There is a large window in this room (same size as the living room) that opens up quite wide for fresh air.There is a desk in this room and a dresser that you can use.
1 Block to Beach - Downtown Apartment - 2 Rooms!
1 Block to Beach - Downtown Apartment - 2 Rooms!
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Just a few blocks down from Davie Street with all kinds of restaurants and shops, and only 1 block up from the beach / park / seawall (path along the ocean). A couple blocks to the Aquatic Fitness Centre and generally walking distance to whatever you might need, which is one of the many great things about staying in the West End! The building was originally built in 1912 so it has a lot of character and the suite is quite large in comparison to what you'd usually find in newer buildings.

The space

The apartment is on the main floor, not too far from the front door so it's quite convenient to come and go from. The building is pet friendly so you may run into the odd leashed dog on your short walk from the main entrance to the suite and there is some beautiful tiling along the walls from the building's early days.

My place will provide you with a comfortable stay in a location that gives you easy access to everything. There isn't a lot of natural light in the suite, but that helps keep the temperature comfortable and there's also a new air conditioning unit in the bedroom that has the smaller window. The other bedroom and the living room (with pull-out couch) have larger windows that open so I've never found the need to have an air conditioner in either one.

With the age of the building and the proximity of the neighboring building, you may hear neighbors from time to time, especially if you have the windows open. It hasn't been loud enough to bother me, but it's something to keep in mind if you're really sensitive to sound. Certainly if you run the air conditioner (or fan in the other bedroom) that should block anything out anyway.

The suite will be professionally cleaned before your stay, but please keep in mind that this building is practically an antique so while you'll likely find it to be quite cozy and charming, some of the fixtures have been around for a long time ((like the bathtub for example) so they won't look sparkling and new, even though they will be totally clean.

You'll find that the location of this suite really is quite hard to beat. Close to the beach, the path that goes to Stanley Park, Davie Street's shops and restaurants, and the rest of downtown in general. The West End is a beautiful and safe neighorhood that really is a fantastic place to live in and visit!

Guest access

You'll have access to the entire suite, which has two bedrooms that each have double bed, a living room with a couch that can pull out to be a double bed, a kitchen, and a bathroom.

There is reliable wifi and a table with 4 chairs that you can use as a desk for your laptop and/or to eat at (plus a small desk for 1 person in one of the bedrooms). The kitchen has an oven/stove, a microwave, and a toaster oven, which are all available for any cooking you'd like to do. There is also a coffee maker (and coffee you can help yourself to, as well as some tea).

Interaction with guests

I will be staying in another downtown neighbourhood while you are at my place and will be available for timely replies through this website/app. I'll be about a 10 minute drive away and am also close with my neighbours across the hall if anything urgent comes up. Otherwise I'll just leave you to enjoy your time in Vancouver!

Other things to note

Please note that this listing switched to being for the full 2 bedroom suite and was previously only for booking one of the bedrooms, sharing the suite with me. Just to keep in mind when reading through previous reviews!

Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

Buzzer/wireless intercom

Extra people £6 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £40
Security Deposit £124
Weekly Discount: 30%
Weekend Price £124 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

The building is pet friendly so you are welcome to bring one (in which case please add as an extra ADULT guest to the booking). No smoking in the apartment please, but it's easy access to get outside to do that if you like.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card

3 nights minimum stay

86 Reviews

Check In
Fidelma User Profile
September 2017
Location was perfect as were the amenities. Great host. Thank you.

Dean User Profile
September 2017
Great location and Joshua was extremely quick to communicate

Matthew User Profile
September 2017
Great location!! Right down from Sunset beach and a short walk to the water ferry to anywhere you want for $2.75 round trip per person (bring change!). It's on a big hill and if you want to go downtown be prepared to walk up a hill as the taxis were, at least when we were there, over an hour and sometime two hour waits. Also they do not have any ride share like Uber for whatever reason. The space was good the beds were comfortable. Lots of towels and there was some shampoo and body wash you could use. The kitchen was full of condiments and coffee and tea. Overall a very good stay.

Isabela User Profile
August 2017
We really enjoyed our stay and the location was great!

Robin User Profile
August 2017
Great place to stay! Can only recommend it if you visit Montreal.
Josh User Profile
Response from Josh:
Thanks Robin, glad you liked it! I'm sure you meant to write Vancouver though - Montreal was of course your previous stop before coming to my place!
August 2017

Laurel User Profile
August 2017
Josh was a fine host until there was an issue. Someone was going in and outaide and making lots of noise (yelling, screaming, talking). I reached out to Jost for assistance. He kept telling to me investigate where the noise was coming from. The hiuse is veey squeaky so if in bad gone out into the hall to look, i would have woken the other 3 guests up, plus I was not comfortanle going to find out where the noise was coming from. He got aggressive with me when I stated I wasn't willing to go outside, and even more so when I told him that I had reached out to AIRBNB. When i stated that how he was handling the issue would be in his review he then threatened to give me a bad review. Days later he then wrote to say he wouldn't give me a bad review if I wouldn't leave him one. Which is a direct violation of AIRBNB rules. If you have a choice I wouldn't stay here, the hosts age and ability tobhamdle a difficult situation impacted pur stay and kept 3 out of 4 of us up until after 3am. The ad does say to be aware of noise, which we were and had every night (we had people walking in and out all night... backdoor to the apartment building is right between the bedrooms.) This noise on the last night was beyond normal and interfered with our sleep. My big concerns fall to the fact he is asking a female to go out at night to find source of the noise instead of helping. Host may not be ready for this type of responsibility
Josh User Profile
Response from Josh:
As soon as Laurel told me there was noise I asked her to go into the hallway (of the secured building) to locate it so I could tell the landlord which suite to call since I was not able to get there right away. She refused because she said walking around would wake her guests, which is bizarre if loud noises were supposedly keeping them up. I called the neighbour next door to investigate and he said he couldn't hear any noise. When I got there about an hour later I couldn't hear anything either. When I later asked if she'd like to skip leaving each other reviews she responded by asking if I would give her a refund. I said no and so this is the review she left. I believe my other 80+ positive reviews speak for themselves and this was sadly a case of someone trying to scam me to get some money.
August 2017

Carolyn User Profile
August 2017
The apartment was adorable, homey and a great size. We had plenty of personal space for our stay, and the living room was big enough for us all to hang out in. The location made downtown Vancouver extremely walkable. We walked and biked everywhere. Josh was very responsive and gave us a lot of helpful tips. We felt really lucky to have gotten this place.

Vancouver, CanadaJoined in June 2012
Josh User Profile

I'm a friendly and easy going guy and I usually have a pretty full schedule both when I'm at home and when I'm traveling. Typically location is the most important part to me when I'm looking for a place to stay because I don't plan to spend much time there other than sleeping and cleaning up!

I'm a native English speaker and I went to French Immersion school (although very rarely get to speak it anymore so I'm quite rusty). People tell me I'm a typically nice Canadian and I tend to smile a lot. :-)

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings