Lounge with large, extremely comfortable L-shaped sectional, piano, and hammock swings for kids!Third bedroom/Nursery (access is through Main bedroom)
Historic 3BD Cottage, steps to CBD

Entire home/flat

5 guests

3 bedrooms

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Bright and tastefully decorated 1890s 3 bedroom cottage in historic Thorndon. Steps to both the Town Belt and the Botanical Gardens, as well as the shops, cafes, restaurants, and pubs along Tinakori Road (Wellington City's original settlement). Ideal location and lovely home that can easily cater to school-aged children.

The space

Lounge with large couch, reading chair, piano, etc.
Main bedroom overlooking garden with very comfortable Queen-sized bed.
Two smaller bedrooms: one with single bed and separate entrance, and a second "nursery" bedroom accessed off the main room with a bunk bed.
Large eat-in kitchen, fully equipped.
Shower over bath with instant hot water heater.

Guest access

High Speed Fibre / Wifi, Sonos music system, large television with Netflix and over 200 iTunes purchased movies, plus the piano!

Interaction with guests

I rent out my house on AirBnB when I go out of town so, unfortunately, it's likely that I won't be here to greet you. I always check-in with guests soon after they arrive and am available over phone/text/email/AirBnB messaging over the duration of their stay.

Other things to note

Parking is tough in Thorndon because it's so close to the city. You can purchase coupons for parking on Tinakori Rd if you are driving to Wellington, but you really don't need a car if you stay here.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Bedroom 3
1 bunk bed

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 4
Check In: 3PM - 2AM (next day)
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people £11 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee £38
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 2AM (next day)

You must also acknowledge
No parking on property - Coupon parking on Tinakori Road is $7.50/day. See: https://wellington.govt.nz/services/parking-and-roads/parking/ways-you-can-pay/coupon-parking
Amenity limitations - My daughter's room (the original nursery) is connected to mine, i.e. there is no separate entrance.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mike User Profile
July 2017
Sarah cancelled our accomodation on the day we were due to arrive. This was very disappointing as it was a trip we had planned weeks ahead as a treat for our kids during the school holidays. AirBNB were helpful, and tried to find us alternative accommodation , but none responded in time. We live a 5 hour drive away. Sarah's emails a couple of days prior, changed from "we are rethinking our travel plans" to , on the day " my child is vomiting", and that she had to cancel. If you cannot commit to providing accommodation, and upset other peoples travel plans, then expect bad reviews. My advice to others looking at this place to book with caution.

William User Profile
July 2017
Sarah's apartment was in a very central location with an easy walk to the city centre It was also perfect for any event at Eden Park Sarah was also easily contactable and very helpful with any queries

Cat User Profile
June 2017
We had a great stay in Sarah's lovely house - a great location for us and a very easy check in and out process with good communication from Sarah throughout.

Michelle User Profile
January 2017
Great stay. The house is well equipped and beautiful. Thanks, Sarah.

Mitch User Profile
January 2017
This was such a great stay its hard to know where to start! Clean, comfortable and well-equipped and with access to a great entertainment centre and a pick of films and music. The garden was a lovely sun-trap, and the neighbourhood was quiet and peaceful. But it was just a short walk into the city, or up to the Botanical gardens. If the walk didn't appeal, buses were plentiful and the No.3 in particular seemed to go most places we wanted to go. The area has its own historic trail, and the few local shops and bar were good value. Thanks Sarah, this was a great start to our NZ trip, and one of the best places we've stayed.

Amber User Profile
January 2017
Sarah's place is like a home away from home. Sarah was really easy to organise with and our stay went off without a hitch. The house is super comfortable, stylish and well equipped and overall has a super light and relaxed feel. Quality bathroom products, comfy beds and an easy to use kitchen made it a really enjoyable. Our younger daughter (8) loved the stay with the bucket of blocks and the hammock to kick back in. Being able to watch movies and shows was great for the evenings we didn't venture out. The surrounding neighbourhood was really sweet. The Town Belt walk behind the house was like a little escape within the city as was the Botanical Gardens opposite. There is no immediate on-street parking which was fine for us with older children but possibly something to consider for little people or less mobile folk. We also used Uber a heap which was a great - cheap and fast option for this spot. As a regular visitor to Wellington we really look forward to our next stay at Sarah's place.

Dan User Profile
July 2016
Great little place, very well kept, clean, warm and homely. Sarah was a pleasure to communicate with, always prompt and friendly in her replies. Location is perfect for tourists or business, being close to the CBD and it's tourist attractions with good restaurants and pubs just down the hill.

Wellington, New ZealandJoined in April 2015
Sarah User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings