main house gardenview from the deck
Sunny Room, Full Bath, Own Entrance
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our sunny private studio comfortably fits two (plus a small child). It is centrally located between Grand and Lakeshore avenues where you can find restaurants and stores and close to Lake Merritt which has a 3.5 mile walking loop.

The space

The New York Times featured Oakland in its list of 45 places to go in the world in 2012 Come find out why when you stay in a sunny, comfortable room with a separate entrance and bathroom in our peaceful Oakland home. Queen sized bed with latex mattress sleeps 2 adults and there is room for kids on a daybed or in a pack and play.

We are beautifully situated between Lakeshore Ave. and Grand Ave., which are full of restaurants, coffee shops, yoga studios, bakeries, and stores. The historic Grand Lake Theater and weekly Saturday Farmer's Market are less than a 10 minute walk away, with Lake Merritt and ample parkland only two blocks further.

The Grand Lake area provides the following:
* Reliably sunny weather (unlike San Francisco!)
* Gondolas & boating
* 3 & 1/2 mile jogging track around the Lake
* Easy access to San Francisco by Bart, bus and Car Pool
* Close to Berkeley Cal, Mills College and CCA
* Near great music and sports venues such as the historical Fox Theater, Paramount Theater, Oakland Arena & Coliseum
* Close to Kaiser Permanante in Oakland

We are within half a mile of the Piedmont City border, and also close to the neighborhoods of Piedmont Avenue, Rockridge, Temescal, Uptown Oakland, and Montclair. We are a 5 minute walk to area buses, a 10 minute walk to the Carpool to San Francisco, a 15 minute bike ride to BART, a 15 minute drive (no traffic) to San Francisco, and 15 minute drive to UC Berkeley. Parking is free and easily available on the street. We can also help you with directions to wherever you might want to go.

We live upstairs with our 3 year old and sound does travel between the units. We do our best to keep noise down in the early hours of the morning and ask that you keep noise down after 8 pm since our daughter's room is right above your unit.

We are happy to recommend our favorite local restaurants or direct you to the nearby Trader Joe's, Safeway, or Whole Foods so that you can pick up breakfast foods and snacks. Large sunny deck is yours to enjoy (Sorry given the drought we've chosen to disconnect our hot tub)! Internet is provided, A small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and hot pot are available for your use in the room.

$75 per night with a two night minimum. Discounts for longer stays. $30 cleaning fee.

Please note that the ceiling is 7 feet high. The room still feels spacious and sunny. We just want to have full disclosure.

One of your hosts is also bilingual Spanish/English. We have a dog (Tikaani) if you like to get a furry friend fix during your time away (or you can avoid him completely). No animals are ever allowed in the unit.

Guest access

You have access to our deck - please just check with us as we have a dog that spends time out there when we are home and want to make sure he doesn't get through the gate.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to interact with our guests and we are also busy! We're always available to answer questions, give suggestions about things to do and places to go and resolve any problems should they arise.

As the unit is within our home, sound does travel. We have a dog and an infant so you may hear noise from upstairs To date we've received no complaint about noise from other guests.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Shampoo

Prices
Cleaning Fee £30
Security Deposit £76
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 11AM

No smoking.
No pets.
No extra guests.
Please respect that we live in a residential neighborhood and that the room is below our home. We ask that you keep noise levels to a minimum when coming in at night and after midnight within the room.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

51 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jackie User Profile
August 2017
Andreas place is a great quiet retreat. Nice neighbourhood with gardens and homely feel. The room is spacious and bed very comfortable- I always had a good sleep and appreciated this as I was very busy during the day with training/ study. The location is also great- close to restaurants, cafes, shops, pharmacy, Trader Joes supermarket. Would definitely book again. Top hosting as well as I felt the communication open if I needed advice on the area.

Kengo User Profile
July 2017
Andrea's family is friendly and warm. They always cared my stay and quickly responded for me. I enjoyed 1 week stay with comfort in the wonderful neighborhood.

Mike User Profile
July 2017
Great place! Was here for one month, working at a nearby hospital. Clean, safe, quiet, walkable to shops/restaurants/grocery stores. Was very happy with the arrangement. Would stay here again.

Carla User Profile
March 2017
This is a great location. We enjoy the restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Alice User Profile
March 2017
Location is close to many restaurants, which are within walking distance. Wholefoods is a quick drive away. It is located on a hill so parking may be challenging if you're not used to parking on a slope. Otherwise, plenty of free parking in the area. Safe area to stay at. Noise can be loud from upstairs. Can hear talking or walking/running. Otherwise, very accommodating host who checked periodically to make sure everything is okay with my stay.

Mariana User Profile
October 2016
I stayed with Andrea and Keyvan for one month, and they made me feel at home since day 1! I had my own private space and I was also welcome in their beautiful deck and house. My space was beautiful, full of light, very comfortable, and with my own private entrance which made it feel like a completely separate space. I enjoyed my stay with them and would recommend them to anyone!!! I would've loved to stay more, but it was already booked!

Aaron User Profile
March 2016
Keyvan & Andrea were great with accommodations! Everything I needed for a complete month stay was provided and made for a great stay in a wonderful part of Oakland. Quickly made friends at both restaurants Shakewell & Michel. Having Trader Joe's and the farmer's market nearby was awesome.

Oakland, California, United StatesJoined in November 2011
Andrea User Profile

East coast transplant who loves California and especially Oakland!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings