convenient for the universities
convenient for the universities
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

My guest-room has its own separate entrance, and its own bathroom with shower and toilet, and secure, off-street parking. It includes a kettle, fridge and microwave oven. The room is spacious and light. It opens onto a patio, with a lovely, secluded garden view.

The space

The room is homely, and the decor reflects my travels in Africa and Europe. It has a small collection of books, from which guests are welcome to borrow. It also includes a small kitchen unit, including a microwave oven, a fridge, kettle and basic crockery and cutlery. Security is excellent.

Guest access

Guests have access to my private, secluded and safe garden for their personal use. Inexpensive restaurants in Melville are within easy reach

Interaction with guests

As a seasoned traveler off the beaten track myself, I hope to offer guests an insight into the quirky and lesser known side of Johannesburg, including unusual and inexpensive eating out options, best bookshops, music venues, what to see and how to do it all on a shoestring.

Other things to note

I have two cats, but they need not intrude on your stay if you do not like cats.

As there is a patio and steps, the accommodation is not suitable for very young children, i.e. under 4 years of age, or for a disabled or elderly person who finds climbing a single flight of steps difficult.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Heating
Kitchen
Free parking on premise

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 10AM

1. The room is a non-smoking one, but guests can smoke on the patio outside the room.
2. The guest-room is not suitable for young children because there are steps up to a patio, which could be dangerous for young children.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Philip User Profile
January 2017
A wonderful, relaxing space with a beautiful garden and friendly host; I loved it. So much so I extended my stay! It's a good neighbourhood, and walking distance to Melville where you find bars, shops, and excellent cafes - or take an Uber for 30 rand. Highly recommended :)

Floor User Profile
November 2016
I stayed with Rob for three weeks while doing PhD research at the University of Johannesburg and Wits. Rob is a very welcoming and friendly host, always easy to contact and happy to respond to questions or give advice on what to do in Joburg. He even cooked a delicious dinner for me on my last evening! The guest-room is modern, clean, and well-furnished - it is ideal for guests who like to have some privacy while still sharing the outdoor spaces. Westdene is a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood, I enjoyed walking to the University and to the shops and restaurants in Melville. It is also in walking distance from the bus stop, which takes you to most other parts of Joburg. I would definitely recommend this listing!

Lauren User Profile
September 2016
Rob was so great! He reached out early for information about my travel, and even had dinner hot and ready for me when I arrived! The little fridge was stocked with snacks and breakfast foods, although I was almost always on the run so I couldn't enjoy them. The room was quite private and access to the garden was great. The place is quite close to Melville (1.5USD tuk-tuk ride, or a 2USD uber ride), and all the shops and cafes there. It made for a very comfortable extended work stay, and Rob made it very easy to come and go as I needed. I would definitely stay again!

Samantha User Profile
October 2015
Serene and relaxing accommodation in a trendy neighborhood. Rob goes out of his way to make sure your stay goes smoothly.

Johannesburg, South AfricaJoined in April 2015
Rob User Profile
Gay professional, living in a vibrant city, with lots of cultural offerings. In my own travelling I have particularly enjoyed the company of local people and taking the roads less travelled, especially couchsurfing. Favourite cities include Hanoi, Budapest, Istanbul, Dublin, …
Languages: Deutsch, English

The neighbourhood

Similar listings