Futon folds out into a very comfortable spacious bed.
Quiet Room in a Family Home (3rd floor - left)

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

3rd floor room in a 5 BR turn of the century colonial Victorian. Loads of original details but updated just right. Shared use of the rest of the house, fire pit in the back yard, covered wraparound porch. Minutes from everything. City living with a more laid back feel.

The space

Tons of character, original parquet hardwoods, but modernized just right. Laundry, walkable farmer's market on the weekends, 5 minutes from downtown and colleges, walkable to 2 great nightlife spots and 19 restaurants. Wifi enabled through FIOS. Common areas we provide for convenience beyond the room rental are shared spaces with myself, my housemate, my 10yo daughter, her 11 yo daughter. No smoking indoors, but feel free on the porch. I work from home so usually here, but your level of interaction is up to you. Please simply be respectful that our daughters are here and we have a working family home. This may mean the clutter of trying to keep up with 2 pre-teen girls in the common areas.

Guest access

Technically the room you rent, and the shared bathroom. But for convenience to you, the entire house - kitchen, fridge, laundry, etc. in whatever state it's in.

This is an active household with a 10yo child so room and bathroom only for reviews please.

Shared 2nd floor bathroom, backyard, smart tv in the living room. Wifi, Fire pit in the backyard, covered wrap around porch, access to everything, and information from people who have been in this city for close to 30 years for anything you might want to do or need to know.

Interaction with guests

At your discretion. Always available, but please take note: a single father raising his 10yo daughter so be respectful.

Common areas where we live but are happy to share may have the clutter of trying to keep up with a pre-teen although the rooms are always clean and comfortable.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 3PM - 9PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Kitchen

Prices
Cleaning Fee £11
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price £38 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 double beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 9PM

Please do not smoke indoors and respect the bedtime of my daughter - 9pm. This just means being quiet on stairs, and no late night revelry.

Please no excessive drinking - neither my gf not I drink. We've no problem with folks having a few or whatnot, but especially longer term guests, just please don't make a habit of it.

No drug use or other illegal activity. And yes I have to say this because of past issues. If I find out you're using my home for things like that I've no problem whatsoever calling the cops.

No parties. For something like a family reunion I'd discuss it, but outside of something like that, partying is for out in the city. Not here.

Guests will adhere to any requests re: parking in the driveway. This includes moving cars as needed or leaving keys available so that cars can be rearranged as needed.

On street parking on my street is prohibited from 2am-5am, but on street parking is available around the corner and under traffic cameras.

If you want hotel amenities, please stay at a hotel.

We stay on top of the rooms but this is also where we live and life makes messes. We're artists, good souls, and just living life in our little corner of the world.

We offer good people, a clean, simple room, use of whatever you might need in our home, and advice if you want it on anything around town. With all of that being said, we are pretty laid back and want everyone to enjoy their experience, but we do not tolerate folks disrespecting our home or family.

Final note: I'm sorry but no, no cash bookings. All bookings must be completed through Airbnb. I don't want to have to deal with things like price unless we discuss a longer term booking, and would rather just make your visit a place to call home while you're away from yours.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property - 3 cats
No parking on property - On street overnight parking just around the corner.
Some spaces are shared - Bathroom is shared with other guests.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

68 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sunny User Profile
September 2017
The room was fine and the bed was comfy but the house was really messy and had lots of dust which I was surprised by - this is the first house Airbnb I had that I didn't feel great about. As mentioned while booking there was a parking spot, which is not correct. We had to park on street, not hard to find a spot but the info provided was not correct. Microwave kept there was probably old broken one from their house. Doesn't works. Restroom ceiling was dropping paint patches. My first Airbnb in US and not happy about it. No Complains from host, as a person its just I prefer to live in a clan place and this was completely opposite.

Casey User Profile
August 2017
Donovan's place was exactly as advertised. Very spacious room with nice bed and futon. Very close to restaurants and stores so nice location and no complaints! Great value.

Faith User Profile
August 2017
Donovan & family get an A+ for friendliness. They share their home with strangers & are laid back & easy-going about it. Communication was also very easy; he always responded to texts & emails quickly. Bedroom was nice with small fridge on 3rd floor. Bathroom was ok. Good water pressure in the shower & 2 sinks. It's an older home which I expected with all the charm & history that goes with that. Night time parking is only on street 1 block over because you're in different city limits there. That was a little nerve wracking because we worried about something happening to the car but it ended up being ok. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. Location was good for us because it was close to where class was & State Parks etc. Plenty of restaurants & grocery stores nearby. Also, Dollar store, Subway, & LA Fitness were within close walking distance as well as other stores.

Xueyan User Profile
August 2017
Just as advertised and expected! My family stayed in Donovan and Amy's place to have a trip in Providence. The room and the bathroom were clean and we had no issues during our time.

Jana User Profile
August 2017
Great stay at Donovan's!

Reggie User Profile
July 2017
Good experience. Nice accommodations

John User Profile
July 2017
Donovan was very amiable and house was fine.

This host has 79 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Providence, Rhode Island, United StatesJoined in April 2015
Donovan User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Donovan’s place.
Donovan
Amy helps host.
Amy

The neighbourhood

Similar listings