Sunny work areaSmall private bathroom with shower
Upstairs - Queen-sized bed and private bathroom
Upstairs - Queen-sized bed and private bathroom
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This room is about 12 ft. X 18 ft. and has two windows and a queen-sized 4-poster bed, and it adjoins a small dressing/working/sitting area with a desk and glass doors that go out onto a large porch - the porch itself is a work area and not accessible at the moment . A small private bathroom is located off of this space - it is a tiny little bathroom with shower and toilet, and the sink and another mirror are in the dressing area. The room with glass doors gets lots of bright morning light.

The space

This room is located upstairs in a private house in a quiet and tree-shaded neighborhood containing many older homes from the early decades of the 20th century. The house is on a street sloping steeply down Red Mountain, and the room is upstairs - there are 12 steps going up to the house and 14 steps going up the stairs inside the house. The homeowners live in the house, and there are an additional two rooms upstairs and one room downstairs that may be rented at any given time. Originally, this large room was connected by a door to one of the other upstairs rooms, but we have this door locked. We strive for a quiet atmosphere in the home, since many of our guests get up early to work in the area. Upon request, we are glad to share our kitchen resources, as well as espresso and spring water.

Guest access

The kitchen is available. We appreciate it if you let us know in advance if you expect to need the kitchen for food preparation. There is a big round table in the front room which can be used as a work space, and the front porch is also available.

Interaction with guests

Please feel free to ask for information.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 8PM
Check out by 11AM

We welcome travelers of all kinds, including children and families. We have a couple of lively dogs, and we generally discourage pets for that reason, although it's open to negotiation. As for check-in and check-out, we really appreciate any information about when you expect to be arriving and when you expect to check out. We assume that guests will arrive sometime between 5 and 8 and leave by 11 in the morning, but we are flexible and can arrange for you to pick up a key. No smoking indoors, please, but we do have a front porch for smokers. The kitchen can be used for simple meal preparation, if necessary, between about 7 and 9 (breakfast) and 5 to 8 (evening) - no microwave is available, however. In general, the atmosphere of the house is quiet between 11 at night and 6 in the morning. Let us know if you have questions!

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Availability
1 night minimum stay

115 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rob User Profile
September 2017
Nice space, host was available and flexible

Sarah User Profile
August 2017
The room was spacious and quiet! I love the neighborhood around there.

Andreas User Profile
August 2017
Location was great for me, close to Uab. The house and the neighborhood is very interesting and charming. I liked my room with the private shower, all I needed and what I was looking for. Go and talk to Robin and her Husband, they are a very nice couple. I can recommend

Wouter User Profile
August 2017
Great stay at Robin's place. Very kind and helpfull. Nice quiet neighbourhood. To get around you will probably need a car. Tip: Al Barria is a nice Mexican restaurant.
Robin User Profile
Response from Robin:
Thank you, Wouter!
August 2017

Merikay User Profile
August 2017
Our room was very spacious, clean & comfortable! Robin has taken time with amenities to make sure we were comfortable. We love our he charm of staying in old houses. We walked to a neighborhood BBQ , Dreamland, that was wonderful!

Bryan User Profile
August 2017
Stayed here two weeks. Comfortable and affordable place to sleep. Folks are very nice.

Kenny User Profile
July 2017
Great area, friendly host! Room was comfortable for the night.

This host has 430 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Birmingham, Alabama, United StatesJoined in March 2011
Robin User Profile

We are a couple with 4 grown children. We work as teachers and writers, and we like reading and listening to music. We are Americans, and we originally met in Vienna, Austria and can communicate in German, as well as some in French. We enjoy meeting people!

Languages: Deutsch, English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings