The room - work table
Big quiet traditional central flat


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Large room in a top floor Marchmont flat, by the park, short walk from Royal Mile. Shared bathroom and wc. Full use of modern kitchen, wifi, washing machine. Big sunny living room with view to Arthurs seat ( July)
Minimum 4 nights. Monthly rate inclusive.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £10 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: £100
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: £40 / night

Description

The space

Large duplex flat, 2 big bedrooms to rent, big windows, classic features, great views, sunny, modern kitchen, wooden floors throughout. The bedroom is at the back of the house overlooking the garden.

Guest access

Shared WC, and a shared bathroom. Free access to the large kitchen, cupboard and fridge space.

Living Room Available in July and beginning of August.

Interaction with guests

Hosts James and Monica live in the flat and use the kitchen, and will help you get to know the city if they are there.
In the festival period there may be other hosts looking after you.
There may be one or two other guests staying at the same time as you.

The neighbourhood

This is a quiet old residential district, one of the most sought after in the city. Small local shops very close, everything you could want 5mins walk away. Literally hundreds of restaurants in walking distance.
A Large Park (the Meadows) is 1 minute walk.

Getting around

There are buses that leave from stops 4-5mins walk away, but generally the city centre is accessible on foot. 20mins walk to the Royal Mile or Castle; 25mins walk to Arthurs Seat or Princes Street.
Some people rent a bike or an electric bike (plant of places near by).

Parking is on a meter, but it is possible to park long term about 15mins walk away. (e.g. Oswald Road)

Other things to note

We do not provide breakfast, please feel free to buy food, use the kitchen, and tidy up after yourself. There are 2 teenage children in the home (from mid August)


House Rules

The house is lived in, please look after it! No pets or smoking.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

18 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Juanma User Profile
August 2016
Large room with a perfect location, close to city centre. I spent three nights as part of my holiday in Scotland. I would highly recommend it. I really appreciate their help. Very responsive and helpful from the first minute.

Peter User Profile
August 2016
Great hosts and accommodation!

Mariel User Profile
August 2016
As soon as I arrived James greeted me and provided me with a guidebook for Edinburgh which was incredibly useful. My room was very spacious and clean and was really well located next to the Meadows. Close to the festival and very festival friendly. The only thing to note is Wifi at the house was very in and out for me, but there are lots of cafes or venues nearby that also have WiFi. Overall I had an awesome trip to Edinburgh. Thank you Monica, James & family for allowing me to stay in your beautiful home!

Chris User Profile
August 2016
This flat is spacious, characterful and in a brilliant location. Quiet, comfortable room and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

Alison User Profile
July 2016
Wonderful big house, centrally located with super friendly hosts. I would definitely stay here again.

Aaron & Laurie User Profile
April 2016
This spacious flat is in an excellent location, and its hosts are lovely. I felt quite lucky to be able to stay here and give it my highest recommendation.

Shannon User Profile
January 2016
I arrived in Edinburgh for a job and didn't yet have a flat yet, so I decided to do airbnb for two weeks while I looked for a more permanent place. James and Monica's flat was very lovely, and very much felt like home. They were both very accommodating and kind, and I felt comfortable immediately. The location is very close to the center of town, about 15 minutes walk to the university campus and the Royal Mile. I'd highly recommend anyone to stay at James and Monica's flat, and I'd definitely stay again if I have the chance.

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Edinburgh, United Kingdom · Joined in October 2012
James And Monica User Profile

We are a British-Spanish family, who live in Edinburgh. We work in the Universities
We like to have interesting visitors in our house living with our family; and we travel to other places for holiday and work, alone and with family. We like (between us) music, food, tango dancing, cycling, and city visits.

Response rate: 67%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a day

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is James And Monica’s place.
James And Monica
Monica helps host.
Monica
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.