun to heat, repairs, mainteince third party providers policies, and third party availability -repair and maintenience and availability. We do not garentee nor do we warrentee them, or include them in any costs, refunds or etc... In Hawaii repairs can take longer, office time is limited and staff time is limited so we all do our best and at times there be unavailability or it takes us time to get everything done

Other things to note

details MUST READ
early and late fee 25 paid in cash on arrival before 3pm and after 9 pm
holiday/ event rates and length of stay are higher,
quiet time 9pm-8am - not a party pad,
off street parking only,
only 2 people included in this reservation,
not a condo or hotel,
travel insurance and planning your trip well are recommended,
extra person fee of $22 past 2 guests, except up to 2 kids under 11 free, more than 2 kids pay the extra person fee, extra person fee (22) a person, taxes paid separately in cash on arrival only @ 13.42% ,and additional services are extra, wifi as a curtoisy only,
It's quiet and safe for kids and older adults,
holidays prices are $20-50 more a day min stay 7 or more days.

License or registration number

W01605696-01
Learn about this number

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: Studio
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premise
Hot Tub

Prices
Extra people £15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £33
Security Deposit £76
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

This is a quiet, safe and inside smoke free property- That is a big part of the charm. No on street parking only off street parking
We value the rights, safety and experiences of others, and violating others will shorten a person's stay
We prefer the house smoke-free, drug-free and drama-free.
* Thank you for not smoking in the house or near the house, taking your shoes off in the house.
* We do not allow CANDLES to be lit in the house.
*
Hang up towels - mildew and mold can easily affect the towel and the whole room, open doors and windows to prevent stagnation

We recycle - please separate the plastic, card board and food from your trash

* We try to conserve energy, a Greening household, so please turn off all lights and fans before you leave a room (including bathrooms, common areas).


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

5 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nathan User Profile
February 2017
We enjoyed our stay here and the location was great! It could have been a little cleaner for the amount of the cleaning fee and the room could have been better described before we got there but overall it was enough for what we needed it for! The host is great and wants to make sure you are having a good time and is very open to suggestions and making everything great!

Miriam Aline User Profile
January 2017
We loved to stay at John's Place! John is a great host and helped us out with every possible question we had. and we got fresh papaya every morning! The Whale room is really nice and the view from the terrace is breathtaking! Would definitely come back!

Corey User Profile
December 2015
This place was great. Beautiful view from up on the hillside out across the ocean. I especially liked waking up and having coffee outside with the fresh fruit provided by John and looking out at the water with the tropical birds chirping. It is only one room with two beds (the pictures made it look much bigger than it actually was) but this was perfect for our purposes. Lots of small things provided by John which makes many things much easier (little things like coffee filters, aluminum foil, etc.) Keep in mind that this is in Kona so walking distances to places, including the beach, is pretty far (I strongly recommend renting a car on the big island, especially if you don't like walking up steep hills). In summary, I would highly recommend this place and the price is very good considering what you get.

Marcel User Profile
December 2012
John itself is a nice guy and he tries to keep at least the sleeping room clean. But except from that the whole property is a mess. To a certain point, we had a premonition of that, as the pictures are just too stylish (and in the end, almost do not reflect the real conditions at the place at all). The reason why we booked that place was that we couldn’t get a rental car for our last two days on the island and had to find an accommodation that provides us a pick-up service from the airport and back where we had had to return our rental car before. The biggest concern we had was the cleanliness especially on the terrace that functions as the kitchen. Half of the kitchen table were placed with old fruits and residues, so that ants were still the more enjoyable guests (in total we killed three cockroaches). Everything, starting by the refrigerator up to the dishes were sticky and dirty and even our attempt to clean the dishes failed us we could not find any dish liquid or sponge (John does not live on that property to get some from him). Without a car, the distance to the next shops and coast takes around an hour by foot, and is not really pleased as you have to cross a busy road and just walk up or downhill. Considering that we had 6 Airbnb accommodations on our trip and this one was the most expensive, it was sadly by far the worst stay. We are sorry to say that but we cannot recommend that stay if not essential things will change.
John User Profile
Response from John:
Thanks for your insights improvements made. Hawaii provides some great spaces out side , wonderful sunsets, warm days , and unlike the cold climates you have to clean up right away or the geckos and other visitors will come outside. It was great to help Marcel with many free rides, yes we do recommend a car, We decided to just have the table up in the shared area when people use it , so it will not gather a mess, and separate cooking areas so people don't forget their things out there. Maybe a warning label on the kau oranges as they are so juicy that they make more of a mess than any other fruit we have- but they sure are good. Always a good idea to ask if you have trouble finding something too- even on breif visits like Marcels. A neat Factiod; is that the perculture gardens though they seam more wild, are more messy looking, dryer jungle looking - they actaully are alive, are a treasure and produce alot of edible fruit, veggies, and herbs. My hope is that a guest will be inspired and start a edible micro garden tour or garden of their own. Its hard to share Hawaii's weath ;the history , agraculture , places and permaculture with guests when they only stay a day or 2. Best to stay at least 1-2 weeks to really get a feel of Hawaii.
December 2012

Jennifer User Profile
October 2012
This location is a couch surfer's dream, but falls short of expectations of a bed and breakfast. The breakfast baskets were phenomenal with fresh fruit grown on property. John and his beautiful daughter are very friendly and passionate about running a bed and breakfast. Unfortunately, there was an obvious issue with cleanliness (coffee grounds in coffee cups from a previous stay) and quite a bit of clutter (two closets with miscellaneous items that may have been fun or useful if they were organized instead of shoved messily, and several piles of items in the main room covered with colorful sheets in attempts to conceal them). There was ample storage space for toiletries and clothes, but the space was take up by personal property of the owner (presumably). The room is on the second floor above some more permanent/monthly tenants who smoked pot and cigarettes on a daily and nightly basis and had pleasant but fairly loud conversations. The room also shares a wall with John's living space, so you have to walk past his private area to get to the room. There are windows and sliding glass doors on the entire entry side of the room which is beautiful for the view. Since there isn't air-conditioning, everyone leaves their windows open, which is great for enjoying the tropical climate, but pretty dramatically reduces privacy since the curtains are all sheer and there are so many people in such close quarters. It was obvious that someone had entered the room on a daily basis, though there were not any bedding or cleaning services. The unit has it's own toilet and very small showering space attached. It also has one kitchen size sink just outside the restroom, a coffee maker, and a very small (2ft x 2ft) refrigerator with a little freezer compartment. The walk to the beach is about 30 minutes steeply downhill. If you have a bike or a rental car (see Jason at Budget/Avis at the airport for a good deal. Tell him Jen from Vegas sent you!) you will be much more mobile than if you try to walk everywhere. We usually stay in hotels like motel 6, budget suites or quality inn and suites because it's affordable and we don't spend that much time in the room anyway. We were not looking for luxury, but we also didn't realize we would be walking into a space that felt like a messy spare room where miscellaneous junk is stored because there wasn't room anywhere else. I would be embarrassed to have a friend crash for free in a room like that, much less, charge people for it. There were hotels there for a comparable price. Next time we will stay in one of those. John was very quick to provide extra towels when asked and followed up to make sure we didn't need anything else. The space has tremendous potential. I sincerely hope that John spends a little extra time and energy to help it achieve its potential.
John User Profile
Response from John:
Thanks Jen for your compliments on the Breakfast., and the great insights - we made some changes and more since then Bottom line do your research , find the place you want with the level of service you want , and ask or inform your host of any concerns so they can help you address them. Jen might be better with a hotel or bnb in the 149-365 range happy travels everyone Gio Just to be clear We are not a Bed and Breakfast Inn they charge 78-224 and often are more exclusive/ offering daily service - look at holulloa inn- usually they actually say bnb in the name We only charge charged Jen 42.50 a day at a specail discount rate. For the price no hotels offer what we do. To even come close they start at 79-124, avg rake rate for hotels in kona i am told is 149 Local Hotels just do not have all the perks even at a greater price that we do, we did the research, and a real comparision. except 149-224 - no breakfast though We do ask guests who smoke in public areas or make regular after hours disruption to go as it infers with other guests. We ask guests to find other places who do not abide with the hawaii laws. It is important that we follow what guests ask for Guests do not always agree with what thier co guests request or share with us. We where following requests her party for limited service, with that said it is always good to ask for your needs to let staff or a host the opportunity to help you. We like to help and make your stay comfortable and safe. If a guest has concerns they need to share them with the staff or the host , seems strange that nothing was reported to us. when you have a group stay like she did it can be disorenting and unorganized with different guests in your own party moving things around. We where asked to not enter the room and we did not . We offered to clean on numerious occasions to her co guest who prefered limited service, and never told her. Bottom line do your research , find the place you want with the level of service you want , and ask or inform your host of any concerns so they can help you happy travels everyone Gio
October 2012

This host has 104 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in November 2009
John User Profile

I am a bit of an eclectic person, I like to do cultural travel, grow tropical exotic fruit, definately into the whole health and wellness thing. I've found that I really enjoy the hosting aspect of having people come into my home and us get to know each other over the course of their stay. Maybe it's the massage therapist in me but I really enjoy the satisfaction that comes with providing a good experience for my guests, be it good advice on what to see and do, brewing fresh coffee in the morning, or having everything clean, ready, and in order when guests arrive. Having traveled a lot myself (staying in everything from hostels and guesthouses to five-star hotels), I know only too well what kinds of things are important to me in a homestay -- conveint location,clean linens, a comfy bed, helpful people that turn me onto the to do's of the place and a hot shower after a long day of traveling or sightseeing. Oh, and a friendly host, of course.. I really, really enjoy living on the Big Island of Hawaii and know it pretty well. I'm amazed every day that a place as special as this exists and that I get to call it home and I'm thrilled when I get to share it with others. Hope to see you soon!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings