George and Mildred
Old Croft Caravan
Hosted by Emma
Emma is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
Private half-bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
Private half-bath
You won’t be charged yet

Small 3 berth caravan next to my house, located on the main road opposite Kirkton Bay , 5 miles from the Skye Bridge. Woodland, mountains, wonderful wildlife. Ideal pitstop for backpackers! Not suitable for children. Self catering, bring sleeping bags.

The space

The caravan is located in the yard just behind my house. It has hot and cold running water, gas and electric. Bedding is not provided so please bring a sleeping bag. The space can accommodate 3 but you need to be good friends as it is very small. At one end there is a table and chairs that convert into bunk beds, and at the other there are 2 sofas that can be used as either single beds or be made into a double.
This is a self catering listing so please remember food. There is a fridge, oven, grill, 3 hobs, toaster and small slow cooker, as well as pots and pans etc. The bathroom is typical of a towing caravan, ie, tiny. There is no mobile signal here so please ask if you need to use the phone. There is WIFI available although it can be patchy at times. There are chickens, cats and dogs here, all very friendly.

Guest access

the garden is large and jungle like. The trampoline, swings, ropes and hammocks are there for my children. Please be careful if walking around.

Interaction with guests

Although I am here most of the time I work from home. I have students most afternoons between 3 and 6. During these times I will be unavailable.

Other things to note

The bathroom is tiny, it is a cassette type toilet and there is a tap that can be used as a spray. There is not much water pressure. There are good shower and laundry facilities in Kyle (5 miles).
This listing is not suitable for children.


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 6PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

I don't mind people smoking outside but it is strictly prohibited inside the caravan.
There are 2 bins outside, one for plastic, paper and tins (blue bin) and one for all other rubbish (green bin).
The toilet is a cassette type which I have to empty in the house so please do not put anything other than human waste and tissue paper into it.
You must bring sleeping bags and towels as these are not provided.
The local shop closes at 7pm except on Sunday when it shuts at 6pm. There is a supermarket in Kyle (5miles) which is open until 11pm.
We have very little outdoor lighting and there is no street lighting at all, so please bring a torch.
It can be very wet here at times so please don't wear your best shoes on arrival!! Also, the yard not only contains the caravan, but a large trampoline, a container garden that the children are working on as part of their education, a pond, a wood store and a potting station, therefore, please be careful when walking around.
Water to the caravan is provided by a tank filled from a hose. If the water runs out you must switch all taps off to prevent the pump from burning out, let me know and I will refill immediately or you can do it yourself as the hose is located in an obvious position. This water is filtered, however, for your convenience I will also provide tap water from the house in large bottles.
During the summer, the highlands are renowned for the dreaded midge, therefore I would advise that you bring repellent spray, keep windows and doors closed (or at least keep the net blinds down). Midge hoods and sprays are available at the local shop.
Please remember that this is a small towing caravan and so very basic.
Please leave it clean and tidy and wash any pots that you use.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - couple of steps to door of caravan.
Pet(s) live on property - dogs, cats, chickens
No parking on property - sometimes there is room to park onsite, otherwise free parking is available a short walk away.
Amenity limitations - weak water pressure - hot spray but no shower. No mobile phone signal. The wifi can be patchy. Self catering. Bedding is not provided.

Cancellations

65 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Julie User Profile
September 2017
We stayed one night in the caravan, it was exactly as described in the post. It's clean and tidy, and Emma is really nice.

Emma User Profile
August 2017
warm welcome, small and simple caravan, easy to get to, Emma thought of everything you'd need, , might need midge repellant...but it is Scotland!

Nils User Profile
August 2017
Emma is a fab host, very friendly and full of local knowledge. The caravan is basic but warm and dry and kept the midges off. We loved the thoughtful extras and poppy the dog. The location is beautiful with some lovely walks nearby and allowed us to explore Skye in a cost effective way.

Fahad User Profile
July 2017
Great place the view outside is amazing, so close to the Isle of Skye, not to mention the shunty pitch just across the road. Would definitely recommend.
Emma User Profile
Response from Emma:
welcome anytime. Best guests yet!
July 2017

Daniel User Profile
June 2017
Satnav sent us to the wrong place which was frustrating. Once we got there we were very impressed, spacious and oven/stove. No shower but the block in Kyle was very close and well maintained. Very happy with our stay.

Tarrick User Profile
June 2017
Our host was really friendly and informative as to facilities available at the accommodation and in the nearby village. The caravan was cosy, spacious (for two). It was warm, well insulated, and the kitchenette was well stocked and made for comfortable self catering. The best thing about the site was its closeness to the Skye bridge which was absolutely ideal to use as a base to explore the Isle.

Stephnaie User Profile
June 2017
This spot was a perfect over night stay to break our journey on the way to Skye. Emma's review of the caravan is as she's says basic but definitely equipped with anything you might need. Excellent host meeting us as we arrived and made our stay very easy.

Joined in June 2015
Emma User Profile
I am a private piano tutor working from my home on the glorious West Coast of Scotland. I have 2 children, 2 dogs, a cat and lots of chickens. We love exploring our local area which is always full of inspiration and magical nuances. I am new to Airbnb but am very much looking…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings