The front of The Castle Stables buildingThe Castle Stables building
The Castle Stables - Self Catering

Entire home/flat

4 guests

2 bedrooms

3 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Are you looking for a break with a difference? Away from the busy areas but in fantastic scenery?
Set in a peaceful location in the heart of a forest.
This makes it an ideal relaxing base to explore the breathtaking countryside on your doorstep.

The space

Our Self-Catering Countryside Holiday apartment is located in the grounds of the prestigious Drumtochty Castle in the hurt of Drumtochty forest.

It has two bedrooms, one with a king size bed and one with two single beds. A folding bed is available on request.

The bathroom is with shower above the bath.

Linens and towels provided.

The Kitchen is fully equipped with a family size hob, oven with grill, refrigerator, freezer, washer dryer, Nespresso coffee machine with complimentary capsules, microwave, kettle, toaster, and kitchenware. Every thing you need to fell comfortable while away from home.

The apartment is fully equipped for all your needs with a Free WiFi.

Surrounds with beautiful garden grounds, pleasant small lake and a water stream.

Next to the stables building you will find a pastoral environment with forest walks and cycle routes. It is only 2 miles from the pleasant Auchenblae rural village and 12 miles from Stonehaven.

The nearest golf courses are in Auchenblae and in Stonehaven.

Follow: 1) The world-famous Malt Whisky Trail(URL HIDDEN) 2) Scotland's Castle Trail.

Discover the dramatic stories behind 17 of Aberdeenshire's most famous Castles.

This is an ideal break for relaxing and having a quality time.

Guest access

We use a key code to enter the apartment.

You will receive your entry code two weeks prior to your arrival.

Interaction with guests

I will not be around the apartment, but you may contact me for any help.

I live not far and able to help with any request.

Other things to note

The rates vary depend on number of guests and time of the year and can change without any previous notice.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Check In: 3PM - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities
Kitchen
Free parking on premise

Prices
Extra people £20 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £40
Weekly Discount: 27%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM

We would appreciate if you leave the apartment as you have received it.
Thanks.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

31 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kendall User Profile
August 2017
We loved our stay at The Castle Stables. Cosy accommodation in a beautiful location. The kitchen had everything we needed, the beds were very comfy, and the grounds were lovely to walk around. It was also a great location from which to do a day trip to Stonehaven.

Mary User Profile
July 2017
The pictures barely do this place justice. What a treat our stay here was! Teresa was very friendly and so easy to cummicate with - we checked in without a hitch. The apartment is decorated so nicely and has all the modern conveniences, while maintaining an air of days gone by. If you are planning a trip to the Aberdeen area, stay here - you'll love it!
Teresa User ProfileTeresa is a superhost.
Response from Teresa:
Thank you Mary for the kind review, much appreciated! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Castle Stables. It is always reassuring to hear guests have enjoyed their stay. Thanks, Teresa.
July 2017

Donna Marie User Profile
June 2017
We loved our apartment at The Castles Stables and the surrounding grounds are idyllic. We had a map in hand, and therefore had no trouble locating the Castle. WiFi worked well. The accommodations were excellent and everything was perfect for our stay. We especially loved the nature and wildlife of the castle grounds. The old mature plantings of the estate are well worth seeing. A wonderful respite for us!
Teresa User ProfileTeresa is a superhost.
Response from Teresa:
Thank you so much, Donna Marie, for sharing your great experience in The Castle Stables and in the area, with our future guests. I am so happy to know that everything was perfect, that is just great to hear. Looking forward to hosting you again. Best wishes, Teresa
June 2017

Alfonso User Profile
March 2017
The place is incredible specially if you like peaceful walks in the nature and enjoying the sky at night. Also the sunsets and sunrises can be awesome to see. The only difficulty I had was finding the place itself. The place itself was very well equipped and any question I had was promptly answered by the host.

Edgar User Profile
February 2017
To be fair, the description of this place is 100% accurate. Coming from America and driving up from London, my wife was looking for a authentic "Castle" experience. She was sadly disappointed that it was an ordinary hideaway. Here's what they also don't tell you. Because it's so secluded, and they don't provide any provisions, we had to drive far away to stock up. This is not a Bed aNd Breakfast (The second B is not included) The route to get to this place is narrow and difficult to navigate, especially during the night. Also, as foreigners, and with no one there to explain the appliances and switched, it took us a while to get settled and comfortable.
Teresa User ProfileTeresa is a superhost.
Response from Teresa:
Thank you Edgar for your review. If you were looking for a break with a difference, away from the busy areas but in fantastic scenery, set in a peaceful location in the heart of a forest, this place was for you. Trust you had a great holiday in The Castle Stables,enjoyed exploring Drumtochty Castle, the pond and the forest walks, Fettercairn Distillery, Dunnottar Castle, Drum Castle, Crathes Castle and Garden, Edzell Castle And Garden and more. The Castle Stables is a Self Catering accommodation. As such, we are offering facilities for people to cook their own meals and have no pretensions to be a B&B. The closest shops and restaurants are in Auchenblae village, 2.2 miles away. Very best wishes from Scotland from Teresa
February 2017

Kezia User Profile
December 2016
Just finished up a week at the Stables. It was relaxing and quiet. There is a little stream that runs along the property that is the epitome of a "babbling brook". The closest village is Auchenblae but there is nothing really there (not even a pub), you have to drive to Stonehaven for stores, pubs, restaurants. The main reason we chose the Stables was the quietness and that's what we got, it was perfect and is in walking distance to a very cool forest hike trail. The inside was well appointed, with the kitchen having everything needed and more. We cooked a lot, which was fun. The only minor downside is that the rooms are weirdly separated, lots of doors and one small hallway. But this is the nature or renovating an old building like this, you don't get the modern open floorplan. But we knew this up front because the pictures are 100% accurate. Not a big deal for us but if you like open spaces consider one of the other apartments here at the stables, we took a peek through the window and saw a cool one with a fireplace.
Teresa User ProfileTeresa is a superhost.
Response from Teresa:
Thank you Kezia for your nice review. It was a pleasure to host you. I am glad that you liked the Castle Stable, enjoyed the walks and saw the pheasants. Sometimes you can also see deer. Great that you visited Stonehaven with its beautiful old harbor and the variety of pubs and restaurants. I hope you had a chance to visit Dunnottar Castle. The house with the fireplace is owned by Drumtochty Castle and it is rented only for special events like weddings.
December 2016

David User Profile
October 2016
The host was personable and gave us all the information about the place but also shared her knowledge of the area and the places we were going onto visit. This is such a tranquil, unique place that gave us respite from a busy, yet adventurous holiday itinerary. It filled us all with its beauty.

This host has 23 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Stonehaven, United KingdomJoined in October 2012
Teresa User ProfileTeresa is a superhost.

Over 13 years of experience in the hosting industry.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings