sunny garden viewyou'll find info on local happenings as well as a handy guidebook and map in your room

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
351 travellers saved this place

About this listing

A friendly and welcoming family home in the heart of Bristol's greenest inner city neighbourhood. We love travelling and take pride in making our home a comfortable retreat for guests, we hope you'll come and stay with us soon!

The space
The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: £10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 18%
Cancellation: Strict


The space

We live on a quiet street in the arty neighbourhood of St Werburghs, a short walk (20 minutes) from Bristol city centre, Montpelier/Stokes Croft or Glos Rd and there are plenty of lovely things to do nearby, including drinking in the atmosphere at one of our wonderful local pubs! This double room overlooks the garden and is delightfully bright and sunny, with high quality cotton sheets and duck down bedding on the very comfortable bed. To make sure we are able to honour all reservations, we only accept bookings within three months of the reservation date.

I've tried to cover everything I could think of in this listing, but if I've left anything out or if you have any questions please do feel free to ask. I respond to all enquiries and booking requests as fast as possible, almost always within a couple of hours.

This room can comfortably fit a single person or couple and an additional young child/baby at a squeeze (no charge for children under 5). We have a single room available on a separate listing: and we are able to host three adults or a family of four (with an additional travel cot or bed in the single room) between the two rooms, but both rooms must be booked separately (please message me to arrange this). We are very family/child friendly and if you need a blow-up mattress or travel cot, for your little one(s) you're more than welcome to use them, just let us know before you arrive so we can set them up in advance.

Guest access

You are renting a private room in a family home. We do our very best to ensure that your room is spotless and comfortable at all times.
We provide:
* free wifi
* your own 24" tv with cable box and wifi connection
* tea and coffee on tap
* clean Egyptian cotton linens and towels
* a variety of pillows to suit different firmness levels in goose/duck feather & down
* an all season duvet (which can be adjusted from 4 to 13.5 tog, depending on how warm you like it)
* anti-allergen duvet and pillows also available, just ask
* electric blanket
* hairdryer
* use of fully fitted kitchen
* use of washer and dryer
* easy to find *free* on street parking

This lovely room is furnished with a desk and chair, bookshelves, double bed and room to store your things in the wardrobe. We hope to help make travelling a bit easier, so you'll find a universal travel adaptor and a hairdryer in your room. Clean linens and towels are provided and spare towels and blankets are in the bottom of your wardrobe if needed.

Guests share a bathroom with bath and over bath shower and are welcome to use the kitchen and cook meals while you're here, but we ask that you fit cooking around family meal times and realise that this is our home and communal areas are lived in and not always pristine (though your room will be!).

Please note that a catered breakfast is no longer included but you are welcome to help yourself to tea, coffee, cereal or toast in the mornings. There is a great cornershop literally on the corner where you can get more breakfasty things, or the best local breakfast can be enjoyed in the St Werburghs City Farm Cafe, a short walk away.

Interaction with guests

We both work so may be quite busy during the week, but we try very hard to make you feel comfortable and at home while you stay with us and are always happy to give advice and directions. Some guests enjoy feeling part of our sometimes chaotic family and others prefer to have a bit more space, we'll do our best to get the balance right while you're here.

The neighbourhood

The area - St Werburghs:
I know I'm biased, but St Werbs is by far my favourite part of Bristol. It's urban, edgy, multi-cultural and eco-friendly. We might be inner city, but we've got a super villagey type feel. There's a surprising amount of green space considering we're a mile from the centre with some lovely walks to be had (which we'd be happy to guide you towards or even take you on, time permitting). The St Werburghs City Farm is a brilliant place to take your little ones or to enjoy a terrific meal. Just down the road you'll find Undercover Rock - a climbing centre in the old St Werburghs church. There are also several very good pubs nearby (the Duke of York is my personal fave, but the Farm Pub is also good fun and often has live music), some good cafes and take aways and loads of arty things happening year round such as the St Werburghs Art Trail or regular craft fairs at the Farm and the community centre.

There is a post office, a corner shop and several delicious take outs literally around the corner, and a park at the end of the road. We're a very short (five minutes) walk from the Bristol climbing centre, St Werburghs city farm and the Better Food Company, an award winning organic supermarket. Within ten-fifteen minutes walk you'll find Cabot Circus (city centre shopping area with Cinema de Lux), Montpelier/Stokes Croft and St Andrews park/Glos Rd, perhaps the country's longest road of independent shops.

Getting around

We're just off the M32 and about a mile from the central bus station, so very convenient and easy to find. We are close to two local bus lines - the 5 and 70. The 5 bus stops around the corner, goes straight to the city centre. In the other direction it passes the Eastville Shopping Centre (Tescos, Ikea, etc) and onto Horfield. The 70 bus is a short walk up Ashley Down Hill and runs through the centre to Temple Meads. We are a 12 minute walk to the Montpelier train station, which goes to Bristol Temple Meads in one direction and Clifton Down in the other (handy for Whiteladies Rd, the University and the BBC). The University of Bristol is less than 2 miles or a 35 minute walk away. Despite being so close to the action, our street is surprisingly quiet and there is plenty of free on-street parking nearby.

Other things to note

We have a dog and small children in the home, both are used to and respectful of our guests and (usually) well behaved, but if you dislike either we're probably not the place for you.

We let two rooms on Airbnb. If you wish to book for three people the rate listed here is not correct: the double and single rooms must be booked separately at the rates listed - 2 guests in the double and 1 in the single.

We require that guests have verified IDs (just like us) as you'll be staying in our family home. This means you will have to upload a government issued ID on the desktop (not mobile) site. If this is your first time booking on Airbnb and you are having trouble with the verification process, please get in touch and I will try to help.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions before or after booking.

House Rules
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is after 5PM

We're a friendly and easy going family, we want you to be as comfortable as possible and to really enjoy your time with us. We do have a few rules as this is our family home and we live here.

Tell us a bit about yourself when you book - who you are, who you are booking for and anything that might be relevant to your stay. Thank you!

Children, families, friends and couples are all welcome, but any additional guests or visitors to the house are subject to prior arrangement only.

No smoking in the house, but you are welcome to smoke in the garden if you wish. No illegal drug use anywhere on the property.

Please take shoes off before you go upstairs.

You may use the washing machine or dryer while you are here, one load per stay/week is free, £5 per load thereafter.

Wi-Fi is free and unlimited.

The house is usually quiet from about 7pm in the evening. You will have your own set of keys and are very welcome to come and go as you like while you are here, but we ask that you do so quietly after the kids have gone to sleep.

Please make yourself at home while you are staying - you are welcome to use the common areas and cook in the kitchen as long as you clean up after yourself and are generally mindful of other users.

You'll be emailed information about finding the house and parking when you book. In your room, you will find a very complete manual with information about the house, how to connect to the wireless internet, how to get around Bristol and our recommendations for places nearby and lots of guidebooks, maps and other information about the area.

***We sometimes have several enquiries for the same dates and unfortunately, as much as we might like to, we can't hold rooms. The first person to book is the one that guarantees the room for those dates.***

Please always feel free to ask any questions before/after booking or throughout your stay - we're always very happy to help.

Safety features
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

Hosted by Natasha & Ed

Bristol, United Kingdom · Joined in September 2012
Natasha & Ed

Thinker, mother, crafter, activist, reader, animal-lover, wanderer, foodie. I'm a researcher and my work is focussed on health inequalities, poverty and social justice. I've spent a lot of time in East and central Africa and am always looking for an excuse to go back... I think I might have left my heart in Tanzania.

We're a family of four with two (mostly) well behaved children and a lovely dog called Freddie. The kids are friendly but know to give our guests space. We often fill our free time with food and friends - love to have people round for a good meal or bake a scrumptious cake to enjoy over a good chat, if you're staying for a more than a few days, no doubt you will be invited to join us one evening.

My husband Ed and I have both lived in different countries and other parts of the UK, due to this Ed speaks Russian and Ukrainian reasonably well and I know very basic Kiswahili. I travel quite a bit for work and we all do as a family for pleasure. I try to stay in Airbnb homes whenever I'm away - to date I've AirBnB'd in 15 countries on four continents :) I've really enjoyed getting to know people in the community and have made some great friends this way.

We've lived in Bristol for over a decade and love it here - it has all the benefits of a city (arts, theatre, music, festivals, great places to eat etc) combined with the community feel and laid back vibe of somewhere a lot smaller. Ed keeps the fort running while I am away for work and it may be that he is your host while I am gone. We enjoy helping our guests find things they might not pick up from a guidebook and hope to share some of our enthusiasm for our adopted city to you. It's a real pleasure and privilege for us to meet the many wonderful people that have come to stay at our home.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections