cozy bedroom in the heart of west asheville
cozy bedroom in the heart of west asheville


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Have your own private sleeping quarters just a stone's throw from everything West Asheville has to offer! You can surprisingly enjoy a quiet walk down my street; however at the end of the street is Haywood-home to numerous cafes, bars, & restaurants! Additionally, you are just over 2 miles from downtown and 10 min from the BlueRidge Prkwy. In 'TheSpace' click on 'more' & read everything under Guest Access, & if you have questions or need details, please message me via AirBnB prior to booking.


Amenities

Prices
Security Deposit: £76
Weekly Discount: 17%
Weekend Price: £55 / night

Description

The space

Your 'home away from home' is a medium-sized dwelling which was built around 1930. Although I am an acupuncturist not an artist, I have been told that my home has a warm, artsy feel to it. Currently, I cannot afford a landscaper so please do not be put off by my somewhat 'wild' front yard. The house is in an excellent location & has an arts-n-crafts stye charm, without being extravagant! After clicking on 'more' & reading everything under guest access, if you have questions or need more details, please message me via AirBnB prior to booking.

Guest access

In addition to your own private bedroom with DOUBLE bed, closet, & dresser, you will have shared access to a full bathroom, full kitchen, spacious living room, & front porch. The kitchen has every spice (& interesting & ethnic cookbook) & gadget that you would ever want, & probably some you had not previously discovered. There is room in the refrigerator for your perishables. The washer & dryer are in the cluttered unfinished part of the basement, which is designated for storage only. I do allow guests to use them if needed, especially those with longer stays; however, please remember that this is an area not considered to be part of guest access normally, & compassionately refrain from judgement on the clutter. The bathroom is shared with another Airbnb room when occupied. The bathroom entrance is adjacent to your bedroom but not in it. Some of the fake tile in the shower is PERMANENTLY stained, but it is ALWAYS clean. Although there is NO CABLE, the house has Wi-Fi & there is a TV & DVD player in the living room. Any movie that you can view online on your pc can also be watched on the TV in the living room (I have a cable for attaching a pc to a computer). My super comfy grandmother's couch in the living room has some rips in the upholestry (it is one of my next expensive projects to conquer when I can afford it). but sit on it and you will love it!

Interaction with guests

Communication is the key to any good living environment! Please, if you have any question, complaint, or suggestion, no matter how big or small, please communicate this with me as soon as possible so that it may be resolved. If I am in the basement or not at home, text or call me because I will always have my phone on ANYtime day or night. Open communication is my main house rule! I am fun-loving & easily approachable. I am an acupuncturist & Chinese herbalist and sometimes work at home. I love people (especially meeting new ones!) and equally love time alone. I will give you privacy to do your own thing; however, when needed, I love to share my knowledge & enthusiasm for Asheville and all it has to offer (among other things, the mountains & waterways, the culinary bounty, the live music scene, &the arts). Occasionally, when time permits & invited, I may join you for a meal or a visit.

The neighbourhood

You will be less than 15minutes from the Biltmore & the Blue Ridge Parkway! (Sometimes I get discounted tickets to the Biltmore so if interested, please ask). And you are less than 10 minutes from the French Broad river & the river park. Additionally, many restaurants & bars are within WALKING distance. There are 7 local restaurants/bars at the end of this street (and Sunny Point Cafe and The Admiral are just a few blocks away ). Also within walking (actually skipping, its that close) distance are a grocery store, health food store (the West Village Market), post office, & library (also an eccentric video rental store, Orbitz, that still thrives even with all the online amenities such as Netflix). It is a quiet street for walking, but at the end of it lies a bustling night life with bars & live music- The ISIS Music Hall is one such place. Several bars are conveniently stumbling distance from your sleeping quarters.

Getting around

You will only be 2miles from Asheville's downtown, and you actually are in the heart of downtown West Asheville. So you can bike & walk most places. Additionally, ubers are both easy to get & affordable, & there is a bus stop at the end of the street.

Other things to note

My home is not child-proofed. I may consider having a baby or young child as a guest if it is discussed prior to my accepting a reservation. Pets only under VERY special circumstances! When there is room in the house, I consider additional guests for an extra fee ($30/night additional for the extra person, but keep in mind, the bed is not large enough for 3people. For adding a second room, $50/night).


House Rules
Not suitable for pets

After 2guests for the room, each additional guest is $30/night (this pertains to whether they sleep on the floor, in the crowded bed, or on the living room couch). It is helpful if additional guests are discussed prior, but the payment can also be made after. Be aware that there is a bedroom next to your's, so if there is any socializing that is not quiet, it should be reserved for the living room or kitchen. I want you to feel at home in my home! During your stay, clear communication is my main house guideline. I am easily approachable so please communicate via text, phone, or face-to face with any questions, concerns, or suggestions so that I may attempt to resolve them. Both open communication & privacy can exist together. The only other thing that I ask is that you do your dishes after you use them and try not to leave unnecessary lights on. Although cigarettes are not allowed indoors, you may smoke on the front porch, but please be respectful that this is a family neighborhood & any subject matter discussed on the front porch is often clearly heard by others.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

58 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rachael User Profile
April 2017
Lee was an excellent host! Made it very easy for my family to get in and has a spot in a great location.

Chris User Profile
April 2017
Great place, real close to downtown West avl and quiet!

Tom User Profile
March 2017
Lee is very helpful and accomodating to her guests. Her location is extremely beneficial for those wanting to walk to some cool spots.

Matthew User Profile
February 2017
This was my first time staying in West Asheville. It was really nice that I could walk to some cool places right down the street. Lee is a wonderful host!

Dwight User Profile
January 2017
Lee does a great job of communicating all the necessary information. The house is in a quiet residential area but is also close to many restaurants in West Asheville.

Louis User Profile
December 2016
This place is everything the description says it is: comfortable, convenient and located in a great neighborhood. Lee was the perfect host. She was always asking how my stay was going and she is a great communicator.

Judith User Profile
November 2016
A great location in West Ashville, walking distance to health food grocery, cafe, and yoga studio, as well as to my son's house who I was visiting. Private and quiet room. Lee was helpful, friendly, and very responsive with accurate communication. I would be happy to stay here again.

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Asheville, North Carolina, United States · Joined in April 2015
Lee User ProfileLee is a superhost.

I am a 45 yr old female. I lived in WY near the Tetons for 13 yr and now reside in Asheville, NC. My job is my passion; I am an acupuncturist (& also a science enthusiast) & work with my patients using vitamins, herbs, & nutrition. I love to travel & meet people & enjoy delicious &/or interesting food, and love music & the outdoors. I especially love anything to do with the water! (I used to coach swimming& swam competitively). I love world music, funk, and bluegrass. Like I said , I love to travel but these days I am limited due to my work (which I love) and needing to be closer to my parents (who I used to never see when I was away from the South most of the time).

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.