Fresh towels and linen with every guest (obviously!)Back deck for lounging and reading.
Inner-City Sunny Sanctuary
Hosted by Alison
Alison is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Private room in a heritage bungalow located in one of Calgary's most walkable inner-city neighbourhoods. We're 1 block off the Trans-Canada, 15 blocks from the Bow River & Downtown, with a walkscore of 93. Everything is right outside the front door!

An avid traveller myself, I provide everything I'd need while travelling and exploring a new city: a comfortable bed, speedy wifi, a bathtub to soak in, a great outdoor space, and morning help yourself coffee (OK, tea too).

The space

Welcome to our home: a 1933 bungalow in one of Calgary's oldest inner city neighbourhoods. We're in the midst of fixing it up (please excuse the imperfect kitchen floors) but everything is almost done. Come sous-chef on our new cast-in-place concrete counters!

Your room has a queen sized bed and comfy chair to curl up in. It also has over the door hooks for hanging towels and clothes. It's a 11X12' bedroom so the space is "cozy", no room for dance parties unfortunately.

Guest access

You'll have full run of the house except for our room. Otherwise make yourselves at home!

Guests also have access to the backyard area with BBQ, fire pit, and urban vegetable garden (if it's harvest time help yourself). The backyard space is shared with us and the lower suite. In the summer it's perfect for sunbathing, barbecuing, and hanging out at night around the fire pit under the patio lights. Dancing and yoga on the deck is encouraged (that's why I built it).

Interaction with guests

We both work regular job hours and tend to be out weeknights - but if we're around we're happy to help and give suggestions.

I'm a certified yoga teacher so we can arrange a customized private yoga class out on the back deck if you're in a meditative/stretchy/want to learn headstand mood . Mark teaches German longsword (ie. how to be Jon Snow) and other martial arts so the same goes for that too.

Other things to note

We have two cats, Griffin (13) and Ezhara (turning 1 this summer) so if you don't like cats or have allergies this is not the place for you. They're not allowed in the guest room as much as they resent this restriction. We try and keep the place as hair free as possible (thank you roomba) but you know ... They're cats and don't like to co-operate. They can be messy and noisy but they are adorable and cuddly. Ezhara will cuddle you if you let her but Griffin makes you work for the love.


Amenities
Internet
Essentials
Dryer
Free parking on premise

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekend Price £28 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 2AM (next day)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We're pretty easy going. Our only rule is don't let Griffin and Ezhara the furballs outside no matter how much they beg! Be kind, employ mutual respect and we're good to go. Also, as this is a shared space please opt for another place if you're looking to host tinder hook-ups (it happened!).

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - We have two INDOOR cats. Doors can not be left open or cats will seek freedom/potential death. Do not let the cats outside! Please! For real.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

109 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
David User Profile
September 2017
An enjoyable place to stay with very friendly people. Easy to get to from the airport and lots of buses to downtown. Comfortable bed and armchair in the room. Nice reasonably priced places to eat nearby. Recommended.

Charlotte User Profile
June 2017
Very lovely house and close to amenities.

Jenny User Profile
June 2017
We had a very positive experience at Alison and Marc's place, it definitely exceeded our expectations. The house is a short twenty minute walk to the city centre (five by car), in a very safe area. Very homely and clean. Oh and the cats have hilarious personalities, especially the black one whose favourite place is the bath! Finally, Alison and Marc are both very friendly and always happy to give advice when needed. If we're ever in Calgary again, we would go back.

Jacob User Profile
March 2017
Great place, great hosts and great value for money. Highly recommended.

Lucy User Profile
October 2016
We had a pleasant stay with Alison & her husband - a nice couple with travelling stories of their own. An easy 25 minute walk to downtown. The little bedroom is comfortable. The Airport bus stop is very close by & Alison was accommodating with dropping off our bags before check in.

James User Profile
August 2016
Great place to stay in Calgary - great company (including the cats) and very easy access to the city centre - can highly recommend!

Ellie User Profile
July 2016
Alison's place is lovely, such an interesting home and beautifully decorated. The room we had was great with a really comfy bed! Quiet neighbourhood but easy to walk into town so a good location.

This host has 131 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Calgary, CanadaJoined in March 2011
Alison User Profile

I've been a long time AirBnB user and host. Right now I'm based in Calgary where manfriend and I have a guest room and suite we're sharing with the world. AIRBNB allows me to satisfy my travel itch when I'm in Canada (I've traipsed around six continents with Antarctica still to come someday, somehow). I'm an intern architect working at the intersection of social justice and design and manfriend is a jazz musician and martial artist. If you're interested in any of these things we always have a bottle of wine to chat over!

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Alison’s place.
Alison
Mark helps host.
Mark

The neighbourhood

Similar listings