BedroomOffice corner of the bedroom
Spacious double room in homely flat


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Very spacious double room with office space, in homely first-floor flat (accommodates 2 people).
Located in 'non-touristy' South-East London (Zone 2/3) with easy access to London Bridge.
Shared kitchen, bathroom & living area (with dining table).


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £25
Weekend Price: £45 / night

Description

The space

The bedroom you'll be staying in is very large and located on the top floor of the apartment. It comprises a double bed, an empty chest of drawers, shelves, and a clothes rail for you to use. There is a desk in one corner which is an ideal working space. The room has wooden floors, and there is space for a yoga-mat (or two) if you fancy a work out... yes... that's how spacious it is!

The apartment has a homely, lived-in feel. If you are looking for a place with uniform, sanitised, clinical styling - you'd probably be better off at a travel-lodge! On the other hand it is very spacious and represents extremely good value by London standards - especially when two people are sharing the room!

The average price per day (not including AirBnB or cleaning fees) is just under £37... less than £19 each for two people! The weekly price is £220, which is only £110 each for two people. Bargain!

[Note: different pricing applies at peak times/for special occasions e.g. Christmas, New Year, Easter etc]

Please note: the room and the apartment can very comfortably accommodate two guests, but if the booking is for one person only - a 12.5% discount, on the room rental, will be offered.

Guest access

The shared living-room is on the floor below the bedrooms and is just as spacious as your bedroom. It has a dining table, TV with cable, and a DVD player. Your host reads a lot and has many books - feel free to explore her book collection but please don't take anything with you when you leave!

The kitchen and bathroom (with WC) are on the same floor as the living-room: both are compact. The bathroom has a combined bath and shower with excellent pressure. The kitchen is equipped with a fridge/freezer, toaster and blender, but no microwave. There will be a clear space in the fridge and in one of the cupboards for your groceries.

There is one other bedroom in the property which you will not have access to.

Interaction with guests

You will be met and welcomed on arrival and given details (email and phone number) of a point of contact who can help with any questions or issues that arise during your stay.

During your stay, the second room in the property will usually be inhabited by the host. She won't be around all the time - so sometimes, you will have the place to yourself. When she is there - she will do her best to help with any queries you have. You will not have access to her bedroom which is on the same floor as the room you will be staying in.

The neighbourhood

The apartment is located on a residential street that is home to ordinary working Londoners. It is not a glamorous or fancy part of town, nor is it a nightlife hub - but it is an authentic South London community that is safe, pleasant, and Central London is easily accessible. The are no tourist attractions in the immediate vicinity - Greenwich is the nearest place for sight-seeing (approximately 15 mins away by bus or DLR). In the daytime, Lewisham High Street is busy and vibrant is is a great place to buy fruit and vegetables at very reasonable prices from the local market vendors. At night-time the High Street is very quiet and has a limited offering in terms of bars, pubs, and restaurants.

Getting around

The apartment is near to three rail stations. The nearest is Hither Green, followed by Ladywell, and then Lewisham. Trains to London Bridge run several times per hour and the journey takes between 10-20mins. Lewisham station boasts several bus routes, and is a DLR (Docklands Light Railway) interchange giving you access to Canary Wharf, The Overground Network, and City Airport.

Other things to note

A very friendly cat lives in the apartment. His name is Klaus. He comes and goes through the bathroom window (so please leave it open for him). Under normal circumstances, he will be fed and his litter-tray changed by the host. If the host is away from the apartment for an extended period during your stay, you may be asked to step in and look after the cat in her absence - if this is not possible an alternative arrangement (involving a third party) will be arranged.

The apartment is on the first-floor and split across two levels joined by two flights of stairs... this means it may not be suitable for people with mobility difficulties.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Please take your shoes off when entering the property - there is a place to keep them at the top of the first set of stairs.

Please do not smoke in the property.

To save energy and the environment, please remember to switch off lights when they are not in use.

You are welcome to have one extra overnight guest - they can sleep on the sofa in the living room... but there is an additional charge (which must be paid in advance) of £15 per person per night.

You are responsible for any visitors invited to the property - if they cause any damage, steal anything, or create any other form of nuisance you will be expected to cover the costs and/or rectify the problem/s caused.

No parties please! This means no more than 3 additional visitors can be invited to the property at any one time.

Please be respectful and considerate to the neighbours.

Relax and enjoy yourself!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

4 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Linda User Profile
October 2015
We stayed with Mandu for 3 weeks. Her apartment is big, clean and nice, and the room we stayed in very spacious and comfortable. Throughout our stay Mandu was very helpful and gave us recommendations on where to go/what to see and do in London. Good location - very fast walk to train stations which take you to London Bridge in 10 minutes. In short: very good value for a good price - I warmly recommend staying with Mandu!

Caroline User Profile
October 2015
My boyfriend and I spent two weeks at Mandu's and we absolutely enjoyed our stay! Mandu's flat is spacious and the bedroom very large. It's a spotless place, with everything that you need and a very nice personal touch which make you feel at home quickly. It is the best value for money airbnb you could find in London. Although her flat is not central you won't regret having to walk an extra 10 min from the station to reach her place! Mandu is one of the best host I even meet, she is welcoming, well traveled, open minded, curious and generous. She is there if you need anything (in the flat or find out more about London), but she can be also very discrete and know how to respect your privacy. It has been a lovely encounter! Highly recommended!

Alex User Profile
August 2015
We really enjoyed staying with Mandu. She was extremely helpful, friendly, and made us feel very welcome. The house and the room were clean and had lots of space. The area is great for getting into London and there are lots of shops and restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend staying here. Klaus is a very friendly cat as well and very well-behaved. :)

Maud User Profile
January 2016
Het waren 3 heerlijke nachten in de grote kamer die we huurde in het huis. We werden vriendelijk ontvangen en mochten alle voorzieningen in het huis gebruiken, zoals het strijkijzer en keukenapparatuur. De ruimtes waren schoon en de omgeving was rustig zoals in de beschrijving is vermeld. De buurt bood verschillende opties om te reizen naar het centrum. Het reizen naar het centrum duurde ongeveer 20 minuten met de trein of een uur met de bus (goedkoper).

London, United Kingdom · Joined in October 2012
Mandu User Profile

Woman. 35. Londoner. Love my bike. Love my cat. Love the NHS. Book-glutton. Food adventurer. Red-wino. Feminista. Wannabe runner: it's me against the road. My daydreams look like National Geographic...

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a day

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.