Bedroom: roomy and comfortableBedroom: light and airy

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Large, spacious room in quirky old terrace house on the border of Darlinghurst & Paddington. 2min walk to bustling Oxford St shopping, cafes, & bars. Only a 30min stroll into the city or jump on a bus & be there, Bondi Beach, or Central, in minutes.

The space

Perfect place to base yourself for a fun-filled visit to Sydney!

We live in a big, old two-storey terrace house, with the living areas, kitchen, and bathroom on the ground floor, and the bedrooms upstairs. At the back of the house, where the separate toilet and bathroom are located, there is a small covered courtyard area, and the outdoor living space is at the front of the house in the driveway area.

You will have your own very large room upstairs, with everything needed for your stay. The room contains a comfy queen bed, bedside tables and lamps, chest of drawers, hanging wardrobe, desk, cosy armchair, and a selection of books. All linen and bath towels are provided, along with beach towels, if required. Please let us know if you have any other needs, and we will try our best to accommodate them.

There is a flat screen TV in the lounge room, complete with Foxtel and a selection of DVDs, and there is wifi throughout the house. The kitchen contains everything required to create a gourmet meal or whip up a quick snack. Toiletries (shampoo/soap/etc) are provided, and we have a hair dryer and straightener available as well. The bathroom also has a washer and dryer, if you need to do laundry; and there are clothes lines in the covered courtyard, which also contains a big comfy daybed.

Guest access

Apart from the bedroom, you will share the following communal spaces with us: bathroom (including laundry), toilet, back courtyard, kitchen, lounge room, outdoor living space (including BBQ).

Your stay with us also includes the following:
- Breakfast provisions (cereals, bread, spreads, juice, milk, coffee, tea, etc)
- Welcome bottle of red wine (stays of more than one night)
- Opal Card(s) to use while visiting (pass required for local transport)

Interaction with guests

We are easy-going, friendly people who are always happy to chat and share stories over a glass of wine; however, we will respect your privacy if that is what you would prefer.

We have lived in the area for years and know loads of local bars, restaurants, and sights to see, so we are more than happy to help out and to share recommendations and local advice.

Other things to note

Our terrace is a quirky old girl but very tidy, comfortable, and in an awesome location! Please note the following when considering staying with us:

- As is typical in old terrace houses, the stairs to the bedrooms are rather steep and narrow.
- There is no central heating/cooling in the house, however we have a portable air conditioner, fans, and heater available for your comfort. Your bedroom window can also be opened, with a screen to keep insects out.
- There is a sunroom off the guest bedroom; you will have access to the left side of the sunroom (to open/close window/blinds/etc), however part of that space is currently used as storage.
- The back covered courtyard mentioned is technically an outdoor space, with concrete floors that can get wet/slippery when it rains heavily.
- Whilst the shower has great water pressure and temperature, the hot water tap has had to be disconnected from the bathroom sink. Cold water still functions, with hot water tap available in kitchen sink.
- In addition to us, you will also be sharing the house with our dog, Ziggy. He is super friendly and we know you will love him. He will likely adopt you as his new best friend, so we suggest keeping your bedroom door shut, or you may find you have a new roommate. :-)


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Please respect our home and treat it as you would your own. We are easy going and not big on rules, but please do note the following:

- Always ensure the front gate to the property is closed securely
- Ensure both the main doors are locked, and that Ziggy is inside the house when you go out.
- This is a happy, social house, but not a party house, so no additional guests allowed during your stay.
- There is no smoking anywhere in the house or on the property.

Lastly, and most importantly, please make yourself at home and let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your time in Sydney.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Marta User Profile
May 2017
Location is fantastic, & hosts are lovely people.

Alison User Profile
March 2017
Creative home, Erin and Carmel were very conscientious, friendly and left a delicious bottle of red for us! If there was a little more natural light then it would definitely hit 5 stars.

Kuan-Yin User Profile
February 2017
It was a little bit rush to book an accommdation for me this time, so I just quickly checked the reviews and the lovely place was just as expected! Even more fantastic! Erin & Carmel are very nice hosts, no doubt! Oh! and ziggy as well!! From booking the room til we checked out, they were very friendly and gave us so many suggestions like where to go and where to eat. Also, the place is really clean and tidy! Not too noisy at night which bring us a good sleep after a day. Good location that it wouldn't spend us too much time on transportation. A very lovely place that you wouldn't wanna miss it! :)

Amy User Profile
February 2017
My mom and I had such a pleasant stay at Erin and Carmel's place during our brief stay in Sydney. We loved all the small details they put in to ensure we had a great trip. From the welcoming bottle of wine and the thoughtful breakfast spread (vegemite instructions included!) to the Opal cards and coffee shop suggestions we really couldn't ask for more! The room itself is bright and spacious, located in a small terrace house that is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Thank you once again for everything : )

Michael User Profile
December 2016
Erin and Carmel provided us with the most beautiful stay!!! They were wonderful hosts who respected our privacy yet welcomed us into their home with open arms and allowed us to use all the facilities.. If you're ever in Paddington then this is the place to be... Thank you both so much for being exceptional hosts and simply making us feel welcomed :) 'Twas a beautiful way to cap of a wonderful year for us. Thank you Mika and Jay

Patick User Profile
October 2016
Erin and Carmel were great hosts, as was their dog,Ziggy. Quiet and central location. They were always ready to offer advice and assistance during our stay in Sydney. Will definitely stay with them if we return. Patrick and Ebert

Michele User Profile
March 2016
Erin and Carmel were great hosts. They welcomed us whole heartedly into their house and and treated us with extra special attention. They took time to help us with parking and shared local knowledge. Their lovely Terrace house is in a wonderful location, close to entertainment and most excellent shopping. We felt very comfortable both in our room and socialising with the girls. . My sister and I were visiting to attend Mardi Gras. Erin and Carmel made this a memorable experience for us by sharing their friends, including us in pre carnival events and allowing us to join their group. We had a fantastic time.

Erin is originally from Canada, and has lived/travelled in many countries, settling in Sydney in 2006. She works in finance, but lives for the weekends and getaways/road trips.

Carmel is an artist and part-time nanny, who loves the ocean, cooking, and spending time in the sun with friends and family.

Together we love spending time at gigs, music festivals, sporting events, camping, and at the beach. We also have an adorable Sheltie named Ziggy, who completes our family.

We recently started using Airbnb in our own travels, and realised that our spare bedroom could be a great place for people visiting Sydney to stay.

Languages: English
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings