queen bedday bed-single mattress
Room with a Garden View!
Hosted by Anne
Anne is the host.Anne is a superhost.
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

My home is the only character house left on my the street that is original, built in 1928 and nestled in a rainforest it has a rustic ambience ,it's very quiet here. My neighbourhood has fantastic views of the city just by walking across the street.

The space

"A Room with a Garden View" is a cozy bedroom and private suite which overlooks a lovely garden with windows opening up to morning sunshine and the dark starry night. The suite itself is very private, quiet and not part of our main living area/house although I do need occasional access to my laundry and storage with extended staying guests which is a quick pass through the suite ( with notice

My place includes:

~Cozy down comforters and linens
~queen bed and a single bed
~couch
~dishes
~coffee maker
~toaster
~hotplate
~microwave
~bar fridge
~Fair trade organic coffee ,teas and hot chocolate
~self serve breakfast, ie instant oatmeal, fruit ,milk OJ,and yogurt are provided in daily price
~laundry
~BBQ
~WIFI
~free local, Canada wide and USA calls
~Private bathroom newly renovated, with shower. Towels provided.
~free parking on the street
~high chair for babies

~Bus routes to downtown, UBC and Canada line are a one minute walk from here, #22 and #25

~ 2 funky small villages nearby about a 5 minute walk at most to the one nearest and 10 minutes to the other. one area has a convenient store, dog groomer, Jamaican Patty shop ($2 a patty cash only) a new bakery (with gluten free options), convenience store, antique store, Chinese restaurant, Italian /bistro restaurant and organic juice bar.

~the other village has another bakery called "Butter" (very yummy), and Bigsbys cafe for and excellent morning coffee, afternoon tea, or lunch, MacGillicuddy's Childrens clothing consignment store, grocery store, you can also catch the bus from here to downtown!

~Within very easy walking distance is "Choices" alternative Natural food market, Trafalgars Bistro and Sweet Obsession dessert shop. Zest Sushi, Subway and Starbucks, A 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute drive

~West Broadway restaurant area and 4th Ave shopping is a 30-40 minute walk or 5 minute drive

I am also very close to the beaches, (45 minute walk to Kits Beach ) or 5-10 minute bus ride, and trails around UBC, Pacific Spirit Park for a few easy day walks, Granville Island and the University of British Columbia are close. By bus it's approx 20 minutes to UBC

My place is a very laid back, city home , 2 cats and a summer beehive , The yard is a 1/4 acre, woodsy and wild yard with a rainforest full of huge firs, cedars and hemlock trees surrounding the property and 3 giant Magnolias which shade the yard in summer and bloom perpetually pink in spring. My place feels like one has stumbled across a Country Inn amongst a city setting, it's very unique, and a most magical place to come home to after a day of skiing, walking, or sightseeing on one of our wonderful rainy or sunny days

Guest access

Private one bedroom suite with bathroom and living room, Backyard, BBQ, laundry, 3 bikes, picnic table,
I rarely have anyone upstairs in my living area or kitchen .

Interaction with guests

I am almost always nearby and available for ideas on restaurants, running routes, buses, beaches, cafes, beer and wine tasting venues etc etc . I greet my guests when they arrive and hopefully get a chance to say Bye too but it doesn't always work out that way. I mainly leave my guests alone while they are here, I think people generally like that. I am a very approachable person though so I hope my guests feel very much at home here even if I don't see them much. Paths tend to cross more often in the summer when we are outside.

Other things to note

I have 2 cats!!! If you are allergic to animals ,please consider whether my place is a good fit for you.


Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wheelchair accessible
Breakfast
Internet

Prices
Security Deposit £125
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed, 1 single bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

The suite is private and separate from our living space so you are very much on your own and don't need to check in with us on a daily basis unless you need to. I ask that you please remove your shoes at the door otherwise the area rugs get soiled very quickly. There are down booties provided for you inside the suite. You are welcome to use the laundry, BBQ outside, the yard and tables in the garden. Since the Garden area is also our space we are sometimes outside eating or socializing with friends. Some of our guests have had dinner parties outside in the summer with family and friends from Vancouver and we have loved the events too.
We are not bothered by late nights but ask that you keep voices to a minimum after 11 pm and before 8 am, since it's an old house it's NOT sound proof !!! We also ask that if you smoke, please do so outside. That is all. Welcome to our Home!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

404 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Daisy User Profile
July 2016
Was really nice place, very comfy beds. Only drawback was no kitchen sink but everything else great. Close to bus stop that goes to downtown.

Chris User Profile
June 2016
Lovely area and exactly as listed. A great place to stay. If I ever find myself in Vancouver again I'll be sure to try and stay here!

Rosemary User Profile
April 2015
Nice quiet spot and great value for our short stay in Vancouver, Anne made us very welcome, many thanks

Sarah User Profile
April 2015
I loved staying at Anne's place. It was so cosy and it was the most comfortable bed ever! It's great as you have your own entrance, own bathroom and living space (complete with a little kitchenette) as well as a lovely light and spacious bedroom. The area is great - really safe and really easy to get to places. Canadian bus drivers are the nicest and most helpful in the world! Anne is a warm lovely host and would recommend staying at her place to anyone

Jennifer User Profile
October 2017
Beautiful setting, many personal touches, as well as functional and practical. Met all our needs for a short overnight stay but special enough to leave us happy to come back for a longer stay!

Alvin User Profile
September 2017
Everything is perfect!

William User Profile
September 2017
Anne is a thoughtful and caring host that will take the time to guide you in your travels in Vancouver. She is quite knowledgeable about the minutiae of public and bike transportation in her city and was a joy to talk to. She epitomizes what the Airbnb experience should feel like. Looking forward to visiting again in 2018. Keep up the great vibe Anne!

Vancouver, CanadaJoined in February 2011
Anne User ProfileAnne is a superhost.

I am a young at heart mother of 3 girls. I love the outdoors, healthy food, beautiful places, travelling, animals, nature, gardening, being creative, watercolors, knitting, cooking, riding my bike, swimming, running, walking and hiking. My profession for the past 25 years till present is Landscape Design, before that I worked as a tree planter, a camp cook for mining exploration companies and tree planters and once upon a time I was a Hairdresser and co owner of an Outdoor Adventure company that took guests up to explore our precious BC coast and the Islands of Haida Gwaii by boat and Borneo. I was born and raised in Vancouver, BC and I have traveled and worked travelled extensively all over Canada, travelled through most Mexico, the USA, Borneo, Malaysia and Great Britain but, I have so much more to see on this planet. I love where I live, my home is really laid back, funky and comfortable, it sits in a grove within a forest amidst a city as its neighbour. I have lived in this same house for 23 years and counting!
At this time we have our resident two kitties, Pip and Clementine (mother and daughter) .
I have a couple of bikes for guests to use during their stay and if you want me to take you on a hike or walk into the local mountains, off the beaten track, beaches or something out of the ordinary, it would be a pleasure for me to do so, if our schedules work out that it's possible, just let me know.

Cheers,
Anne

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings