Front of house, with garden.View of the room with Queen bed.
Dundas and Parliament, Victorian
Dundas and Parliament, Victorian


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

We are a gay co-operative home with an extra room to rent. Close to down town, on the street car /bus lines that connect to the subway. Clean, quiet, large room , with adjacent bathroom. We have no pets, are non-smokers and a no scent environment.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: £148
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price: £39 / night

Description

The space

This is a large bedroom is on the third floor of the house. It is furnished with a Queen sized bed, night table, lamps, writing table, chairs and closet and dresser. It is a very quiet room, distant from the street and other distractions. We have WiFi throughout the house. There is a minimum of two days required on all bookings.

Guest access

Guests will have their own key, thus allowing them to access to house at their convenience. There are laundry facilities in the basement, should you need them. This room is on the third floor, so those with mobility issues may want to take this into consideration.

Interaction with guests

I live in this house with other housemates, so there is often someone around if you need an answer to a question. I am always available on my cel phone and am very familiar with the City of Toronto, since I have lived here since 1975.

The neighbourhood

The area is know as Cabbage Town and thus you will find a wealth of Victorian houses near by. Just as this house is also Victorian. WE are very close to other communities, the Distillery District, the Para/Pan Am Games village, an easy street car ride to China Town, Kensington Market, and also within easy reach of Greek Town. The TTC will easily bring you to Leslieville, the Beaches, the Queen East Shopping area, The Annex, and the list goes on. Art Galleries and various types of Museums are all easily accessed via the Transit (TTC). This is a city of neighbourhood, and very bike and pedestrian friendly. Your curiosity is your best friend in Toronto. Ask and you will almost always find it. The Toronto Islands are an easy ferry ride to three different and fascinating parts of the Islands. Beaches, (one is clothing optional), residential communities, a theme park and so much more.

Getting around

Transit in the form of Subways, Street Cars and Buses all under the title of TTC. Within 1/2 block of my house you have access to the Dundas Street car line which takes you to the Eaton Centre, and the Yonge subway line. Also at the same corner is a bus line that will take you north to the Bloor Danforth Subway and all of it's destinations. Traveling south on the Parliament Bus, you will arrive at the Distillery District and that is within a couple blocks of the Para/Pan Am games village. Taxis are everywhere and can be hailed on the street. They are safe and depending on your standards, affordable.
Arrival from Pearson Airport will be explained upon making a reservation. (Anything from a $60.00 taxi fare to a $3.00 TTC route).

Other things to note

This house is located VERY near the down town area, near to the Distillery district and also close to the Para/Pan Am Games village. Because we are on both Street car and Bus routes, access to all parts of the city by the local Transit system makes getting around the city easy. We are within walking distance of the St Lawrence Market, an easy TTC ride to museums and Art Galleries. There is a wide range of restaurants and food establishments with in walking distance. This house really is Location, Location, Location.


House Rules

We are a NON smoking , scent free and have a policy of no pets house due to allergies and sensitivities. If you use Scent, please apply it lightly and immediately leave the house. We are 4 people sharing this house, so respect for other people's privacy and quiet are requested and given.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

9 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Constance User Profile
September 2015
Dennis is a wonderful host, the communication was really easy and Dennis gave me a warm welcome and a tour of the house. There are plenty of rooms in the house and the room where I stayed was really comfortable. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Laura User Profile
September 2015
Dennis is a lovely person and host. He welcomed us in his home so kindly and made sure we had everything we need to enjoy our holidays. He gave us a map and showed us all interesting places in Toronto and named us some really good places to eat at nearby. The atmosphere at Dennis' place is really laid back and Dennis is always nice to talk to. The place is spacious and clean, well equipped and the city center is easy and fast to reach. We highly recommend staying with Dennis to everyone!

Cooper User Profile
September 2015
Dennis was a very welcoming host, he immediately showed us around the house and then gave us a map and talked us through points of interest. He allowed us to keep our bags there because we had a late bus and we had access to the washing machine and the kitchen. The house is in a great location, with a really cheap supermarket nearby. Thank you Dennis!

Julie User Profile
September 2015
Dennis was a great host. We arrived late (after midnight) due to delayed flights, but we're welcomed with open arms. Dennis gave us some tips about what to see in Toronto and nice local restaurants. If we would go back to Toronto, we'd love to stay here again.

Michael User Profile
Michael
September 2015
Dennis was a wonderful host. He was very accomodating, knew the area very well and recommended great places to eat and visit. The room was spacious and clean. He also provided towels (one less bulky thing to pack!), shampoo, and body wash. There is a streetcar stop right outside his house and a bikeshare station at the corner, easy access to downtown Toronto. There is also a grocery store at the corner and lots of little shops and restaurants within a couple blocks/walking distance. We would stay again.

Patricia User Profile
September 2015
Dennis was a Great Host! We had a great stay in Dennis' beautiful house :-) He gave us helpful tips about Toronto and was very nice. The house was so close to everything and so clean and nice!

Amanda User Profile
September 2015
Dennis was great as a host, he provided all the information you could possibly need & ask for. He made me feel very welcome & was very quick with communication. The house is lovely and well kept and Dennis provided all required things.

This host has 33 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Toronto, Canada · Joined in September 2012
Dennis User Profile

I am a former baker, now retired and do a lot of volunteer work in the communities of Toronto. I am fairly politically active and thus my areas of volunteer work happen within the gay community, city planning and building, cycling, transit, waterfront and other issues of interest.
I enjoy live theatre of all sorts, cycling is a passion, learning Spanish it my present goal. (Well, I have been working on that for a few years).
I LOVE to travel and am slowly working my way around the world.