Comfortable double bed. Empty chest of drawers for guest use.
Cosy double room, family home, barn conversion
Cosy double room, family home, barn conversion
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

One first floor room with compact en-suite and double bed on the edge of the beautiful town of Fowey. Best suited to a a couple but is family and pet friendly and can be suitable for up to 2 adults + 1 infant under 2. Self-service continental breakfast is included. Separate entrance via our kitchen/diner. Approx 15 mins walk (downhill!) to centre of Fowey & sandy beach, v close to SW coastal path & Saints Way.

The space

Our room is ideally located to enable you to enjoy Fowey and the surrounding area.

The room has a standard UK double (4ft 6 wide) metal framed bed with comfortable mattress and mattress topper. There is adequate floor space in the room for a travel cot. In accordance with Airbnb policy infants aged 0-2 are not charged for but they must still be taken into account as part of the overall number of occupants and advised at booking. If you prefer to bring your own travel cot for an infant please let us know.

Wardrobe space is available with hanging space. Depending on the time of year and how full the tree coverage is, you may be able to see the sea on the horizon from the window.

We welcome well behaved dogs, we have a 2 year old spaniel and a 4 year old beagle. Our garden is securely fenced to keep both children and dogs in!

The curtains are blackout lined for a great night's sleep. The room has a compact but well equipped modern en-suite with powerful shower, small basin, WC and mirror fronted storage cabinet.

The only access to the first floor guest room is via a set of stairs leading from our kitchen/diner. This provides a good level of privacy. Our guest entrance is directly into the kitchen/diner from the garden and a key will be provided for the duration of your stay to allow you to come and go as you wish throughout your stay. Unfortunately we do not permit guests to use the kitchen/diner outside of breakfast time and guests are not permitted access to any room other than the en-suite guest bedroom and kitchen/diner.

Late arrivals can be accommodated until 10pm and we can also be flexible on check out time. If you would like to arrive early and leave your car this may be possible. Please do ask beforehand though so we can make sure the cars are parked so everyone who needs to can get in and out. If you need to check in to the room early please ask and we will do our best to accommodate this (no guarantees!). Please note that there may be the odd occasion when guests arrive in our absence. If this is going to be the case (and we do try to avoid it) we will ensure that you have information about how to find your key etc. We will always be here overnight and in the morning to look after our guests.

Guest access

Compact en-suite with sloping ceiling (may be an issue for the very tall) comprising powerful shower, small basin, WC, mirrored cabinet with storage space. Basic toiletries are provided
Television with DVD player (guests are welcome to bring DVDs)
Well stocked bookcase. Guests are welcome to read our books throughout the duration of their stay but are politely requested not to take our books away, whether intending to swap or otherwise!
Tea and coffee making facilities in room.
Clothes storage.
Self-service breakfast of cereal and toast etc. Fresh eggs from our own hens usually available. Dietary requirements can be catered for with 2 clear days notice.
Parking on our drive.
Access to garden including south facing decked area (although this use is likely to be shared with our children and our dogs!)
Immediate access to beautiful countryside walks, the beach and coastal path.
Strictly no kitchen/diner use outside breakfast time

Interaction with guests

This is our family home, we love living here and are delighted to share our home with our guests. Our sons are aged 9, 6 and 4 and our dogs are aged 2 and 4. Our sons love chatting to guests, especially if you have an interest in Lego (or can feign one!). Our dogs are not permitted in the guest bedroom but do have free access to the shared kitchen and breakfast/dining room so all guests will need to be comfortable with this. Our spaniel is prone to barking upon meeting new people for the first time but does calm down quickly!

We do ask that our family living room is not accessed by guests. Guest use of the kitchen facilities outside breakfast time is not permitted.

We are happy to make recommendations for walks, tourist attractions, restaurants, local beaches etc and provide numerous information leaflets, walk routes and guides in the room to make the most of your time in Fowey.

Alternatively we are happy to leave you to enjoy your stay in (relative!) peace. Some noise from the dogs, chickens and children (especially if they are playing outside in nice weather), goes with the territory here and may not be suited to guests looking for complete seclusion. We have a cockerel!

Other things to note

We have three young children (aged 4 - 9), two cats, 2 dogs, 12 chickens (including a cockerel) and two fish so our house is busy but very welcoming!

Free parking on premise

Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

Upon booking, particularly via Instant Book, you are confirming that you have read the listing in full and are therefore aware of the location of the property (15-20 min downhill walk into town, uphill on way back!) and that you have considered the sleeping arrangements and bed provision appropriate for your party size. The room is suitable for a maximum of two adults and 1 infant. Any party booking for more than two adults will be asked to cancel their reservation. As this is our home, please send us a message upon booking confirming who will be staying with us.

The room is NOT suitable for more than 3 people including infant aged under 2. Infants under 2 must be included in this headcount but will not be charged for in accordance with Airbnb policy. Guests who attempt to pass off a child over 2 as an infant under 2 in order will be reported to Airbnb for breach of booking conditions.

We expect our guests to be respectful of our home and leave the room and kitchen/diner in the condition in which they find it. Unfortunately there is no guest use of the kitchen facilities outside breakfast time other than to obtain milk from the fridge for making hot drinks in your room. The food we provide for breakfast is to be consumed on the premises at breakfast time. Please do not abuse the extensive breakfast selection we provide for our guests by using it to make packed lunches/snacks for later in the day.

We also request that guests are mindful of the fact that we have young children and behave appropriately. Loud music is not appropriate.

Guests should note that our children are not especially early risers but will usually be up between 7.00am and 8.30am.

We will accept guests with friendly well behaved dogs which must be used to being around other dogs and young children. Our spaniel is aged 2 and our beagle is 4. Visiting dogs must also be used to cats and guests must be confident that their dog will not bother our chickens. Guests are responsible for removing their own dog's mess from the garden.

Guests are not permitted to smoke anywhere on the premises.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - One flight of stairs to guest bedroom
Potential for noise - We have 3 young children, two dogs and a cockerel!
Pet(s) live on property - 2 dogs (1 spaniel, 1 beagle), two cats, 12 chickens including one cockerel
Some spaces are shared - Kitchen/diner and garden shared with hosts. Kitchen/diner use strictly limited to breakfast time.


Safety features
Smoke detector

1 night minimum stay

149 Reviews

Check In
Alexandra User Profile
October 2017
We had a lovely stay for a night in Victoria's beautiful family home. Many thanks for you friendly service and lovely breakfast.

Chris User Profile
September 2017
A warm welcome and comfortable double bed in a clean and compact room await you here. Eggs from the chickens outside make for a tasty breakfast. We enjoyed the walk to and from the centre of Fowey.

Andrew User Profile
September 2017
Victoria made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and cosy with a good shower and the breakfast was superb, especially the freshly laid eggs from her chickens!

Pat User Profile
September 2017
Great accommodation for small family with small children. Beautiful home, with a nice cozy room/bathroom. Short walk to the town center with plenty of great food options.

Ros User Profile
September 2017
A lovely room - in a private part of the family home so you felt part of it but were insulated from most noise! Cosy room, beautifully decorated and plenty of space for us and our dog. He spent a happy two days playing with Polly, the spaniel and eying up the chickens (which were very well fenced in and unbothered by his attention!). The freshest of eggs for breakfast were a delicious bonus! A bit of a walk up from town but actually good to walk off the pub suppers! Highly recommended!

Garry User Profile
August 2017
Perfect hosts, spotless accommodation and the breakfast was a bonus. Very helpful when I had hopelessly failed to read the directions to get there (DO read the instructions beforehand!). As someone who is not keen on dogs, theirs will charm any dog-lover. Fab and just what we needed. Thanks. Garry

Gemma User Profile
August 2017
Victoria has a beautiful house and was a great host. The room was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. We stayed in the room with our two kids who were very warmly welcomed by Victoria and her family. My kids especially loved the family dog and meeting the chickens, we even had fresh eggs for breakfast. Fowey is a beautiful town and Victoria's barn is a perfect based from which you can enjoy all this gorgeous area has to offer.

United KingdomJoined in July 2015
Victoria User Profile

My husband and I are very lucky to live in the beautiful town of Fowey on the South Cornish coast with our three boys (aged from 3 - 8), our two cats, our dog and foster dog and our chickens, including Feathers the cockerel who we hatched from a chick in 2016.

We relocated from Cambridge to Fowey in early 2015 and bought Hope Barn in May. I was a solicitor for 15 years prior to moving to Fowey and have been at home with the boys since moving. Living in Fowey is a huge change from living in Cambridge but we haven't regretted it for even a second! I am now embarking on an exciting new venture opening a new beach shop at Readymoney Cove in Fowey.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings