Completely equipped full kitchen.Entry
Back Again! Popular 5-Star Stay for 3-state Visit!
Back Again! Popular 5-Star Stay for 3-state Visit!

Entire home/flat

6 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Ground floor apartment in converted barn complex. Comfortably sleeps 6 (4 adults maximum). The seasonal pool, courtyard for BBQs and large yard are outside the door, perfect for everything from croquet to snow forts. Conveniently located where NY, MA and VT meet so there's no end to the activities in the area. Get access to our website listing these activities after booking. Rates start at $135 per night. Note: We have a very strict definition of "partying" as well as enforced quiet hours.

The space

Our 1100 sq ft apartment is decorated like a private home, is cool in the summer, and warm and cozy in winter. It features a complete kitchen, living/dining room, bath/laundry, bedroom with queen bed, and sleeping alcove with king bed. It also has a double sleep sofa. There is an enclosed brick courtyard for outdoor dining with a BBQ grill.

Guest access

You do not share this apartment with anyone else. We give you the key to your own ground floor entrance and leave you alone to enjoy all the facilities according to the season and your preferences. With advanced notice late arrivals can most often be accommodated.

Interaction with guests

We no longer live here full time, but we are always available via cell, text or email for any and all questions or recommendations. Occasionally you may notice us entering our studio at the other end of the complex, but we'll respect your privacy at all times. Please arrange your approximate check in time in advance.

Other things to note

Airbnb is now collecting and remitting VT occupancy tax which is included in your total remittance. If we have accepted your dog, we charge $15 per dog per night payable directly to us via credit card ahead of time or in cash upon arrival.

The space
Accommodates: 6
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: 4PM - 9PM
Check Out: 11AM
Property type: Other
Room type: Entire home/flat


Extra people £11 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £65
Security Deposit £608
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price £141 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 9PM

Guests come here for peace and quiet. We expect them to behave properly and to respect this unique space. Babies and children are welcome but the residence and surrounding property is not fully childproof. We do not permit firearms, unregistered visitors, loud noise, boisterous activities, parties or any noise after 11 pm. Unpaid dogs and guests are not allowed and cats are not allowed under any circumstances. Tobacco use is not allowed inside or around the entrances, patios or balcony. We expect pet waste and butts to be removed. Nothing but reasonable amounts of t-paper may be flushed down the toilet due to antique plumbing under a concrete floor. We reserve the right to limit guests to groups that are appropriate for the sleeping arrangements and the infrastructure. We do not discriminate against any group except racists, white supremacists, misogynists, homophobes, xenophobes, career criminals, and terrorists.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - Our dog or that of another guest may be present on the property.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

19 Reviews

Check In
Ian User Profile
September 2017

Brittany User Profile
September 2017
Close to town, feels very private even though its close to a major road. The landscaping and decorating are wonderfully done. Has great outdoor space to swim, grill, eat, and have a fire. You can hear people walking above you, and the hot tub is on the deck to the upstairs unit, so if both units are rented seperatley it can be a little aqward sharing the common spaces outside. But Pat and Gabe where there when we stayed and did their best to give us our privacy. We would stay again, our dog really enjoyed the space and playing with their dog.

Paul User Profile
September 2017
Hi everyone, I wanted to ensure it is clear that this rental is not as described in the listing. While the apartment is beautiful, it is on a ground floor and it is not a private space. There is another apartment directly connected and it has more of a "motel" feel that an idyllic private rental as the listing implies. There is only one window that opens to allow light in the apartment (which is dark) and this window opens into the courtyard, which is the main thoroughfare to the units above. You will be at eye level with people directly outside your window and will have absolutely no privacy, not to mention people coming and going that add noise and distraction. Other than this (kind of major) issue, the apartment itself is nice, was clean and had a wonderful and welcoming caretaker. When we politely pointed out to the owner that she should consider changing the listing to avoid other folks being mislead, she was hostile, argumentative, and tried to accuse us angrily of taking some kind of trinket, which was inappropriate at the least and cast a pretty negative shadow on the final days of our trip. Unless this listing is updated to accurately describe this space, I would caution "buyer beware."
Pat User Profile
Response from Pat:
To begin with there is one ground floor guest apartment and one main residence with an entrance off a second floor balcony, not multiple upstairs units. I've been renting this apartment for 11 years including 8 years when we were living in the main residence. There was probably one or two others, but I don't recall any guests who thought they were renting anything other than a tiny portion of this three-barn complex. I sent Paul's wife's messages to all of the upcoming guests and everyone to a person responded that they understood exactly what they were renting for $135 per night. One upcoming guest thought it was humorous that someone objected to lack of privacy in the courtyard when she said she had no intention of using it, and that the people staying in my former residence had not actually been "coming and going". The listing includes accurate information and locates the property correctly on the map. Paul calls me argumentative because I refuse to change the description after they spent three days discussing this with me. I never accused them of stealing anything, and I will be appealing to Airbnb regarding this defamation. My property manager sent me a picture of a selections of curios but she couldn't find the cabinet they had been in. I simply asked them where they had put it and they told me that they stored it away in one of the dresser drawers. End of story. Oh, and there are two picture windows that have sliders on both ends and three other stationary windows, not just one!
September 2017

Katie User Profile
August 2017
Cute place, great location, very clean

Beth User Profile
August 2017
The home is as described. We enjoyed our stay and left feeling relaxed and refreshed. Highly recommend! The pool was refreshing and our kids loved it.

Alex User Profile
August 2017
Great place, beautiful scenery

Angela User Profile
July 2017
We had a really nice time. This location is great if you love the outdoors.

This host has 88 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Shelton, Connecticut, United StatesJoined in January 2015
Pat User Profile

My husband and I are a photographer / producer combo. In 2006 we converted a Vermont barn complex into a residence, studio and gallery after a 5-year stint in Seattle. But in mid-2014 following the birth of our granddaughter we moved back to Connecticut where we are remodeling a 1980's one-of-a-kind cliff-hanger. We love to travel and meet new people; love reading, movies, music especially blues, jazz and bluegrass; and apparently home renovation. Pat is the world's best cook, and Gabe has the world's best appetite. You can see Gabe's work on demolition studio.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Pat’s place.
Shayna helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings