FreeParking OnTrain Ohare/City20min


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Private comfortable room with comfy queen-sized bed, dresser, closet and desk on a quiet and safe tree-lined street, steps from the Blue Line CTA! O'hare and downtown are both accessible in 20 minutes or less. Breakfast essentials provided. Free street parking.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: £20
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: £28 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

A happy and eclectic space with lots of natural light and a huge library of books in Old Irving Park. The space is older but well-maintained. You might hear the floors creak or the radiators when they turn on.... if you are noise sensitive, bring ear plugs. This is a very quiet place to stay, otherwise. We have an open floor plan with 2 private bedrooms, with us hosts in one and you, our guest, in the other. There is one bathroom that we share and keep very clean. The space is also very clean and we intend to keep it that way. No smoking or wild parties take place here. The outdoor space isn't a patio, but we do sit and drink wine out there from time to time.

Important things to note:
Please make sure check in time is convenient for you. It changes each week.

We are 20 minutes from O'hare, Downtown, and Lake Shore Drive.

This is a 3rd floor walk-up. No elevator.

There is no AC in your room. There is heat in your room. Feel free to open the window if you want some cool air or use the fan I provide you in the closet.

We share a bathroom.

Breakfast is only the essentials and it varies. Very limited supplies. I do not cook.

You cannot use the stove or oven. No cooking allowed. You can use fridge and microwave.

I am a busy person and not around much so if you're looking for a hands-on host, I'm not your girl. I am available via text.

Please remember you are renting a room, not the entire apartment.

Guest access

Guests will receive keys and a "welcome package" acquainting them with their room, as well as the neighborhood and Chicago. Guests will have a key. We have a balcony for smokers.

Interaction with guests

We are here as much or as little as you need. We are available at short notice for help with transit or any other emergencies that arise. We have more than 12 years combined Chicago expertise and are more than qualified to assist you in your exploration of our world-class city.

We do not accept reservations by guests who have not verified their ID.

The neighbourhood

A comfy and quiet room with excellent access to transportation: Blue line CTA, Metra UP-N (suburb train), Addison and Irving Park CTA bus lines, as well as immediate access to interstate 90, are all right outside the door.

Getting around

Enjoy EASY access to the Blue Line, Metra (UP-N line), Interstate 90, CTA #80, all right across the street. Have no fear! We will direct you!

Other things to note

We are LGBTQ friendly and welcome all walks of life in our home. We also have a membership to the Museum of Contemporary Art and would love to share it with you, not to mention we are experts on museum free days and doing Chicago economically, just ask!

We do not do extended stay bookings.

We do not host male travelers traveling alone who have not been reviewed.

License or registration number

City registration pending
Learn about this field

House Rules
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible

Important things to note:
We are 20 minutes from O'hare, Downtown, and Lake Shore Drive.

This is a 3rd floor walk-up. No elevator.

There is no AC in your room. There is heat in your room. Feel free to open the window if you want some cool air or use the fan I provide you in the closet.

We share a bathroom.

Breakfast is only the essentials and it varies. Very limited supplies. I do not cook.

You cannot use the stove or oven. No cooking allowed. You can use fridge and microwave.

I am a busy person and not around much so if you're looking for a hands-on host, I'm not your girl. I am available via text.


Please remember you are renting a room, not the entire apartment.

Please make yourselves at home!! There is filtered water in the fridge. Help yourself to breakfast stuff (fruit, toast, bagels, etc...). If there is coffee in the pot, drink up!

Please clean up after yourself, including cleaning your hair out of the drain in the shower and putting your dishes in the dishwasher. The drain will clog if you don't clean your hair.

Please be courteous of the neighbors. This is a quiet neighborhood.

No drinking, smoking, or loud music. Please close the door if you are listening to music or talking on the phone.

Remember, you are renting a room, not the entire apartment. The areas we share are the bathroom and kitchen. My room and the living room are off limits.

Please make sure you leave the room how you found it, including throwing your trash in the trashcan provided. Please take your trash when you leave.

Please leave the keys on the desk when you leave. Check out is at noon!!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

103 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yiou User Profile
June 2017
Location good, very close to Irving park blue line station. There is a few good food bar nearby, my fav was potbelly. I would say Emily seemed like a very organized and kind person. It's just that for someone like me, who is new to Chicago, had huge luggage, used to live with AC, then you need to seriously think if this place would be the best option. First of all, the narrow stairs was just killing me when I move my huge luggage by myself. Also there was some miscommunication between me and Emily, which led to a result that I wasn't able to ensure my luggage be stored into the room before my check in time... well, overall I had a panic time the first day when I arrive. The water can be unstable sometime. Have had a few cold showers when I was there. I would highly recommend the host to consider some efficient ways to make the room cooler. It was super hot all day, or maybe it was unfortunate that Chicago weather was crazily hot when I was there. I wasn able to sleep at all at one night. The fan is just not helpful... overall it not a terrible stay tho, but didn't reach what I hoped.
Emily User Profile
Response from Emily:
Yiou, thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I appreciate you recognizing that the listing clearly states there is no AC in the room. Chicago is not typically 100+ degree as it was while you were here. I was very hot in my own room as well! The other 5 reviewers/guests below for the month of June thankfully did not have to experience the heat we did and therefore their reviews do not reflect a problem with the heat. Also, I do clearly state that this is a 3rd floor walk-up rental. This is not unusual for the city of Chicago, however, I do like to be honest with guests in case they are traveling with big equipment or have any disability and are unable to go up 3 flights of stairs, it is my duty to let guests know up front, and I do. I am not sure what you mean by narrow stairs, the stairs are not narrow and my king size bed was moved in, no problem. Lastly, to arrrived early in the morning on a day I had prearranged to allow guests stay after 12pm checkout time (they asked more than a month in advance to check out late, you never mentioned needing to check in early and I reached out to you more than once). I told you that you were more than welcome to secure your luggage on my porch but it was at your own risk. However, that being said, many guests have secured their luggage there and never had a problem and it's the best option I can offer guests who want to leave their bags when I am not home. I am not sure how I miscommunication this but I do apologize for the miscommunication. Again, thank you for your thoughtful review and I hope your future Airbnb stays are in much cooler climates!
June 2017

Zoë User Profile
June 2017
Even though we didn't meet, Emily was the perfect host & left very helpful instructions. The flat was lovely, in a quiet neighbourhood & with great transport links to the airport and downtown Chicago.

James User Profile
June 2017
Great as always. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time.

Anthony User Profile
June 2017
Very close to transit (walk distance) old building with character but a little hot and don't expect a perfectly quiet place (you can hear the train) but that is to be expected and mentioned in the ad. Accurate description and although we didn't meet the host I am sure she is great.

Vincent User Profile
June 2017
I definitely recommend this place. Safe neighbourhood about 30min from the Loop. The room is clean and the apartment super cosy! Bonus: Emily is a great host, friendly and available !

Bogdan User Profile
May 2017
Emily was a great host, her place is really beautiful and clean. The neighborhood was really safe and great to walk through. We would love to go back and recomme d this place

Bels User Profile
May 2017
Emily's place was comfortable and convenient. We had no trouble with the check in or out. It was easy to find as well. We didn't get to meet with Emily in person but I appreciate her smooth communication with us!

Chicago, Illinois, United States · Joined in January 2015
Emily User Profile

I am a state investigator and real estate broker from Florida who loves yoga and Guinness (not together). I am an avid traveler and lover of art, music, food, and the outdoors. I am a big Chicago fan and know the ins and outs of many different scenes in the city.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.