Twin/single room in relaxed house

Private room
2 Guests
2 Beds

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you travelling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Rebecca's place is usually booked.
Chances are...
Rebecca's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Rebecca's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Rebecca has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

A comfortable private room, ideal for 2 friends, in an old house with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Nothing fancy, just a nice, safe, welcoming place to stay when you visit the wonderful city of Edinburgh. Very quick and easy to get to the centre.

Contact Host

Twin/single room in relaxed house

The Space
Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Pet Owner: Cat(s)


Extra people: £10 / night after the first guest
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space

Hi. We have a bright comfortable room available in our friendly house in the Shandon area of the city. The house is close to the centre and on a direct bus route from the airport. We enjoy hosting and offer a relaxed environment where you are welcome to make yourself at home and come and go as you please.

The room is 14 x 10 ft (4 x 3m) and is at the back of the house so it’s quiet. The wardrobe has plenty of space for two and there are bedside tables as well. It gets the main sun later in the day but always seems bright (depending on the weather of course!).

The house is a ‘double upper villa’. That is, it has two floors on an upper level. The guest room is on the lower level. The house was built in 1840 and has some lovely features. There is a shared dining/sitting-room, plus kitchen and bathroom.

We are currently renovating parts of the property (that’s mainly why the price is low). But everything is functional, it is mainly painting and decorating that still needs to be done.

The bathroom has an electric shower, there is central heating, a washing machine, and the kitchen has all necessary equipment and appliances.

Shandon is an interesting area. It’s around 2 miles (3km) from Princes Street and is primarily residential but lively and we have several general shops right on the doorstep that are open late. It is quick and easy to get to the centre (around 15-20 minutes by bus) and there are several bus routes in the area.

We are within walking distance of Haymarket Station, Tollcross, Napier University and the street is on a direct bus route to the Royal Infirmary & Edinburgh University King's Buildings. Nearby is Harrison Park with a playpark for young children, also the Union canal which offers a very pleasant walkway, opportunity to run/jog, or feed the ducks and swans.

There are two of us living here - myself and my son Brendan who is 19. Plus Hugo the cat. We want you to be comfortable and at ease while you’re here and one of us will usually be around to help with anything you need or to answer any questions. Occasionally there may be other guests staying in another room (also listed on here), or family/ friends. You will be informed in advance if that coincides with your dates.

Breakfast is simple and a 'help yourself' affair. There is tea and coffee, cereal and toast. While you're here you are more than welcome to use the kitchen to cook. You will have your own cupboard space and a dedicated shelf in the fridge.

All bedlinen and towels are provided. There is wi-fi. We don’t have a lot of rules except the usual – smoking outside only, no pets (because we have a cat). If you have any questions about things to do, getting to places etc., we'll be happy to help. If you just want maximum privacy and do your own thing, that's absolutely fine too.

We look forward to hearing from you.
All enquiries will be answered promptly!

+ More

House Rules

We don't have many rules, just the usual things:
Smoking outside only please.

Please leave the kitchen and bathroom clean for the next person - wash up your dishes, rinse out the shower etc.

PLEASE don't use the towels to remove make-up! And try not to get it on the bedding. It's the one thing that doesn't wash out. Thank you.

If you come home late, be aware that others in the house and neighbours may be sleeping and need to get up for work the next day.

We recycle as much as we can so following the system in place is helpful.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher
Lock on Bedroom Door

2 nights minimum stay

170 Reviews

Check In

This host has 178 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Rebecca

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Member since July 2012
Response rate: 90% (last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours


Explore other options in and around Edinburgh

More places to stay in Edinburgh: Flats · Houses · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums