View of lounge area in living room, with windows facing eastwardsKitchen and dining area leading to hall
Nearby centre, next to park, with skyline views
Nearby centre, next to park, with skyline views
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Located across from the Westergasfabriek, the city's cultural centre for music and dance, this 9th floor flat (totally wheel chair accessible) offers panoramic views of the entire city. A light and cozy living/dining space encompasses half the home. While all of Amsterdam's tourist attractions are easily accessible by foot (25 minute walk from Centraal Station) or public transportation, the flat is a haven of tranquility. The surrouding neighborhood has restaurants and recreation for all ages.

The space

The flat is ideal for a couple; that's how we use it. A light and cozy living/kitchen/dining space encompasses half the 90 square meters. The main bedroom has a queen size bed and about 3 cubic meters of closet space. A second bedroom provides - besides an excellent fold-out couch for two - a large desk, ample office cabinets and book shelves. In the bathroom you’ll find a walk-in shower, a washing machine, and several cabinets; the water closet is in a separate space. The building was built less than 20 years ago, with state of the art insulation from the heat, cold and noise outside. The balcony faces south, providing opportunities to sun, smoke, and soak up the city vibes.

Guest access

We live in a large building with 100 apartments. This means a lot of residents traverse the public areas and are dependent upon the elevators. They pay for, and appreciate, the cleanliness and tranquility in these areas. Once you've reached our floor, ours is the only door. Once inside, you have access to the entire flat except for one small office room and one locked closet.

Interaction with guests

One of us will be home to greet you upon arrival during the day. Should you arrive in the late evening/night, then we'll have to make other arrangements beforehand. During your stay we'll be elsewhere in the Netherlands but can be reached by phone/internet at all times.

Other things to note

Quite often festivals are held in the park across the street. Usually this is an additional joy to partake, but it does lead to congestion in the neighborhood. You may experience trouble parking your car or weaving your way through hundreds of parked bicycles.


Amenities
Elevator in Building
Internet
Wheelchair accessible

Prices
Cleaning Fee £55
Security Deposit £410
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 11AM - 6PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

This is our home most of the year. Make yourself at home but please respect the sanctity of our stuff, and the privacy of our neighbors. We kindly request you remove street shoes within the apartment. Despite 30 cm of concrete between us and our neighbors downstairs, they do hear heavy or hard footsteps. No smoking except on the (secluded) balcony. No loud conversations on the balcony or in public areas after 11 PM.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Martin User Profile
August 2017
Very lovely place in calmer area, but not far from center. Everything was great, very nice apartment.

Claire User Profile
August 2017
My family of four loved our stay. The park right across the street was a delightful way to spend the evenings with our children. The access to public transit was great. The flat was clean spacious and met all our needs! A great place!!

The hosts were very helpful and we had a wonderful stay!

Riley User Profile
July 2017
Peter's apartment is really nice! The patio has a great view of Amsterdam and it was nice to be away from the more central part of town, but still walking distance.

Guy User Profile
July 2017
Peter and Sofia are very kind and friendly, the apartment is beautiful and comfortable.Public transportation is very convenient and close (Tram-10, Bus-21).The place is well equipped with everything needed + extra information about the city and the house itself. We were very pleased with this (URL HIDDEN).

Lisa User Profile
July 2017
Bohemian delight! The plants and natural light as well as the comfy, cozy furniture made us want to hang out and drink coffee at home every morning. We loved it! And Peter was very friendly and helpful with recommendations.

Merindha Arty User Profile
June 2017
Peter was such a great host. He was very kind, helpful, and generous. He patiently waited for us on the first day as we spent too much time at the airport (we also got off on the wrong bus stop, hence further delay). Peter greeted us with a bag of croissants (which I must say was VERY nice, we looked for the bakery the next day). We were provided with everything we needed. Starting from complete toileteries, fluffy towels, well-equipped kitchen, various teas and coffees, juice in the fridge, information about Amsterdam, and many more. There was an incident in which we broke the electric kettle. Peter was very considerate and the issue was resolved straight away. The apartment itself is very vibrant and homey. It is well-furnished and comfortable. It is also well-connected by tram and bus so getting there is extra easy. Overall our stay at Peter's apartment was very pleasant!

Amsterdam, NetherlandsJoined in March 2010
Peter User Profile

Eclectic

I first came to Amsterdam in 1971 and fell immediately in love with its carnivaliesque charm. My first 25 years in Amsterdam I was employed by four universities and dozens of foundations to teach courses, analyze textbooks, write English, crunch numbers, and criticize policy. Then I worked a near 15 years as social researcher for another Dutch city, until deemed too old to continue as a civil servant.

Now that I'm retired I hope to rent out our Amsterdam home a couple months a year, while we relax in the eastern woods. I do this not only for the income to supplement my pension, but also to meet other travelers and provide them with the opportunity to explore and love Amsterdam like I do.

I'm rather allergic to the word 'hobby'; I tend to read, write and socialize a lot and sleep little. I've taken the opportunity to travel extensively thru Europe and a few other continents. Having grown up in California, I came to Holland addicted to sunshine, and still grab any opportunity to sit outside and soak it up. Politically I lean to the (far) left, particularly when it comes to environmental issues. If you liked Bush and hate Obama we're in for a debate.



Languages: Deutsch, English, Français, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Peter’s place.
Peter
Sofia helps host.
Sofia

The neighbourhood

Similar listings