Bright west-facing room/shared bath


Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Extra long double bed, sunny room with both north and west-facing windows. Equipped with a desk, wardrobe, vanity and arm chair. Shared bath next to bedrooms (upstairs). (Additional private bath attached to downstairs bedroom.) Use of main floor - dining room, living room, foyer and kitchen. Bikes available. Laundry negotiable. Fenced-in yard. Plenty of street parking. Close to busses.

The space

This room gets the afternoon sun. Because the room looks out over the garage roof, you can leave your shades open and still get privacy. The room is provided with an extra-long double bed, book shelves (and a collection of VHS tapes with a television to play them), a desk, an armchair, a wardrobe with shelves and a clothing rod, a vanity/toiletries table, a small lingerie dresser/night stand, and a 3-drawer built-in dresser and a television with local stations. My things are stored in the walk-in closet and the linen closet/built in dresser.

Guest access

The house is equipped with high speed wireless internet.

The main floor shared space includes a fully equipped kitchen, featuring a shared spice rack with seasonings from all over the world, a formal dining room with adjoining living room and foyer - all three connected with the original 100-year-old wooden archways.

When I am not myself cooking or entertaining, guests are free to use the main floor, including a fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room and foyer and the fenced in back yard. There is no hood over the kitchen stove, however, so light cooking only. Frying is limited to covered pans and moderate temperatures. Please clean up after yourselves so the next person finds the kitchen ready for their use.

The shared bathroom is located upstairs, next to the bedrooms. The guest room in the basement has their own private bath. The backyard has some nice sunning possibilities with comfy chaise lounge chairs or, if you prefer a little shade, a nice rocker ideal for lazy summer days and a good book.

Interaction with guests

I'm a substitute teacher with flexible working hours, so I'll be at home some days and in the summer - mostly working in my garden or harvesting and canning in the kitchen. I am more than happy to share any tips on great things to do while visiting the Twin Cities. I love sharing my joy of living in the Twin Cities and am great at scouting out free and inexpensive art, cultural and entertainment options.

Other things to note

We're on a good bus line, and there's plenty of street parking along the side of the house. I have some bikes available for use. The house is close to the RR tracks. I find the sound peaceful, but others do not. You'll have to use your own judgement. If you're a light sleeper, this location is definitely not for you!


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 8PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 8
Security Deposit: 158
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 8PM

I maintain an eco-friendly house. Recycling and compost containers are in the kitchen.

Guests are expected to leave the bathroom and kitchen clean for the next person and put their dishes away.

It's a shoes off house. Shoes storage is provided in the entryway.

Towels and bedding are provided. You'll need to supply your own toiletries, although I do have emergency supplies.

Please use the coasters and trays provided to protect the furniture surfaces.

Laundry is negotiable. When possible, I will offer to do laundry for my guests, although there is a convenient, clean laundromat nearby, if the need arises.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

24 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Baowen User Profile
July 2017
I love Gayle's place. She helped me a lot.

Nick User Profile
July 2017
Lovely stay beautiful home. Well situated between the Twin Cities and a great host in Gayle. Definitely recommend.

Crystal User Profile
March 2017
My stay at Galyle's place was perfect for my visit to St. Paul. Gayle is an excellent communicator. She greeted me at the door and promptly showed me everything I needed to make myself comfortable in her home. Her home is clean and my room was clean and comfortable as was the shared bathroom. Traveling alone I felt safe in her neighborhood. I really enjoyed my little adventure with Gayle to the local Irish pub. I would not hesitate to stay with her again. AA+!

Alfonso User Profile
February 2017
We stayed in Gayle's place over a month so we know her, the house and the neighborhood pretty good. The bedroom is good, it's big enough for a couple and it has all what you need. All the common areas are prepared so you can move around without asking for everything during your first days. The WiFi connection is incredible, I worked in a tech company and I had better Internet connection in her home than at work. The house is close to two bus stops, but the busses do not have high frequency. You can use those busses to go to downtown Saint Paul or downtown Minneapolis. Como park and the lake are 10 minutes walking away and it's beautiful. The train is there, you can hear it, but we didn't have any problem while we were sleeping. Gayle was super helpful. Our stay in Minneapolis would have been much more difficult without her. If this is your first time in Minneapolis, Gayle is your person. She gave a ton of advices and help in whatever she could, I don't have enough words to thank her. On the other side there are lots of rules. Sometimes it was hard for me to remember them all and follow them all. Read the airbnb description carefully.

Jason User Profile
January 2017
Gayle was very sweet and accommodating.

Lawrence User Profile
December 2016
I felt so welcome that I decided to stay for another month! Gayle was great. While I was from the area originally, I have been gone for 15 years. Gayle was extremely helpful in getting re-acquainted with the area. Gayle's home is in a very convenient area that has quick access to many main roads but is tucked away in a part of the neighborhood that does not get alot of drive-by traffic.

Moritz User Profile
November 2016
We had a great stay in St Paul/ Minneapolis! Gayle is a lovely and very kind woman. She is a great help for tourist tips and anything else! We felt very well and comfortable at her place! The neighborhood is quiet and we always felt save around there. The next bus stop is just a three minutes walk away and within five minutes you get to a nice lake and a zoo.

This host has 49 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Saint Paul, Minnesota, United StatesJoined in July 2015
Gayle User ProfileGayle is a superhost.

Hi, I'm a 57-year old school teacher. I've taught everything from grad school to pre-school, including English as a Second Language, French, French Immersion, elementary school and adult literacy. I started traveling when I was 17, and have never gotten tired of it. More recently, however, work, family ties and home ownership have kept me tied down. So now I bring the world to me by welcoming guests in my home from all around the globe. My passions include gardening, cooking, travel and books. I especially enjoy playing hostess to people who want to discover the Twin Cities.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings