Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Cosy spare room offered to occasional guests in a beautiful corner of Hackney. The flat offers stunning views of London and is less than 5 mins walk from the underground (zone 2), 15 mins from Central London.

The space

I have a cosy room normally used as an office with a new futon (sleeping area 124cm x 200cm). I have now added memory foam mattress under the futon mattress for extra comfort. Will get some photos with the new bed soon. There is a small chest of drawers for your use and some hooks as well as some desk space.
The rest of a flat is spacious, brand new and has splendid views of the London skyline across a water reservoir. The area is quiet, away from traffic, just geese and ducks. Otherwise bathroom, kitchen, large living room to share with my daughter and myself, and two cats (just in case you're allergic). All mod cons (no microwave, no tv), wifi. There is also a large balcony where you may be able to enjoy the views over breakfast, weather permitting. Still in need of some decorating but if we get many happy customers that should hopefully improve.
The flat itself is about 5 mins walk away from Manor House tube station (zone 2) so some 15-20 mins to the Centre and many buses also run from here. There are a few convenience shops and a nice decently priced cafe that serves breakfast very nearby incl. a post office and a larger supermarket 10-15 mins walk away. We are within walking distance of two large parks, a climbing centre and the sailing club of course, as well as Green Lanes for Turkish restaurants or Stoke Newington which has a village feel and plenty of bars, restaurants etc...
Anything I may have forgotten, just ask.

Guest access

Guests have access to all communal areas, bathroom, kitchen and lounge and of course the balcony.
You are also welcome to use wifi (I can't guarantee access to a laptop though, as I am normally in need of it for work).

Interaction with guests

This is our home, we are around some of the time, and at other times, out and about going about the business of our busy lives. I normally work from home 3 days a week, so on such days, I can be available answer brief queries.

Other things to note

We welcome occasional guests in our spare room, but I do have a full-time job, we have hobbies, friends etc... My approach to airbnb is friendly and flexible, more like receiving a friend of a friend, not running a business. If you expect room service and 24 hours reception, you're probably looking in the wrong place.

Please make sure you have arranged a check-in time with me about a week before your arrival date. I can accommodate most arrival time in London by leaving a key in a safe and am happy for you to store your luggage before the room is ready or after check-out. Please understand that there may be someone in the room who needs to check out and I will not kick them out of bed at dawn because you land really early in the morning. So flexible check-in means, trying to find a solution that suits everyone, not whatever time suits you best.

Please let us know if possible if you are delayed. We may be waiting to go somewhere, and it's easier if we know whether a guest is 5 mins or 2 hours away.

It's a lot easier for me to keep track of guests' check-in times, other enquiries etc... if all communications are kept on this site. On my personal email account, it'll probably get drowned in a sea of newsletters and ads, even if I respond, I may never find your message again.

A few things to save everyone some time:

The room really is too small to fit another mattress on the floor. It can fit a maximum of 2 people, there is no need to enquire about trying to fit 3 or more people.

The room is only available on a short-term basis (2 weeks maximum). We have use of the room ourselves and also receive friends and family. We have no interest in letting the room longer term.

The calendar is kept up-to-date, if the calendar says the room isn't available, then it isn't available.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Bed: 1
Check In: 8AM - 10PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £12 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: £30 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 8AM - 10PM

Smoking is allowed but only on the balcony. Please use the ashtrays provided, it's not ok to flick cigarette butts onto the balcony below.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

291 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Gerrie User Profile
May 2017
Everything was perfect! Olwenn was so accommodating to my check-in and check-out times, the location is absolutely phenomenal! It was so close to everywhere I needed to be. Both Olwenn and her daughter are so lovely and the cats!!! So cute and loveable! Would most certainly recommend :)

Edwin User Profile
May 2017
Great host and really friendly cats

Anya User Profile
May 2017
Lovely room in a modern, well-equipped flat. Modern meaning there is one water tap instead of 2, good water pressure in the shower, it's actually warm even when it's cold outside... I've stayed in a lot of places in London and if you don't know what I mean, believe me, those things are hard to find sometimes :) Olwenn is really nice and helpful, we didn't get to chat a lot because I was mostly out in the centre, but her family was really nice, and the cats were amazing and VERY sociable and nosy! Which is awesome if you love cats like I do, but if you don't want cats trailing your every step (and stealing your food =D) then you might want to think twice before staying there ;) But seriously, everyone was friendly and helpful. The location is pretty awesome, 5-7 min walk to the tube station, there is a lovely lake just by the house, the area is nice. Would 100% recommend staying here!

Patrick User Profile
April 2017
Olwenn's place is great. The room is fairly small, but if you're looking for a place to sleep and chill out, it's perfect. The cat's are friendly too!

Paige User Profile
April 2017
Olwenn's place was nicely situated. 5-10 min to a tube stop, and a nice stroll away from a climbing gym. There's a nice balcony overlooking a reservoir and it's conveniently located near anything you might need.

Kristoff User Profile
April 2017
Great value for money. The location couldn't have been better (absolutely amazing view, with good connections to the centre via tube as well as a 15min bus ride to Stoke Newington). All in all a five star place of residence.

Felicity User Profile
April 2017
Cute cats, clean and comfortable room, great view.

London, United Kingdom · Joined in November 2012
Olwenn User Profile

Another frog in the big smoke. I work in Academia, from home 3 days a week, so I should be at hand if you have any questions, need advice etc...

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.