Big main living space - with bed settee Watch TV, listen to music, just relax.
The Shebeen - dog friendly & beachy
Hosted by Rosie
Rosie is the host.
11 guests
4 bedrooms
8 beds
2 baths
11 guests
4 bedrooms
8 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Clean, comfortable, beach house with room for everyone, great for two families or big groups. Enjoy relaxing BBQs on the deck, games of cricket in the big backyard, walk to the beach via bush and beach tracks.
Backs on to bushland with lots of wildlife: wallabies, echidnas, kookaburras.
Fenced garden, safe for kids and dogs.
Quiet area but close to all amenities (Penguins, Moto GP, surfing, boating) and the Cowes shops and restaurants.
Sorry - No Schoolie groups

The space

A 'Shebeen' was an illegal drinking house in old Ireland.

A traditional beach house, this is a deceptively large house with four bedrooms and two bathrooms. The space is flexible, allowing the bedding configuration to suit couples, singles, kids or adults.
Bedrooms consist of
2 x Queens bedrooms,
1 x triple Bunk- double bed + single bunk; and
a bunk room with 4 singles.
There is also a Portacot available ( high chair and stroller).
There is a large living/dining room but living is centred around the deck and outdoors.

Guest access

The whole house is yours to use.

Interaction with guests

We don't live on the Island but are only a phone call away if you need help or have any questions. In an emergency we have supportive friends nearby who can assist you. The keys to the house are accessed via a key safe, which you will be provided the code for, along with full instructions for the house.

Other things to note

The house is basic so please don't expect 5 star. Clean, comfortable and cosy. We don't have a dish washer.
Bed linen is supplied for the two queen and one double beds.
You supply (BYO) towels and the linen for the bunk beds ( sleeping bags are handy). This linen can be supplied by arrangement and at extra cost - just let us know.
Bath mats and tea towels are also supplied.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people £12 / night after 10 guests
Cleaning Fee £27
Weekly Discount: 3%
Weekend Price £101 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 4
4 single beds
Common spaces
1 sofa bed, 1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

We have great neighbours, who we get on with very well - and we want to keep it like that! So have a good time but please consider noise issues late at night.

We do not expect guests to clean the house but if you can do a general tidy up, empty the house bins and leave the wheelie bins by the kerb before you leave.
As we do not live on the Island, there are a few things to turn on and off when you arrive/leave - but full instructions will be provided.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

26 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rob User Profile
October 2017
Great location for families
Rosie User Profile
Response from Rosie:
Thank you for your feedback on the dog security issue of the gate. Apologies for the inconvenience. Will have to install wire across the gates.
October 2017

Glenn User Profile
September 2017
Great place to stay. Clean , neat and tidy. Loved that bedding was supplied for the larger beds. Shame about the neighbours complaining at 10.30 pm on a Saturday night due to us sitting around the great fire pit outside.
Rosie User Profile
Response from Rosie:
So sorry to hear that you had to contend with a grumpy neighbour - we have since negotiated a broader understanding with him - and moved the fire pit further away from their house!
September 2017

Kate User Profile
September 2017
Loved this accommodation. Really nice, homely and warm feel. Great place for kiddies! Rosie was great in communications too.

Ahmad Naddi User Profile
August 2017
We felt the house bit cold at night otherwise we enjoy our stay
Rosie User Profile
Response from Rosie:
Apologies Ahmad, it was very cold down the Island that week. Thank you for your feedback. We are investigating getting a wood burner stove installed.
August 2017

Beatrice User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful home! Great for relaxing and you feel secluded. Had an amazing time in this warm and inviting home

Andre User Profile
July 2017
This was my first airbnb stay, and if this is the standard it is a good thing. Was a comfortable stay nice home. Loved it!

Damon User Profile
July 2017
Fantastic cosy and vibrant place to kick back with close family and friends. It had everything we wanted, including just the little 1% extras to make us feel at home. For the price we paid, I'd highly recommend to everyone as you can't go wrong. Rosie was a fantastic host that communicated above and beyond. Excellent weekend overall.

Born in Donegal, Ireland and moved to Australia in 1989 to marry an Aussie! We love to travel and have stayed in many different types of accommodation around the world.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings